Old 06-25-2020, 07:45 AM   #361
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Hey Doppelganger!
Small issue when loading a tag state:
The blacklisted tracks are hidden.
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 10:35 AM   #362
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
Hey Doppelganger!
Small issue when loading a tag state:
The blacklisted tracks are hidden.
ah, yes, should be fixed now.

update:
• allow to assign mouse modifiers to basic operations (e.g. bypass fx on left click, etc...)
• removed option Lmb FXChain (it can be set in mouse options now)
• added Fav FXChain (open fx from Favourites option in FX chain window or floating FX window)
• fixed load state bug
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 11:04 AM   #363
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
ah, yes, should be fixed now.

update:
• allow to assign mouse modifiers to basic operations (e.g. bypass fx on left click, etc...)
• removed option Lmb FXChain (it can be set in mouse options now)
• added Fav FXChain (open fx from Favourites option in FX chain window or floating FX window)
• fixed load state bug
Wow! Thanks you! That was fast!

I have a suggestion, it's a small things but can be handy:
If we had an action to reset the metering we could create a custom action and call the native peak reset + this one at the same time.
What do you think?
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 11:27 AM   #364
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
Wow! Thanks you! That was fast!

I have a suggestion, it's a small things but can be handy:
If we had an action to reset the metering we could create a custom action and call the native peak reset + this one at the same time.
What do you think?
what do you mean by native? clip indicator of output gain meter inside plugin? Not sure it's possible, i'll look at that.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 11:49 AM   #365
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Sorry I wasn't clear.

By default Reaper have an action called "View: Clear all peak indicators" to reset the peak readouts on every tracks, including the master track.
In fxlist, the metering (coming from dpMeter4) is reset when switching from a stopped or paused play_state to a play or record play_state, if I'm correct.

I was just thinking if we had an action to manually clear the metering indicators of fxlist we would be able to combine both in a custom action and thereby we would have a stronger integration of fxlist in Reaper.

Just an idea.
:-)
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 01:25 PM   #366
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Infrabass, i added action to clear all dVol peak indicators, if i misunderstood something, then tell me, i'll redo it.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 10:31 PM   #367
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Oh I wasn't exactly talking about that but it's also a nice small feature!
I was referring to the loudness meter at the top of the fxlist window (see sceenshot below):
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 1.28.48 AM.jpg (46.5 KB, 26 views)
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 12:46 AM   #368
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

lol)), no problem, remade action to Reset loudness meter
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 11:06 PM   #369
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Haha you're awesome!
Thanks!
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 02:18 PM   #370
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,357
Default

Is there anyway to set it up to show only the effects list from the selected track ?
A lot of bass sound design (Neuros, Reeses etc) can have a huge list of effects layered up.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:57 AM   #371
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Is there anyway to set it up to show only the effects list from the selected track ?
A lot of bass sound design (Neuros, Reeses etc) can have a huge list of effects layered up.
you don't need fxlist for such scenario, i think, for having 1 selected track it's better to use reaper's mixer docked left with 1 visible track.
But the more i think about having some selected tracks view mode - the more i like it, i probably will do something similar at some point.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 01:05 PM   #372
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

the new mouse customizations are great, thanks!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 06:43 PM   #373
leman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Default

Hi!
Thanks a lot for this extension! It is REALLY useful!

And here are some thoughts about future development:

1) Action to expand track view for one track only (for all tracks it is easy to do custom action);
1a) Expand track view to fit effects view AND/OR sends-receives view (sometimes quantity of sends is larger than quantity of effects);
1b) May be there is a way to make this action undoable to return to previous track(s) height;

2) Option to monitor short term loudness (big digits);

3) By default when activating loudness meter, it appears at the end of monitoring fx chain. If you already have eq or level adjustments in monitoring fx, loudness measurments will be incorrect. Is there a way to insert loudness meter in the begining of mon fx?

4) TBaudio also have "tini EBU128 meter" js plugin which is more cpu friendly i think (but it shows only one of selected measurment (IL, SL, ML, TP, LR). May be it will be easier to use it
leman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 03:46 AM   #374
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Hi, leman! updated few bits.

1a) made an action to fit all sends

2) added option for Short-term Max. Also added Short-term and Momentary-term options, don't think they are needed, but can be useful to feel dynamics.

3) you can just drag dpmeter plugin once and it will stay there in fx chain, but i guess it makes sense to have it at first slot always, i made it to be added to 1st slot by default (requires reaper v6.12+)

4) Depends on plugin ofcourse, but generally speaking, VSTs are better than JS in terms of performance. dpMeter is heavy mostly because of true peak measurement, you can turn it off, by the way. And that JS plugin doesn't really fit, as i want to see 3 parameters at the same time.
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:11 AM   #375
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Hey Doppelganger!

I had a vision this morning.

The base statement is that FXlist allow us to get rid of the (terrible) FX chain window for track (and I'm so grateful for that) but we still have to see the fellow FX chain window for take FX.

WHAT IF when we push let's say "ctrl" (cmd for mac) the track FX chain of the first selected item parent track switch to display the active take FX chain instead?
We could also bypass, re-order, open fx floating window exactly as track FX chain as long as we are still holding the "triggering key".
Why not also be able to copy/cut/paste FX from/to other track FX chain.

