Old 07-10-2008, 08:03 AM   #1
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,913
Default Euphonix MC Control / Mix

Has anyone tried these with Reaper in MCU mode? Any hope that Reaper might support their Euconn protocol? - they do look sweet...
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 07:43 AM   #2
SeanBlack
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default

http://www.euphonix.com/pro/news/index.php?id=96

There is hope!!!
SeanBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 10:02 PM   #3
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

hows that hope holding up?
I would be so happy if reaper had eucon support.
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 03:34 AM   #4
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,578
Default

Its a lovely bit of design...



...anyone here got any in-session experience with one?
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:56 PM   #5
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

I've played with the mc mix in Logic 8 and its great.
bump for has anyone used an mc control or mix with reaper in hui or mcu mode?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:38 PM   #6
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

sadly i cant get reaper to respond to the mc mix in either mcu or hui modes.

any advice?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:50 AM   #7
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

Is there any hope that they'll be PC compatable in the near future??
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:43 PM   #8
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Standing Alone View Post
If you have a spare Mac or mac laptop kicking around
doh!



Had a Powerbook once. Once!
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 11:36 PM   #9
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,308
Default

I think we need better MCU support first.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:53 AM   #10
JPeters86
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Any news on this? I've got an MC Mix I use with Logic, but I'm using Reaper more and more. Any way to get it working in Reaper. Thanks.
JPeters86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 01:14 AM   #11
czarnekci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Default

I'm waiting for it too...

mahasandi> how did you try with MCU mode?
czarnekci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 05:51 AM   #12
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

well nothing elaborate, I just set reaper to recognize the the mcmix under controllers and then I picked hui, and then mcu mode.
Is there any "trick" I'am missing?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 07:52 AM   #13
czarnekci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Default

no trick sorry...I was just asking myself if you could recognize the mcmix in controllers.

They are boring with all this kind of protocol...automap, HUI...
czarnekci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:00 PM   #14
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

is this possible to implement? do Justin and co have to write this support?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 04:11 PM   #15
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Are there any plans to support the euphonix control surfaces?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 04:43 PM   #16
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

It works in HUI mode I think. We've set it up at work, works flawlessly
with Reaper, Cubase & Logic.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:37 PM   #17
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,385
Default

seems damn expensive for a glorified mouse. bring back the tascam 2400!
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:50 PM   #18
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
It works in HUI mode I think. We've set it up at work, works flawlessly
with Reaper, Cubase & Logic.
I have not been able to get this to work in hui?
what were your settings?
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 11:56 PM   #19
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
I have not been able to get this to work in hui?
what were your settings?

I'll go check it out today and post the settings.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 04:53 AM   #20
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Ok I was giving wrong info, we set it up using Mackie Control Universal protocol.



These are settings in Reaper:



And these are in Euphonix preference pane in settings, where you drag'n'drop
the applications that are to be controlled:



I also tried to set it up in HUI mode real quick, but didn't seem to work.

e

Last edited by EricM; 11-15-2009 at 09:11 AM.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:15 PM   #21
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default You Rule~

EricM~


Thanks for sharing this- it works great.
I really appreciate it!

Nick
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 12:25 PM   #22
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

No problem, hope it helps.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 06:45 PM   #23
jonboyrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9
Default

Just another question...

The MC Mix works ok with plug in control etc? Thanks for the video by the way...
jonboyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:54 AM   #24
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyrock View Post
Just another question...

The MC Mix works ok with plug in control etc? Thanks for the video by the way...
Didn't test that, don't have a license for that computer so we removed
the demo version after testing the controller. I'll put my licensed Reaper
on a USB Key and try it out when I get the chance.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 10:09 PM   #25
jonboyrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9
Default

That would be great! Thanks very much
jonboyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 05:32 PM   #26
stainlessbrown
Human being with feelings
 
stainlessbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Left coast
Posts: 14
Default

I have the MC Mix and MC Control working now with ProTools... however... I cannot find the Euphonix application/path/protocol/midi window (which I did originally place ProTools in- Under EuControl Settings, I see no option to add another path....

Is the Euphonix "one application at a time"?
stainlessbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 10:55 PM   #27
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlessbrown View Post
Is the Euphonix "one application at a time"?
No, it even has an application switch button
if multiple are open

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlessbrown View Post
I cannot find the Euphonix application/path/protocol/midi window (which I did originally place ProTools in- Under EuControl Settings, I see no option to add another path....
You simply drag'n'drop the application into this window.
There is no button, I was looking for it as well like an idiot.

e
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 11:15 AM   #28
stainlessbrown
Human being with feelings
 
stainlessbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Left coast
Posts: 14
Default

OK, I got it working with Reaper... however, the first 4 tracks I load get duplicated on the Control.... and channels 5-8 on the mix- if I add a 5th track... it goes to track 1 on the Mix , 6th on 2, etc

If I add a 9th track... it shows up on the touch screen.... but isn't tied to a fader unless I "nudge" the mixer

Ive tried setting up a 2nd Mackie Control so I have one showing Dev7,8) and one showing dev 10,11) which seems to have stopped the "overlap" but that gets me 4 on the Control and 4 on the Mix

and as i have the mix on the left, I'd prefer to have tracks 1 -... start on it rather than the Control (which is how it works in PT)

and ideas?
stainlessbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 01:56 PM   #29
producer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Far North
Posts: 191
Default Sorry Guys - Its bougth by Avid (Pro Tools)

You will take a risk...
producer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 10:32 PM   #30
mike5746
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlessbrown View Post
I have the MC Mix and MC Control working now with ProTools... however... I cannot find the Euphonix application/path/protocol/midi window (which I did originally place ProTools in- Under EuControl Settings, I see no option to add another path....

