Old 02-15-2010, 05:05 AM   #161
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Thanks for that but I have that Kick drum and these

Source Table Entries: 5
1 "H:\VB\AATranslate\JL\KICK.wav"
2 "H:\VB\AATranslate\JL\TEST-001.wav"
3 "H:\VB\AATranslate\JL\TEST-002.wav"
4 "H:\VB\AATranslate\JL\TEST-003.wav"
5 "H:\VB\AATranslate\JL\TEST-004.wav"

The last 4 being 6mb each of silencech.

I also get 16 tracks of kick drum (it seems).

So by good luck (or not) this file translates fine.

For Paris OMFs its not isolating the audio itself its matching the SEQUs & SCLPs etc up to the correct media.

If I recall correctly I would match up the MobID with the SourceID and all is well but not in other Paris OMFs where multiple audio is used.

I'm happy to be smacked over the snout for stupidity but what works for me with other omfs don't work for me with these ones.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #162
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Got it!

Paris uses the SourceTrackID - now I have to have somebody killed :-)

Just when you thought it was safe to open another omf......
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:43 AM   #163
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Ok I can now load Paris omfs into Reaper (and obviously all the other daws Audition, Samplitude, Vegas, Cubendo etc).

Clips are associated with the right media on the right tracks at the right offset, indent & size.

I haven't worked out what crazy scheme they are using (and I'm sure its a doozy) for clip volume or gain & pan envelopes yet but I'm busting to try and get another release of AAT out, well, it was going to be tonight, but now hopefully within the next 24 hours.

So this is as much Paris support as I can muster right now but if there is enough demand I will revisit.

And I used to think Paris was a small town in the back of New South Wales and a few months ago I couldn't even spell OMF!

Thanks all for your patience, input & support.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:27 PM   #164
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Ok I can now load Paris omfs into Reaper (and obviously all the other daws Audition, Samplitude, Vegas, Cubendo etc).

Clips are associated with the right media on the right tracks at the right offset, indent & size.

I haven't worked out what crazy scheme they are using (and I'm sure its a doozy) for clip volume or gain & pan envelopes yet but I'm busting to try and get another release of AAT out, well, it was going to be tonight, but now hopefully within the next 24 hours.

So this is as much Paris support as I can muster right now but if there is enough demand I will revisit.

And I used to think Paris was a small town in the back of New South Wales and a few months ago I couldn't even spell OMF!

Thanks all for your patience, input & support.
Runaway, you and OMFoo freakin' ROCK! This is going to be huge news on the PARIS forums - we'll test an expanded range of OMFs to be sure, but I'll be launching an AATranslator license drive on the Forums as a way of saying "thanks". Major, major kudos!
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:37 PM   #165
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omfoo View Post
Hi. I was just googling around and discovered this thread.

Fyi the TCCP property is optional. That makes sense to me because there is no reason to demand that an audio-only project make any commitment to any timecode format if the project doesn’t need or use timecode. After all, why force the project to decide?

In the absence of the TCCP property you can get a frame rate by walking through each object in the file and testing for the presence of a property (any property) using an “omfi:ExactEditRate” data type (rev 1) or an “omfi:Rational” data type (rev 2). The structure is the same for both types:

typedef struct _RATIONAL
{
UINT32 Numerator;
UINT32 Denominator;
} RATIONAL, *PRATIONAL;

Divide the numerator by the denominator. The quotient will either look like an audio sample rate (48000, 44100, etc.) or a video frame rate (30, 29.97, 25, 24, etc.). If it’s a video frame rate then there you have it (there can be only one video frame rate in an OMF).

Don’t forget to byteswap the UINT32s when necessary, and beware of Denominators set to zero. If the Denominator is zero then don’t divide anything; just use the Numerator.

Yes – in rev2. There is an Effect Definition Class ‘EDEF’ and an Effect Invocation Class ‘EFFE’. The EDEF will have an ‘EffectId’ property with a data type called ‘omfi:UniqueName’.

The unique names you are looking for are:

omfi:effect:MonoAudioGain
omfi:effect:MonoAudioPan
omfi:effect:StereoAudioGain

Afaik there is no stereo pan.

I could write a 100-page dissertation on this stuff but I’m stopping here.

Good luck.
Hope you do consider writing that 100-page dissertation some day, I would read it with *great* interest - and given the difficulty people have historically experienced with OMF formats, it would be an enormous public service (especially for those of us that are "married" to older systems where OMF is the only possibility for session export). A heartfelt thanks on behalf of the PARIS community for the insights you just gave - and a belated Happy Valentine's Day, that was a heck of a bouquet!

Last edited by kerryg; 02-15-2010 at 02:58 PM.
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 02:55 PM   #166
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Ok I can now load Paris omfs into Reaper (and obviously all the other daws Audition, Samplitude, Vegas, Cubendo etc).

