Old 06-03-2020, 03:12 AM   #641
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sts View Post
This is something I wanted to suggest anyway (since I never know which version of ReEQ I have installed and don't want to look it up in the source code). It's good to see that the latest 1.0.10 has this feature. However, the new "Version:" item in the settings menu doesn't show anything on my computer, so my version number is "".
same here
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 01:40 PM   #642
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sts View Post
This is something I wanted to suggest anyway (since I never know which version of ReEQ I have installed and don't want to look it up in the source code). It's good to see that the latest 1.0.10 has this feature. However, the new "Version:" item in the settings menu doesn't show anything on my computer, so my version number is "".
Weird, it's visible for me. What platform are you on?
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 05:58 PM   #643
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 219
Default

Never mind. It's fixed now if you re-download from the front page.

It wasn't showing the version when the JSFX first loads. If you refresh it using CMD/WND and clicking on edit button in the JSFX header then it appeared and of course that's the most common way that I load/reload the JSFX. Peculiar behaviour with strings...but it's fixed now.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 06:34 AM   #644
sts
Human being with feelings
 
sts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Never mind. It's fixed now if you re-download from the front page ...Peculiar behaviour with strings...but it's fixed now.
Thanks Justin! New version works and shows 1.0.10.
sts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 11:37 AM   #645
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 133
Default

Very good update, thanks a lot. But the nodes are still a little small, a little bigger, making them easier to catch. And lastly, do you think of doing dynamic eq mod, in the future ? Would be nice.

Last edited by alphoc; 06-24-2020 at 11:42 AM.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 07:21 AM   #646
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
Very good update, thanks a lot. But the nodes are still a little small, a little bigger, making them easier to catch. And lastly, do you think of doing dynamic eq mod, in the future ? Would be nice.
I may add variable node sizes as a preferences option. I'll add it to the list of Things To Do(tm).

I was thinking about dynamic EQ some time ago. I even had some code scoped for reacting to RMS levels etc. My concern is that it's going to be tricky not to affect performance, but maybe there's a way of dealing with that.

I'm not ruling it out. ReEQ with dynamic EQ would be a good thing for the community.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 12:27 AM   #647
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks. Please, Dynamic Eq would be nice and variable node is ok but freq values square under the node, is it possible bigger font ?

Last edited by alphoc; 06-26-2020 at 11:53 AM.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:37 AM   #648
bwsd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: KZ ALA
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
ReEQ with dynamic EQ would be a good thing for the community.
Yes!!! ))
bwsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 01:18 AM   #649
80icio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Italy, Thiene (Vicenza) ...close to Venice
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
I may add variable node sizes as a preferences option. I'll add it to the list of Things To Do(tm).

I was thinking about dynamic EQ some time ago.

I'm not ruling it out. ReEQ with dynamic EQ would be a good thing for the community.
YES!YES!YES!
80icio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 03:16 AM   #650
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

Minor bug/inconsistency in ReEQ 1.0.10:

When selecting a band type from the list in the panel, allpass and Pultec low shelf are not listed. They can still be selected by right-clicking a node in the display area though.

I'm using Linux, if that makes any difference.

PS. feature request, if feasible: the ability to select multiple nodes to be able to move them as a group (and possibly adjust bandwidth/gain together).

Thanks for this EQ, by the way. I'm appreciating it now more than before.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank

Last edited by JamesPeters; 07-03-2020 at 09:05 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 07:20 AM   #651
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Minor bug/inconsistency in ReEQ 1.0.10:

When selecting a band type from the list in the panel, allpass and Pultec low shelf are not listed. They can still be selected by right-clicking a node in the display area though.

I'm using Linux, if that makes any difference.

PS. feature request, if feasible: the ability to select multiple nodes to be able to move them as a group (and possibly adjust bandwidth/gain together).

Thanks for this EQ, by the way. I'm appreciating it now more than before.
Thanks for the bug feedback - just released a minor update that fixes it.