Could be a killer new feature for fxlist!


Also I see you finally have a "Donation" button!
Everyone, let's flood Doppelganger with money!!
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:17 AM   #376
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Can you confirm you received my donation?
The process ended with a white webpage so I'm not sure the process went through…
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:58 AM   #377
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Thank you for donation Infrabass, i appreciate it.

Have you seen pre-release section? Native fxlist is in development.
I saw it today and thinking about abandoning this thread, don't want to put effort into not relevant thing.

I have a better idea about take fx chain, I have in progress few kinda interesting features and after that, i could try to do similar thing with take fx, but time will tell, will it be needed here on forum at all or i will just ditch this and move on)
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 11:59 AM   #378
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

A few smaller suggestions:

1 - I often use the rename feature for plugin (i.e to distinguish 2 same EQs plugin, one is constant and the other is automated and only used for EQ match another take). Right now we need to open the FX chain window to do that, it would be cool to be able to rename plugin instance via the right click context menu in fxlist.

2 - I would love to see an action to toggle the routing window. I find it sleeker without but sometimes it's very handy to see the track routing so the ability to trigger it via a key shortcut will be nice.

3 - The tag window (track group) is a little bit small so the group ID is partially hidden (at least on Mac), see the screenshot below. Would it be easy to expand a tad the window or lowering a bit the tag fonts?

EDIT: Link for the screenshot https://www.dropbox.com/s/ooi8grevwx...%20PM.jpg?dl=0

Last edited by Infrabass; 07-04-2020 at 12:08 PM.
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 12:06 PM   #379
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Oops didn't saw your last post!
Wow you did it, your script is so inspiring it's gonna be part of the native Reaper, congrats!

However I have the feeling it could be less fulfilled with killer features like tag, loudness metering, routing view, or even sexy aspect!
Maybe I'm wrong but I could still use fxlist for a bit!

I'm looking forward to hear about your future ideas!

Take care!
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 08:56 PM   #380
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
Thank you for donation Infrabass, i appreciate it.

Have you seen pre-release section? Native fxlist is in development.
I saw it today and thinking about abandoning this thread, don't want to put effort into not relevant thing.

I have a better idea about take fx chain, I have in progress few kinda interesting features and after that, i could try to do similar thing with take fx, but time will tell, will it be needed here on forum at all or i will just ditch this and move on)
thing is, i dont know if it's better. To have the list on the left SIDE is actually really cool. That's not how the current list works. There are advantages, too but it's not the same.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 09:00 PM   #381
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
thing is, i dont know if it's better. To have the list on the left SIDE is actually really cool. That's not how the current list works. There are advantages, too but it's not the same.
Agree!
I just check the native version and some small features are interesting but currently it forces you to have large track height to see anything so fxlist is still the thing, at least for me.
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 09:11 PM   #382
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

tbh I think I can see myself using BOTH lol
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 09:35 PM   #383
todoublez
Human being with feelings
 
todoublez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: beijing
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
Agree!
I just check the native version and some small features are interesting but currently it forces you to have large track height to see anything so fxlist is still the thing, at least for me.
Maybe u can use the native version with " auto enlarge track height on selected track " Script ?
to me that is good enough to wrk with
__________________
Reaper 6.12 / SWS/S&M: v2.11.0 / Hackintosh OSX High Sierra 10.13.6
i9 9900KS / 8 Cores base:4.0Ghz turbo:5.0Ghz / 64G RAM /
JS_ReaScriptAPI: v1.215 / Ultraschall API: v43220.00
todoublez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 01:34 AM   #384
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
A few smaller suggestions:

2 - I would love to see an action to toggle the routing window. I find it sleeker without but sometimes it's very handy to see the track routing so the ability to trigger it via a key shortcut will be nice.
Hey, i want to clarify, what do you mean by routing window? If you're talking about native track routing window for last touched track, there's an action for this in reaper:
Track: View routing and I/O for current/last touched track

Or you're taking about controls window in my script?


Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
3 - The tag window (track group) is a little bit small so the group ID is partially hidden (at least on Mac), see the screenshot below. Would it be easy to expand a tad the window or lowering a bit the tag fonts?
fixed this bug on macOS.
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation

Last edited by doppelganger; 07-05-2020 at 02:33 AM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 02:48 AM   #385
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
thing is, i dont know if it's better. To have the list on the left SIDE is actually really cool. That's not how the current list works. There are advantages, too but it's not the same.
as far as i understand, it's WALTERable, column gap and fx-alignment and can be placed on the left or right side of a track, it just needs someone to make a proper theme layout for this, so it's pretty flexible, but i, personally, won't be using it, as i like ability to add features, if i need something, instead of waiting 3 years for devs blessing=).
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 03:48 AM   #386
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
Hey, i want to clarify, what do you mean by routing window? If you're talking about native track routing window for last touched track, there's an action for this in reaper:
Track: View routing and I/O for current/last touched track