Clips are associated with the right media on the right tracks at the right offset, indent & size.

I haven't worked out what crazy scheme they are using (and I'm sure its a doozy) for clip volume or gain & pan envelopes yet but I'm busting to try and get another release of AAT out...
I'll save you the effort on one of those - PARIS doesn't use clip volume, it uses track-based automation only - volume, pan and mute for each track.
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:42 PM   #167
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryg View Post
I'll save you the effort on one of those - PARIS doesn't use clip volume, it uses track-based automation only - volume, pan and mute for each track.
Cool - Any chance of getting hold of some of the values I'm expecting to find eg sample values of some of the envelope points and maybe a few pan & gain values at those points?

I'm trying to see if I can make some headway with this before this next release.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:05 PM   #168
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Cool - Any chance of getting hold of some of the values I'm expecting to find eg sample values of some of the envelope points and maybe a few pan & gain values at those points?

I'm trying to see if I can make some headway with this before this next release.
I'm on it, should have something for you quick.

[d'oh, have to be in a couple of hours, got to look after some urgent family business for a couple of hours - tonight though].

Last edited by kerryg; 02-15-2010 at 06:46 PM.
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 07:15 PM   #169
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

No problem

Maybe add a screen dump so I can see the difference between the 3 different Fade-Ins and the 2 types of Fade-Outs being used.
__________________
AATranslator

Last edited by Runaway; 02-15-2010 at 07:58 PM.
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:10 PM   #170
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

I'm pretty sure that I have got the fade in & fade outs working but obviously I'll need a screen shot etc to confirm.

Thats about all I can do right now as i really need to finalise this release.

KerryG - PM or email me - I think I might have something special for Paris users.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:01 PM   #171
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hi i would like to test this plugin.I have put the plug in the following dir Reaper\Plug ins folder And i cant find the option to import or export.


Thanks for the help.

Last edited by Rayg; 09-15-2010 at 12:06 PM.
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 06:47 PM   #172
John Lundsten
Human being with feelings
 
John Lundsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayg View Post
Hi i would like to test this plugin.I have put the plug in
the following dir Reaper\Plug ins folder And i cant find the option to import or export.
Thanks for the help.
That's good, but what plug-in do you mean?
John L
John Lundsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 08:50 PM   #173
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,112
Default

Uhm, he probably means the plugin in the first post of this thread.

Anyways, after putting it there, simply go to File -> Open project.
In the "Open project" dialog box, check the file list dropdown ("files of type" on WinXP) and check if the option for *.omf appears. Then it's installed correctly.
Import OMF files from there.

Note:
That plugin in it's current form never quite did it for me, got some crashes and wrong imports. Maybe you've better luck...

(I really hope someone would develop this further or even better, Cockos decides to implement OMF support)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:01 PM   #174
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Uhm, he probably means the plugin in the first post of this thread.

Anyways, after putting it there, simply go to File -> Open project.
In the "Open project" dialog box, check the file list dropdown ("files of type" on WinXP) and check if the option for *.omf appears. Then it's installed correctly.
Import OMF files from there.

Note:
That plugin in it's current form never quite did it for me, got some crashes and wrong imports. Maybe you've better luck...

(I really hope someone would develop this further or even better, Cockos decides to implement OMF support)
Thanks..
__________________
__________________________________________
youtube.com/user/RAYGproductions
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:36 PM   #175
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Note:
That plugin in it's current form never quite did it for me, got some crashes and wrong imports. Maybe you've better luck...


Yeah got some crashes to.I really hope that they keep working on it.Btw omf files under 100 mb open with out any problem..
__________________
__________________________________________
youtube.com/user/RAYGproductions
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:43 PM   #176
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
(I really hope someone would develop this further or even better, Cockos decides to implement OMF support)
Me too!

Certainly make my life easier ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:45 PM   #177
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayg View Post
Yeah got some crashes to.I really hope that they keep working on it.Btw omf files under 100 mb open with out any problem..
You will find that its not just the size that counts - its the internal format and order of the omf structure you are reading which will determine if the plugin works or not

Not all omf files are created (or even read) equally ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:37 AM   #178
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,112
Default

One thing (in favour) of this plugin I forgot to mention in my previous post:

It takes quite some time for this plugin to do the conversion and the author even states this.
When trying it (especially on bigger OMFs) I sometimes thought Reaper has freezed already but it finally worked when I gave it more time (not always though).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 04:38 PM   #179
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
You will find that its not just the size that counts - its the internal format and order of the omf structure you are reading which will determine if the plugin works or not