Thanks for your suggestions too. I'll add them to the backlog!
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 07:56 AM   #652
alcoustic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Default ReEQ

Where do I download ReEQ?????
alcoustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:58 AM   #653
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Up North somewhere
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcoustic View Post
Where do I download ReEQ?????
First page
__________________
OS: Xubuntu 20.04, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and a bunch of native linux-vst plugins, LSP-Plugins, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:43 PM   #654
alcoustic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Default ReEq

Do I make a donation first and then the ReEq will be emailed to me or is there a download link somewhere that I'm not seeing?????
alcoustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:54 PM   #655
mawi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 720
Default

First post!
mawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 08:20 PM   #656
Scrumpy Jack
Human being with feelings
 
Scrumpy Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcoustic View Post
Where do I download ReEQ?????
Quote:
Originally Posted by alcoustic View Post
Do I make a donation first and then the ReEq will be emailed to me or is there a download link somewhere that I'm not seeing?????
@alcoustic:
  1. Go to the first post of this thread.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the post until you see the attachments:

  3. Click on the attachments to download them.
  4. By all means make a donation, because ReEQ is magic: https://www.paypal.me/nitsujdsp
Scrumpy Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 08:36 PM   #657
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

...and since alcoustic is probably new to Reaper, I might as well post this link again for the best method for installing JS plugins for Reaper, which works on any operating system and any install type of Reaper.

Or, you can read it in the current REAPER User Guide on page 113.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank

Last edited by JamesPeters; 07-08-2020 at 03:58 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:17 PM   #658
Metrobot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 110
Default What Folder do I place ReJJ-1.0.11 in?

Sorry for the noob question.
I just downloaded nitsuj's ReEQ
What Folder do I place ReJJ-1.0.11 in?
Thanks for such great work It looks incredible
defiantly worth a donation.
-M
Metrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:30 PM   #659
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metrobot View Post
Sorry for the noob question.
I just downloaded nitsuj's ReEQ
What Folder do I place ReJJ-1.0.11 in?
Thanks for such great work It looks incredible
defiantly worth a donation.
-M
Here's a link that explains just that, in detail:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....70#post2315670



The folder will vary depending on your OS, install drive, install type (normal, portable). Follow the instructions in the video. You will succeed if you do.

Or, you can read it in the current REAPER User Guide on page 113.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank

Last edited by JamesPeters; 07-08-2020 at 03:57 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 04:01 PM   #660
Metrobot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Here's a link that explains just that, in detail:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....70#post2315670



The folder will vary depending on your OS, install drive, install type (normal, portable). Follow the instructions in the video. You will succeed if you do.

Or, you can read it in the current REAPER User Guide on page 113.
Thank you James!
-M
Metrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 06:09 PM   #661
paulm1427
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Default Great EQ

is there a way to make a stand alone to work in other daw's
paulm1427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 07:08 PM   #662
dhendart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Wow!!! THANKS!
dhendart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 08:35 PM   #663
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulm1427 View Post
is there a way to make a stand alone to work in other daw's
No. It's only meant for Reaper.

Before anyone says "but there's a thing called ReaJS": yes I know about that. It's limited to functionality that existed before ReEQ existed, and ReEQ was developed to take advantage of newer functionality of JS plugins. So ReaJS won't work.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 09:51 PM   #664
Blackwing13
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Jkt, INA
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulm1427 View Post
is there a way to make a stand alone to work in other daw's
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
No. It's only meant for Reaper.

Before anyone says "but there's a thing called ReaJS": yes I know about that. It's limited to functionality that existed before ReEQ existed, and ReEQ was developed to take advantage of newer functionality of JS plugins. So ReaJS won't work.
Yup, bummer. I was going to use this EQ outside of Reaper framework, but can't do that, yet. Would love it if ReaJS get updated.

https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....1&d=1594270172
Attached Images
File Type: png NonReaperDAW.PNG (54.7 KB, 33 views)
__________________
Regards,
Gabriel
Blackwing13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 10:36 PM   #665
ayskura
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 97
Default Amazing!