Is the Euphonix "one application at a time"?
Hi Stainlessbrown is possible to get a copy of the Eucontrol software disc? I would like to load it up and have a look see. Thanks -- MyKee
mike5746 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:21 PM   #31
Tower Studio
Human being with feelings
 
Tower Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 144
Default

Is there any chance at all to see EuCon implemented in Reaper?

The MC Mix is an amazing controller for Logic for instance, but is pretty limited when used within Reaper through the Mackie Control Universal protocol. Unless I'm mistaken, you can't even assign a fader or knob to a plugin's control in Reaper.

So it would be awesome to see the EuCon protocol implemented even if I highly doubt this will ever be the case...

Last edited by Tower Studio; 07-27-2010 at 04:48 PM.
Tower Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:54 PM   #32
jmcecil
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 627
Default

For what it's worth, one of the mods from Euphonics did say that they were working on Windows drivers, but refused to give any kind of timeline. However, I did get a call from my Sweetwater rep saying that based on stuff he's hearing it should be relatively soon. He knows I want an MC Control the day they are available for Windows, so he just called to say "a birdy" said it might happen pretty soon. Unfortunately soon could be Christmas 2011 in software land.
jmcecil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:16 AM   #33
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcecil View Post
For what it's worth, one of the mods from Euphonics did say that they were working on Windows drivers, but refused to give any kind of timeline. However, I did get a call from my Sweetwater rep saying that based on stuff he's hearing it should be relatively soon. He knows I want an MC Control the day they are available for Windows, so he just called to say "a birdy" said it might happen pretty soon. Unfortunately soon could be Christmas 2011 in software land.

I've been waiting 3 years for PC drivers, Euphonix have ignored every email I've sent them regarding this

The sad thing is the Eucon protocol was windows based from day 1 as it was in use for the 'pro' MC series consoles and Nuendo. It's all corporate bullshit between Euphonix/Apple/Apogee. If they were honest and open and said 'yes we've done a 3 year deal' then everyone would at least be in the picture, all this 'we're working on it' is just dishonest IMO.


Rant over


MC
__________________
www.norburybrookstudios.com
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:05 AM   #34
mcmike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 23
Default

Euphonix just announced Windows 7 drivers.
http://www.euphonix.com/artist/solutions/
mcmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:08 AM   #35
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,979
Default

yes,seen that I've been asking for Eucon protocol for reaper V4


MC
__________________
www.norburybrookstudios.com
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:31 PM   #36
czarnekci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Default

Yes please!! eucon for reaper 4!!!
Hope pc-support will convince the team!

I've just bought one MC control V2 (I'm working with a mac). I need more time to see how that works, but it seems to be quite great with reaper in Mackie control mode, because, anyway, you can assign actions on touchscreen with any application.

The only problem is about the page "pan" "send" "insert"......and too bad, the klinke's MCU is PC-only.....
czarnekci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 03:46 AM   #37
diezelmonster666
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 13
Default Freshing up...

...this thread... yesterday I bought a new MC Mix now that there are PC drivers available... I tried for many hours to get it work with Reaper, I followed the instructions given in this thread... nothing... What can I do?
Anyone else here with the same problem... I think I'm gonna return it on Monday if nothing works out for me...
diezelmonster666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 02:10 PM   #38
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,410
Default

Reaper expects to send and receive data to and from a Mackie Control Universal via midi ports.

This is setup in the control surface section of the Reaper preferences, not the MIDI devices section. Have you tried that ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 06:20 AM   #39
diezelmonster666
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Reaper expects to send and receive data to and from a Mackie Control Universal via midi ports.

This is setup in the control surface section of the Reaper preferences, not the MIDI devices section. Have you tried that ?

Yes, as I said... I've done exactly like shown in this thread, set everything in the control surface section... but it doesn't work. I was told yesterday that it could be the drivers, as they are the first ever available for PC. I feel very uncomfortable in beeing a beta tester, so I will return it and look for something else as I REALLY NEED motorized faders.

Any suggestions??? A lot of guys seem to be happy with their BCF2000, except for the fader noise...
diezelmonster666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:19 PM   #40
czarnekci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Default

Did you setup the MC control for acting like a mackiecontrol with reaper? You need to do this IN reaper,but IN the panel preferences,too, in the euphonix control panel (not in the eucon program)...you have to choose midi port1-4,and after in reaper you can assign the 4 midi ports for acting like 1 MCU+ 3 extender....


It works really well here...BCF2000 is really not the same product:notouch sensitive,no actions in the touchscreen.......

But for sure, the best would be to have real EUCON protocolfor V4
czarnekci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.