Not all omf files are created (or even read) equally ;-)
You know its funny i just opened a 650 MB omf and it work with out any problems and it loaded fast.Just like you said its the internal format and order of the omf..
__________________
__________________________________________
youtube.com/user/RAYGproductions
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 04:45 PM   #180
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

And they said I was crazy.... LOL
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 08:11 AM   #181
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
And they said I was crazy.... LOL
lol..
__________________
__________________________________________
youtube.com/user/RAYGproductions
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:53 PM   #182
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

I dont want to get ahaead of ourselves but we are so close to an omf export function in AATranslator that I can almost taste it ;-)

Lots of feverish work behind the scenes by Ron Novy and we have got some tentative code patched in and working

More soon.....
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:58 PM   #183
kerryg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 328
Default Woooot, congratulations!!

Very big news.
kerryg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:49 AM   #184
Rayg
Human being with feelings
 
Rayg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
I dont want to get ahaead of ourselves but we are so close to an omf export function in AATranslator that I can almost taste it ;-)

Lots of feverish work behind the scenes by Ron Novy and we have got some tentative code patched in and working

More soon.....


Nice Can't wait.
__________________
__________________________________________
youtube.com/user/RAYGproductions
Rayg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 11:02 AM   #185
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,410
Default

That's great to hear.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 11:21 AM   #186
aquacola
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default OMF1 specification

Hi everybody,

Does anybody has omf-1 specification ? It was first published many years ago as "omfspec10.pdf"
aquacola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 01:21 PM   #187
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

Hey guys, what's up with the OMF plugin for Reaper? I'm glad AAT got OMF working at least, but I can't wing for the licence just yet... Seems like we have some gigabytes of PARIS OMF exports that just don't wanna be read by this plugin, and reading this thread I figured PARIS just wanted to be special and that's why it's not working.


Is the plugin now off 404's hook, basically?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 03:34 PM   #188
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,410
Default

You could give all your Paris OMFs to someone who has either ProConvert, AATranslator, Protools or Nuendo. They can all read OMFs.

The OMF plugin seems to have been abandoned for now.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 03:47 PM   #189
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

Gigabytes of them, on a 25 kbps upload rate, not gonna happen (they're not referenced OMFs)


Want those projects in Reaper, though. Don't know of anyone here in Croatia who sports AAT, sadly, and I don't need project translating that often that I could justify the cost of the licence...


Thanks for the info, anyways
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:06 PM   #190
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Gigabytes of them, on a 25 kbps upload rate, not gonna happen (they're not referenced OMFs)


Want those projects in Reaper, though. Don't know of anyone here in Croatia who sports AAT, sadly, and I don't need project translating that often that I could justify the cost of the licence...


Thanks for the info, anyways
If you check the PARIS forum you will see that Kerry had negotiated a special deal for PARIS users buying AAT - PM me if you like.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:12 AM   #191
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

I'm not a PARIS user per se - it was just the studio in which the songs of my former band were recorded. They would now like to get the songs into Reaper so I could remix them. Since this would be a one-time conversion, and then I'd probably never need AAT again (because myself uses Reaper exclusively), can't really justify any cost of the licence, sorry.


I do admire your efforts and nonetheless think you have an amazing thing right there! And thanks for the offer anyways
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:16 AM   #192
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

No problem - email me via the aatranslator website and I will organise to get this stuff converted for you - I know people who know people ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:51 AM   #193
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

IN CROATIA?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:22 AM   #194
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

In Croatia ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:24 AM   #195
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

<cartman>Well fuck my ass and call me a bitch!</cartman>


Will contact you in due time, then Gotta visit the bassist first, he has all the files!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:56 AM   #196
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

Got it sorted, found a person over here who has AAT and he was glad to help! Thanks for your offer anyways
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 05:06 AM   #197
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Got it sorted, found a person over here who has AAT and he was glad to help! Thanks for your offer anyways
I knew we had sold a copy in Europe! - He must be the one - LOL
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 04:46 AM   #198
goret
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hello,

Just to be sure I've understood : with this plugin you can import OMF, but not EXPORT, right ?

thanks anyway !
goret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 07:17 AM   #199
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goret View Post
Hello,

Just to be sure I've understood : with this plugin you can import OMF, but not EXPORT, right ?

thanks anyway !
If you are talking about the Reaper plugin then that is correct - in the cases where it works it works well and allows you to import an omf to Reaper. There is no omf export plugin for Reaper.

This is not to be confused with AATranslator which is not a Reaper plugin
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:16 PM   #200
meagain
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I just tried opening an OMF from FCP and it took quite a few minutes for it to load. All of the sounds are there, but the order is completely wrong and certain sounds seem to simply repeat for no reason. In short, it's 99% useless to me other than as a reference to what specific files I was using in the original...
meagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.