Old 03-22-2017, 01:48 PM   #1
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,080
Default v5.40rc3 - March 22 2017

v5.40rc3 - March 22 2017
# Spectral peaks: fix auto-rebuild of spectral peaks


v5.40rc2 - March 22 2017
+ VST3: fix resolving plug-in by UID on first scan
# Spectrogram/spectral peaks: add toggle to action names
# Spectrogram: auto-rebuild peaks if necessary when enabling spectrogram

v5.40rc1 - March 20 2017
+ API: Undo_EndBlock() includes any latent preset changes [t=179533]
+ API: added Track/TakeFX_Get/SetNamedConfigParm
+ ASIO: improve cleanup after initialization error
+ Anticipative FX processing: improve behavior when stopping
+ Anticipative FX: reduce memory use when using Smooth Seek
+ Grid/snap window: obey auto-close window advanced preference
+ Grid: Quantize Items window will use swing if quantizing to the current grid/snap size
+ Grid: arrange swing/grid support, optionally synchronized with MIDI editor setting
+ MIDI editor: allow absolute MIDI CC control of swing
+ MIDI editor: create new take on "open item copy in built-in MIDI editor" action [t=188950]
+ MIDI export: set MIDI clock properly [t=188300]
+ MIDI: support ".midi" as an importable file extension, in addition to the usual ".mid"
+ Media explorer: fix folder icon display error on macOS 10.10
+ Notation editor: automatically scroll view when entering lyrics
+ Notation editor: ignore muted notes in PDF and MusicXML export
+ Peaks: better support editing .wav files which are being recorded in a separate tab
+ Peaks: optional spectrogram display mode
+ Project load: add recovery mode checkbox to optional choose-project-on-open dialog
+ ReaVerb: support TrackFX_SetNamedConfigParm et al w/ ITEMx, DONE
+ Reasamplomatic: support TrackFX_SetNamedConfigParm etc with FILE, FILExx, -FILExx, +FILExx, -FILE*, DONE
+ Reasamplomatic: support TrackFX_SetNamedConfigParm with MODE, RSMODE
+ Undo: improve undo behavior for various editing actions
+ macOS: fix slider zero-line colors read from theme [t=188770]
# Grid settings: move grid appearance options from grid/snap window to prefs/appearance
# HiDPI: basic Windows 7 DPI detection option
# MIDI: fix "paint straight line of notes" mouse modifier when grid is set to greater than or equal to measure length [t=188264]
# Media explorer: better large-font resize behavior
# Retina/HiDPI: adjust font sizes automatically for macOS retina themes
# Spectrogram: display message on items when spectrogram is unavailable requiring peaks rebuild
# Swing: update MIDI editor swing more quickly when changing project swing and linked
# Themes: use item_*_hidpi.png on Windows/HiDPI theme, updated HiDPI theme
# Undo: fix undo for nudge-related actions [p=1802667]
# Use common dialog font for various elements in envelope, send windows
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for metronome pattern font
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for pin connect dialog
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for track routing window
# macOS: basic retina support for track panels, mixer, transport, etc, when using special theme
# macOS: improve handling of large fonts in themes
# macOS: retina fixes for VST/AU generic UI
# macOS: send, envelope windows retina support
# macOS: transport time display supports retina
# macos: retina transport drawing fixes
# peaks: added action for normal (non-spectral) peaks
# spectrogram: do not display rebuild peaks message when drawing folder/envlane peaks
# spectrogram: item fades make spectrogram less opaque
# spectrogram: per-item option to force spectrogram visible, action to toggle
# theme: allow themes to override global UI scaling using rtconfig.txt global_scale line
# theme: better knob large/small background selection logic
# toolbars: refined resize logic change from pre2 [p=1789915]
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for track envelope window
# macOS: retina fixes for group indicators, folder indicators, track icons
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 02:51 PM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,493
Default

Just installed this version (osx).
OSX 10.12.3.

Can any osx user please try to replicate this:

- Set Snap OFF.
- Place Edit Cursor somewhere between to bars (for example somewhere between bar 4 and 5).
- Run Action "Insert time signature/tempo change marker at edit cursor"
Checkmark "Start new measure .."
Checkmark "Allow a partial measure before this marker"
Click OK.