This is really incredible! first I didn't know JS would be so powerful and this is such an incredible plugin, I wonder why this is not the standard Reaper EQ at this point thank you so much!

<3
ayskura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 10:58 PM   #666
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwing13 View Post
Yup, bummer. I was going to use this EQ outside of Reaper framework, but can't do that, yet. Would love it if ReaJS get updated.
It's been 4 years since the last update, and not just for the changes to ReaJS but for other plugins too (ReaComp, ReaEQ, etc.) Previous updates happened more frequently. At this point I'd move on and assume it's not going to be updated at all. If it is, then you can be pleasantly surprised.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 12:56 AM   #667
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 133
Default

Reeq CPU consumption is too much. It consumes more cpu power every time I add node. Considering stock Reaeq cpu consumption is % 0, regardless Reeq is a very nice eq.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 01:07 AM   #668
din_mentor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Any news on the possibility of this becoming included as a official reaper release plugin?
It's awesome!
din_mentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 03:19 AM   #669
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
Reeq CPU consumption is too much. It consumes more cpu power every time I add node. Considering stock Reaeq cpu consumption is % 0, regardless Reeq is a very nice eq.
Most of the time for mixing you can put ReEQ in Eco mode rather than oversampling HQ mode. That should roughly half the CPU consumption.

You won't get the de-cramping of filter shapes near Nyquist but for many filtering cases that's not an issue.

Another thing is that leaving a ReEQ window open will consume CPU. So it's good to make a habit of closing the window when you're not editing the filter bands.

It's never going to be quite as fast as the native ReaEQ because well, it's a showcase for JSFX and there's speed compromises there.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 11:30 AM   #670
karumba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alzenau, Germany
Posts: 61
Default

wow...looks and sounds great! great job nitsuj!
__________________
Jan Ohlhorst - affiliations: finemastering | suter/ohlhorst | Tokyo Dawn Labs | Ohlhorst Digital
karumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 11:53 AM   #671
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 919
Default

I recall the user Sonic Anomaly first releasing his plugins as JS and then later porting them to VST. Is this a rather easy task to do?

Just saying, so people who want to use the ReEQ elsewhere and need it to be less CPU hungry, it might be an option to port it. Obviously respecting nitsuj's licensing...
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 12:23 PM   #672
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
I recall the user Sonic Anomaly first releasing his plugins as JS and then later porting them to VST. Is this a rather easy task to do?

Just saying, so people who want to use the ReEQ elsewhere and need it to be less CPU hungry, it might be an option to port it. Obviously respecting nitsuj's licensing...
Initially they were converted to VST thanks to Geep Jeez:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=167728
https://sourceforge.net/projects/geep-jeez/
https://github.com/derekjohnevans/Geep-Jeez
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 12:51 PM   #673
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,079
Default

Then Sonic Anomaly apparently switched to WDL/IPlug for his later plugins, including the 64-bit ones:

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=212

I suspect Geep Geez lacks newer JS plugin functionality, and perhaps even the ability to make 64-bit plugins. I don't even know what WDL/IPlug is capable of in terms of the more recent functionality of JS plugins. And of course now that's also obsolete, and replaced by iPlug2...which I don't know how it would work for translating JS plugins either.

I'm not a programmer so none of this makes sense to me anyway. I get the sense, however, that only Geep Jeez allowed for a simple GUI-based "drop a JS plugin in here, get a VST plugin spat out there" sort of approach (and that it only worked with more basic/older JS plugins to produce only 32-bit VST plugins).
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Mint XFCE 20
Free multi-layered drum bank

Last edited by JamesPeters; 07-09-2020 at 01:00 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 10:09 PM   #674
Skier70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Default

I've finally loaded the new ReEQ script into ReaJS inside Cakewalk by bandlab.
Actually the only function that created problem was fft_real(fftworkspcae, fftsize), so I've changed it to fft(fftworkspace, fftsize / 2), then it started to work in ReaJS.

