Old 09-18-2019, 09:31 AM   #481
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 164
Default

Just a ping to let everyone who's following know that there will be some more mods coming up - just been really busy with work and the holiday season here.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:40 AM   #482
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Just a ping to let everyone who's following know that there will be some more mods coming up - just been really busy with work and the holiday season here.
can't wait!
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:29 AM   #483
boomwoof
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Default

incredible equalizer! As if I could program, I would do it this way. I am looking forward to the possibility of dynamic eq! Thanks a lot!
boomwoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 04:01 AM   #484
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomwoof View Post
incredible equalizer! As if I could program, I would do it this way. I am looking forward to the possibility of dynamic eq! Thanks a lot!
You can make a dynamic eq out of the stock plugins already using only the reaEQ and parameter modulation. But yes, that included in this eq will be great add
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:36 PM   #485
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,884
Default

I can't wait fo the dynamic module to be added because I don't really like to use ReaEQ as a dynamic eq.
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 03:02 PM   #486
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveKeehl View Post
I can't wait fo the dynamic module to be added because I don't really like to use ReaEQ as a dynamic eq.
Its very simple, and you can make an FX chain and load it everytime, ready to go
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 03:15 PM   #487
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Its very simple, and you can make an FX chain and load it everytime, ready to go
Yeah I know how it works, I've been using Reaper for 5 years I just don't like it
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 05:53 PM   #488
batcat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you nitsuj for developing and sharing this great feature packed eq and also those who contributed!

It's fully functional as it is, but here is a small feature wishlist.

-Knobs can fine control values with Ctrl+drag or scroll, (now they are difficult to set back to zero) Perhaps an automatic stop at zero.
-Knobs can be controlled with scrollwheel
-Knobs can return to default/zero with Ctrl click.

I really like that the output for mid and side can be boosted and cut independently.
I can't find a way to do that in the Fabfilter pro q3 output.
Another wonderful feature is the mid and side spectrum analyzer option, to quickly see any m/s problems. I can't do that with Fabfilter pro q3, but it does have an excellent masking detection feature interacting with all the other Pro q3 plugins, which I find very useful.

Last edited by batcat; 10-25-2019 at 08:05 PM.
batcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:48 AM   #489
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 158
Default

nitsuj, thanks for this amazing EQ (and Spectrum too), looks nice and very versatile.
It runs fine on Reaper native linux.
__________________
http://librazik.tuxfamily.org/
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 08:07 PM   #490
kodebode2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
You can make a dynamic eq out of the stock plugins already using only the reaEQ and parameter modulation. But yes, that included in this eq will be great add
Please point me to any links that could make it easier to understand how this is achieved.

I have used a similar approach to link the input gain and output gain plugins which I place before and after any compressor so I can set a fixed threshold, and push into the compressor or lean back, just by adjusting the input gain, knowing that the follow on gain plugin after the compressor will be compensated in the opposite manner.

From what I can deduce, in your example, the gain would be dynamically adjusted to the audio level. What I'm wondering is how to handle the multiband dynamics. No way to get each band in reaeq (the Reaper bundled eq) to affect only the corresponding audio band.
kodebode2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 11:16 PM   #491
AJYoung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kodebode2 View Post
" "
Here's a generally good overview on how to do Multiband Dynamic EQ using only ReaEQ.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxIvKiZNjNQ

But that's a hell of a lot of setup, when you could do it much more easily and conveniently with something like TDR Nova.
AJYoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 05:55 PM   #492
kodebode2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJYoung View Post
Here's a generally good overview on how to do Multiband Dynamic EQ using only ReaEQ.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxIvKiZNjNQ

But that's a hell of a lot of setup, when you could do it much more easily and conveniently with something like TDR Nova.
Thanks.
kodebode2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 01:47 AM   #493
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,884
Default

Any progress?
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 05:44 AM   #494
pim van dorst
Human being with feelings
 
pim van dorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: holland
Posts: 26
Default glitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Thank you good sir!
hallo nitsuj i like it very to, smooth as butter ..but when use more than 1 so say 2 on track buses and 1 on the master bus it gets glitchy on my computer win 10 7i processor

like the controle view you added handy !!!!

greetings from holland
pim van dorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 02:08 PM   #495
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pim van dorst View Post
hallo nitsuj i like it very to, smooth as butter ..but when use more than 1 so say 2 on track buses and 1 on the master bus it gets glitchy on my computer win 10 7i processor

like the controle view you added handy !!!!

greetings from holland
A couple of pointers...