Outcome:
The Tempo Marker is NOT placed at the exact time point where the edit cursor is placed. (??)
Instead, the placement of the Tempo Marker is at Bar 4 or Bar 5, wherever the edit cursor is closed to.

Now, i would swear in previous versions of Reaper, the action just placed the Tempo Marker at the exact time point where edit cursor was placed. (which is imho logical behaviour).
And bar number 5 in the ruler was placed (shifted) to the Tempo Marker position.
(also logical behaviour).

I have changed the timebase setting for tempo markers in Project setting but doesn't make a difference.

I heavily rely on this Action, cause i work alot in one Project with material that has no grid/tempo relation and with material that DO has grid/tempo relation.

So let's say in the beginning of a Project i have some items that have no relation to grid.
Then i want at time position 0:08.713 a Tempo Marker, 131 BPM, 4/4.
As explained above, this is just not possible now, The Tempo Marker will never be placed exactly on 0:08.713.

Dear schwa: i hope you read this and can help me with this, which is a big issue for me currently.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 12:24 AM   #3
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Can any osx user please try to replicate this:
Yeah, I can confirm that behavior. However, v5.35 shows the same behavior...
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 12:50 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,493
Default

Yeah, that's right ... i experience this issue quite along time now.

I wanted to posted it it here, (instead of the Bugs forum), for bringing it up as an extra attention to Cockos..
Hope they don't mind :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 04:02 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Now, i would swear in previous versions of Reaper
The behavior you are describing is not new -- I just verified this all the way back to version 4. Musically, partial measures are illogical/illegal and can lead to unexpected behaviors for users, so REAPER tries to avoid creating them. But we do support them for use cases such as yours -- after inserting a time signature change, if "allow partial measure" is checked, you can then drag the time signature change marker (and therefore the start of the measure) anywhere you want.

Further discussion of this should be somewhere else because the behavior has existed for many years and it is really off topic for an RC build.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 06:45 AM   #6
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 967
Default

Can Reaper get a buzz like sequence editor? This is the most powerful way of arranging. See http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...7&postcount=64
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:08 AM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Yeah, that's right ... i experience this issue quite along time now.

I wanted to posted it it here, (instead of the Bugs forum), for bringing it up as an extra attention to Cockos..
Hope they don't mind :0)
For future reference, (edit: ) I mind a bit... it adds noise, especially for an RC thread

Last edited by Justin; 03-23-2017 at 08:30 AM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:42 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,899
Default

So, start moving the noise out to separate threads then, I suppose?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 10:37 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
So, start moving the noise out to separate threads then, I suppose?
Or have people post it in the correct place to begin with?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 10:51 AM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,899
Default

Wishful thinking, people don't read the stickies even, new members fly by here and drop FRs without thinking, etc...

It's a wild wild Internet, I tell ya. Gotta sheriff around, a bit, I think!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 11:15 AM   #11
zacki
Human being with feelings
 
zacki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TBB - Germany
Posts: 97
Default

Not sure if it's the right place here. Anyway, CTRL+A in the "Clean current project directory" dialog is not working anymore here on Win7x64. I'm sure this shortcut was available in prior versions. Please excuse if it's not the right place to report
__________________
Some of my favourite posts: 1 2 3 --- to be continued...
zacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 11:32 AM   #12
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,899
Default

There you go, what did I tell ya. People don't read stickies.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 01:07 PM   #13
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There you go, what did I tell ya. People don't read stickies.
Looks like trolling 88 LVL
__________________
My Soundcloud
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 04:13 PM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
Looks like trolling 88 LVL
Either an expert troll or just amazing timing
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 03:37 AM   #15
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Justin, is it possible to change font to something more accurate? My old eyes are barely can read whats written here. Maybe changing the background color will help too...its extremly aliased.

Any chance?
Thanks.

Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 03:44 AM   #16
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
My old eyes are barely can read whats written here. Maybe changing the background color will help too...
Maybe you should go here> https://www.specsavers.com/

Totally legible with these old eyes,which is quite the surprise.
Maybe your screen resolution needs changing (on windoze there is a font reading/tweaking wizard)
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 03:49 AM   #17
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri1 View Post
Maybe you should go here> https://www.specsavers.com/

Totally legible with these old eyes,which is quite the surprise.
Maybe your screen resolution needs changing (on windoze there is a font reading/tweaking wizard)
No, the fonts/background combination are just too bad. I don't have any problems with other UI elements.
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.