To do that Please change the line 559 inside "spectrum.jsfx-inc"
FROM fft_real(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize); ---> TO fft(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize / 2);
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ReEQ_In_Cakewalk_3.jpg (38.3 KB, 33 views)
Skier70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 10:42 PM   #675
g4greg
Human being with feelings
 
g4greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 945
Default

Gawd this EQ is so sexy..

Sorry I'm late to the party.. I think I'm gonna make this my go too sooner than later.

I'm gonna send you something to buy yourself a beer or ten for that soon. Thanks for all your efforts.
__________________
Vocals for hire from From pop to metal, and everything in between .
https://www.fiverr.com/gregemond/be-...ger-songwriter
g4greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 10:04 AM   #676
Blackwing13
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Jkt, INA
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skier70 View Post
I've finally loaded the new ReEQ script into ReaJS inside Cakewalk by bandlab.
Actually the only function that created problem was fft_real(fftworkspcae, fftsize), so I've changed it to fft(fftworkspace, fftsize / 2), then it started to work in ReaJS.

To do that Please change the line 559 inside "spectrum.jsfx-inc"
FROM fft_real(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize); ---> TO fft(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize / 2);
Hi, I tried that but it didn't work out. But maybe it's because of my lack of programming knowledge. Could you post the edited file? Thanks!
__________________
Regards,
Gabriel
Blackwing13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 11:47 AM   #677
jjuhkam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjuhkam View Post
I love this plugin to bits!
One question, if I've missed it somehow or it hasn't been implemented yes- quite a nobrainer actually-
Can i somehow type the values aswell? And could we have somekind of shortcuts for making the scrolling of the wheels extra precise?
Didn't see it aswered so I'll repeat it again..
jjuhkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 04:58 PM   #678
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skier70 View Post
I've finally loaded the new ReEQ script into ReaJS inside Cakewalk by bandlab.
Actually the only function that created problem was fft_real(fftworkspcae, fftsize), so I've changed it to fft(fftworkspace, fftsize / 2), then it started to work in ReaJS.

To do that Please change the line 559 inside "spectrum.jsfx-inc"
FROM fft_real(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize); ---> TO fft(spectrum.fftworkspace,spectrum.fftsize / 2);
Don't do that. That will make the spectrum very incorrect, shifting the frequencies all over the place.

See the attached file. Drop that in the directory, and add
Code:
import reajs_compatibility.jsfx-inc.txt
to the start of spectrum.jsfx-inc. That will provide you with a very rough approximation. It's still not great, since you get half the spectral resolution and the spectrum isn't windowed correctly anymore, but it's a bit better as a 'drop in' replacement.

As for Geep Jeez, yes, it's quite outdated now w.r.t. JSFX. I remember having a look at it for some of my own plugs earlier and deciding that it wasn't worth the hassle.
Attached Files
File Type: txt reajs_compatibility.jsfx-inc.txt (1.8 KB, 12 views)
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 11:52 PM   #679
Skier70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwing13 View Post
Hi, I tried that but it didn't work out. But maybe it's because of my lack of programming knowledge. Could you post the edited file? Thanks!
Blackwing13,
here attached the modified script. (Remove .txt extension while you're putting it Effects folder)

But please remember as sai'ke said it will mess up the spectrum graph, but you will be able to use Equalizer functions.
Regards.
Attached Files
File Type: txt spectrum.jsfx-inc.txt (28.5 KB, 8 views)
Skier70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:50 PM   #680
witchapestudio
Human being with feelings
 
witchapestudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Default REEQ!

Thanks for this Nitsuj! Greetings from Seattle.
__________________
Thanks a bunch,
~TD
Reaper - Studio One - I displace and air and water... For now.
witchapestudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.