Or you're taking about controls window in my script?
I was talking about the routing column in your script.
See screenshot below.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-07-05 at 6.44.58 AM.jpg (52.5 KB, 17 views)
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 03:56 AM   #387
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todoublez View Post
Maybe u can use the native version with " auto enlarge track height on selected track " Script ?
to me that is good enough to wrk with
This script is cool but I tried it and it's not fitting my way of working.
I usually like all my tracks to be the same size except special tracks like video track, note track, etc…
What I like with fxlist is the ability to see every visible track FX chains not mainly the selected one.
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 04:01 AM   #388
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

I don't know if it's really something with fxlist but I had a few crashes today and fxlist appeared in every crash log.
Do you see something strange doppelganger?
Attached Files
File Type: txt Crash.txt (5.1 KB, 7 views)
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 07:47 AM   #389
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infrabass View Post
I don't know if it's really something with fxlist but I had a few crashes today and fxlist appeared in every crash log.
Do you see something strange doppelganger?
i think, it's related to latest inner improvements i did to loudness meter drawing, i can't reproduce such crash, but i reverted that changes, sorry, if that's the case.

I added action to toggle routing column view, it's easy, but i'm not sure if it helps you, as there's no way to increase decrease width of docked window in reaper, you still need to drag it, if you want to make a window thinner
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation

Last edited by doppelganger; 07-05-2020 at 07:55 AM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:51 AM   #390
Infrabass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
I added action to toggle routing column view, it's easy, but i'm not sure if it helps you, as there's no way to increase decrease width of docked window in reaper, you still need to drag it, if you want to make a window thinner
Oh no it's perfect! I will use this action constantly, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
i think, it's related to latest inner improvements i did to loudness meter drawing, i can't reproduce such crash, but i reverted that changes, sorry, if that's the case.
No problem, I'm gonna follow-up if the problem persist.

The fix for the tag display issue on mac is also really appreciated!
Thank you!!
Infrabass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:58 AM   #391
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
as far as i understand, it's WALTERable, column gap and fx-alignment and can be placed on the left or right side of a track, it just needs someone to make a proper theme layout for this, so it's pretty flexible, but i, personally, won't be using it, as i like ability to add features, if i need something, instead of waiting 3 years for devs blessing=).
I still like yours, at least for now.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 10:39 AM   #392
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,821
Default

This is really great! Thanks.
Now I don't see how I could have worked without it for two years?

One thing, though... the "DOPP: Show fxlist window" toggle does not remember its state. Every time I start Reaper I have to run that action to toggle the fxlist on. Is it just me?

W7x64/Reaper v6.12/x64.

EDIT: Also, the "Tag top folders" is not remembered. Can it be?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 10:44 AM   #393
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
This is really great! Thanks.
Now I don't see how I could have worked without it for two years?

One thing, though... the "DOPP: Show fxlist window" toggle does not remember its state. Every time I start Reaper I have to run that action to toggle the fxlist on. Is it just me?

W7x64/Reaper v6.12/x64.

EDIT: Also, the "Tag top folders" is not remembered. Can it be?
Hi, right click at top part and find in context menu option Misc->Auto startup. I thought, it starts activated at first run, but seems not, i'll change it.
Tags are remembered only to the end of session, if you want it to persist after reloading reaper, you need to save it's state and load it manually after loading project.
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 10:59 AM   #394
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
Hi, right click at top part and find in context menu option Misc->Auto startup. I thought, it starts activated at first run, but seems not, i'll change it.
Tags are remembered only to the end of session, if you want it to persist after reloading reaper, you need to save it's state and load it manually after loading project.
OK great! Thanks.
And thanks for the extremely quick reply
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:02 PM   #395
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,821
Default Another thing...

This FXlist is a great productivity boost! Thanks for this.

However, there is a slightly annoying thing when clicking an FX to open it; the FX opens not always in the same place as from where it was closed. It seems to work fine on my main monitor, but not if I move the FX over to the second monitor where I have Reaper's main window. Then, the next time I click FXlist to open the FX, it opens on the other monitor.

If I open the FX by right-clicking the FX button and choosing teh FX from teh menu there, then it opens where it was last when it was closed, but not so when opened from FXlist.

There is something with calculating the screen coordinates that FXlist seems to not do correctly with multiple screens (at least not here with my setup).

Reaper v6.1/x64 portable, on W7x64pro.

A 19 seconds movie to show this is here: https://chalmersuniversity.box.com/s...7c6vmnt7ag.mp4
(For unknown reasons the video plays upside-down in VLC, but OK in Reaper)
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:12 PM   #396
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 375
Default

Try to turn off Shift float FX option in right click menu. It's good feature for 1 screen, it allows to move floating fx window a bit to not obstruct fxlist view, but it doesn't really work with multiple monitors, i probably should make multimonitor support, i guess.
__________________
TCP fxlist | ReAerah | Donation
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:22 PM   #397
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
Try to turn off Shift float FX option in right click menu. It's good feature for 1 screen, it allows to move floating fx window a bit to not obstruct fxlist view, but it doesn't really work with multiple monitors, i probably should make multimonitor support, i guess.
Ah! That works. Great!
Thanks.

Next time I'll poke around in the settings before asking
Thanks.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.