Try not to have too many ReEQ windows open, one is best. The rendering is quite heavy for JSFX. If you can, close the windows in-between edits.

Most of the time you can use ReEQ's 'Eco' setting. Click on the 'HQ' button on the bottom row to get the option of selecting it. HQ produces more accurate filter curve shapes in the higher frequencies but most of the time you may not need it. The filter code for Eco is twice as fast as that for HQ.

Other than that you should be ok on an i7.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 02:12 PM   #496
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveKeehl View Post
Any progress?
Not as much as you'd like

Now the winter months are here I might be inclined to pour myself a Whiskey and do some more coding! Have been thinking about it though.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 02:30 PM   #497
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
A couple of pointers...

Try not to have too many ReEQ windows open, one is best. The rendering is quite heavy for JSFX. If you can, close the windows in-between edits.

Most of the time you can use ReEQ's 'Eco' setting. Click on the 'HQ' button on the bottom row to get the option of selecting it. HQ produces more accurate filter curve shapes in the higher frequencies but most of the time you may not need it. The filter code for Eco is twice as fast as that for HQ.

Other than that you should be ok on an i7.
If it is possible plugin could detect and set mode to HQ when rendering to provide always best quality so you could work in eco mode always while be calm about mixdown quality, I thought...
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 06:30 PM   #498
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,725
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
If it is possible plugin could detect and set mode to HQ when rendering to provide always best quality so you could work in eco mode always while be calm about mixdown quality, I thought...
The problem with that (other than its feasibility in a JS plugin): if you work in "eco" then switch to "hq" when rendering, it will render noticeably different from how you were mixing with it. It's a lot different from working in 32-bit then rendering to 16-bit, for instance.

The "hq" setting is more about how the EQ shape won't cramp near the Nyquist frequency (as opposed to how they do in "eco" mode), especially when using high-frequency bands (not shelves). So if you don't care about your bands being perfectly symmetrical near Nyquist (if you use shelves for "high-end lift" for instance), you can get away with "eco" all the time. Or if you work at a higher sample rate in general.

But if you want the bands to be symmetrical near Nyquist, you'll want to mix that way and not just render that way. You'll notice the difference and it'll affect your mixing decisions.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:49 AM   #499
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
The problem with that (other than its feasibility in a JS plugin): if you work in "eco" then switch to "hq" when rendering, it will render noticeably different from how you were mixing with it. It's a lot different from working in 32-bit then rendering to 16-bit, for instance.

The "hq" setting is more about how the EQ shape won't cramp near the Nyquist frequency (as opposed to how they do in "eco" mode), especially when using high-frequency bands (not shelves). So if you don't care about your bands being perfectly symmetrical near Nyquist (if you use shelves for "high-end lift" for instance), you can get away with "eco" all the time. Or if you work at a higher sample rate in general.

But if you want the bands to be symmetrical near Nyquist, you'll want to mix that way and not just render that way. You'll notice the difference and it'll affect your mixing decisions.
That is a very good point!
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:51 AM   #500
jbradbury
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Default This is amazing...

As a poor student - buying something like FabFilter is not an option for me and ReaEQ is a bit limiting at times. What I love about this the most is the ability to audition each filter individually - it makes finding a specific part of the spectrum interactive and easy. Is there any chance you would establish a repo on github/gitlab wherever for this? I would hate for it to become lost and it would be good to maintain my own fork of it.
jbradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:46 PM   #501
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbradbury View Post
As a poor student - buying something like FabFilter is not an option for me and ReaEQ is a bit limiting at times. What I love about this the most is the ability to audition each filter individually - it makes finding a specific part of the spectrum interactive and easy. Is there any chance you would establish a repo on github/gitlab wherever for this? I would hate for it to become lost and it would be good to maintain my own fork of it.
Check their free stuff.
https://www.tokyodawn.net/tokyo-dawn-labs/
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.