Old 01-24-2022, 04:59 PM   #1
theFRXST
Human being with feelings
 
theFRXST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 132
Default Scrubby Zoom

Is there zoom script that mimics Adobe Photoshop's Scrubby Zoom?

Example: Move cursor where you want to zoom into, click and hold, drag to the amount of zoom you want... Drag right to zoom in, Drag left to zoom out.



---

I posted this in feature request. Maybe someone here would know
__________________
thefrxst.com
theFRXST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 05:19 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,271
Default

Idk about that exact way, but there are many ways...Probably the closest is to just right drag a selection in the navigator window.

There are also actions to toggle zoom to item selection, time selection etc.

Check out mouse modifiers in preferences and you can apply actions to various mouse behaviors. Keep an open mind and you'll soon find something that works for you.

There's also the SWS zoom tool (marquee), that works without the navigator open.
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 08:30 PM   #3
theFRXST
Human being with feelings
 
theFRXST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 132
Default

Thanks foxAsteria, I was aware of those methods. I was hoping for this exact way, it's so fast and easy to use. Would be ideal for DAW environment
__________________
thefrxst.com
theFRXST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 02:17 AM   #4
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

You can also zoom by dragging the ruler area. This depends on mouse modifiers.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 11:00 AM   #5
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theFRXST View Post
Thanks foxAsteria, I was aware of those methods. I was hoping for this exact way, it's so fast and easy to use. Would be ideal for DAW environment
Are you sure? A continuous zoom makes sense with art, but I find there are only about 3 distinct zoom levels I'm ever working at. So I just made these into Track View screensets and assigned hotkeys.

Before that I was trying to do it your way as well, but especially with the track size, there are too many "in-between" levels that just aren't useful so it ends up being more time consuming to get to the right level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
You can also zoom by dragging the ruler area. This depends on mouse modifiers.
Only zooms horizontally tho.
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 11:01 AM   #6
tonalstates
Human being with feelings
 
tonalstates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 665
Default

I have a custom action armed to shft + alt + mousewheel that does something somewhat similar although not there in the smoothness, it would be waay better to have it natively.

Track: Select track under mouse
View: Adjust selected track heights (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)
View: Adjust selected track heights (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)
View: Zoom horizontally (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)
View: Zoom horizontally (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)

I doubled the actions to make the action zoom in more with every scroll, you can maybe try with just one instance to see if you like it or if it fits with your mousewheel speed
tonalstates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 12:18 PM   #7
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonalstates View Post
I doubled the actions to make the action zoom in more with every scroll, you can maybe try with just one instance to see if you like it or if it fits with your mousewheel speed
No need for duplicate actions. Search "modify" in the actions list. These need to be placed before the action you want to modify. You can get more precise control with these.
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 12:42 PM   #8
reapero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 522
Default

I think insaw a script like this around here, some time
reapero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 02:01 PM   #9
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 3,984
Default

(for use with mousewheel):

Code:
  _,_,_,_,mode,resolution,val = reaper.get_action_context() 
  function main()
    val = val / resolution
    if mode == 0 then
      if val > 0.5 then dir = 1 elseif val <0.5 then dir = -1 end
     elseif mode > 0 then 
      if val > 0 then dir = 1 elseif val <0 then dir = -1 end
    end
    if dir then reaper.CSurf_OnZoom( dir, dir ) end
  end
  
  reaper.defer(main)

Not smooth though, since CSurf_OnZoom only accept integers.

Last edited by mpl; 01-26-2022 at 02:07 PM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 10:11 AM   #10
tonalstates
Human being with feelings
 
tonalstates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
No need for duplicate actions. Search "modify" in the actions list. These need to be placed before the action you want to modify. You can get more precise control with these.
Ahhh that worked way better with a .5x modifier, cool, thanks foxAsteria! I knew about them but never thought about using them, so TIL
tonalstates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2022, 04:42 PM   #11
theFRXST
Human being with feelings
 
theFRXST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 132
Default

ty mpl

i suppose this will stay a dream for now
__________________
thefrxst.com
theFRXST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 07:02 PM   #12
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 428
Default

You might find Alkamist Zoom Tool useful: https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2274348

It does get choppier as projects get heavier, and sometimes crashes when there are supercollapsed tracks present with lots of tracks present in the project, which are things to keep in mind if you decide to use it.
__________________
ReaScript Discord Server | Scripts | JSFX
BirdBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2022, 04:11 PM   #13
theFRXST
Human being with feelings
 
theFRXST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
You might find Alkamist Zoom Tool useful: https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2274348

It does get choppier as projects get heavier, and sometimes crashes when there are supercollapsed tracks present with lots of tracks present in the project, which are things to keep in mind if you decide to use it.
Just tested this, it's closer to what I'm looking for. Thanks!

Perhaps I'll tweak the script in the future
__________________
thefrxst.com
theFRXST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.