Old 09-07-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
nolman
Human being with feelings
 
nolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ghent, Belgium
Posts: 304
Default reaper program time schedule playback/recording

Is there a way to schedule recording or playback with reaper?
for example: play or record everyday from 6-8 am

thanks
nolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 06:50 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,045
Default

What an unusual request... Are you a spy or something ? ^^

Not natively, but we can get os.time from Lua scripts so it could be done with a script :P
Shouldn't be very hard, just a tile check, and if time = what yiu want then action record untill time you want it to stop.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 06:50 AM   #3
nolman
Human being with feelings
 
nolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ghent, Belgium
Posts: 304
Default

Hehe,
actually i got this question from somebody at a recording forum :-)
No idea what he's up to :-)
nolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 06:57 AM   #4
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

Can't remember whether it's documented or has a help page, but I made something that might do this a while back. It's in my sig -Timer Recording Tool....



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 07:46 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,045
Default

well... be sure it could be possible if needed, use the Lua os.date("%H:%M:%S") for that, it wil return date in a way that can be compared with the date/time of running the script.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 08:11 AM   #6
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

Loaded it up and tried it again. It records any record-armed tracks according to the timer settings. You can set a rec time of an hour and a cycle time of 24 hours to rec at a set time every day.

The clock ignores dylight-saving time on my laptop, no biggie, but might put an option in.

You need to disable prompt for record-save on stop really to use this.








>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 12:55 PM   #7
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

There is child protection software that blocks access to applications and only allows for a parent's define timeframe. While it is intended for games, why not add reaper to the blacklist ?
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 03:28 PM   #8
LightOfDay
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lower Rhine Area, DE
Posts: 964
Default

remembers me of the hassle with setting up 2 cassette recorders with 120min cassettes and analog timing swatches to record "Nightflight" in the middle of the night (a radio-show with Alan Bangs).

(besides: what an idiotic idea to air such shows that are targeted at people that have to be in school in the morning in the middle of the week and in the middle of the night. facepalm. of course the name would have to change if it would have been aired in the afternoon. and "afternoon-flight" is also not so good. sigh. you cant have everything I guess.)
LightOfDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 03:41 PM   #9
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default How tom install

Hi Nathan

This sounds perfect but how do I install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Can't remember whether it's documented or has a help page, but I made something that might do this a while back. It's in my sig -Timer Recording Tool....



>
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 01:22 AM   #10
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

Follow the links and download the EEL file.
invoke the actions list (press "?").
Click [load].
Locate and select the EEL file.
Add a shortcut (key press) to the new action, or just double-click it in the actions list when you need it.

Play around with it with short times -it seems to ignore daylight saving time, and it is thwarted by recorded file prompts from memory (turn them off).


Shout back if you need more help...



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 07:29 PM   #11
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default Auto record script

Thanks Nathan

Does just what I need. I'm in Australia. Is there a way to get it to show the correct time in the script?

It is currently 8 hours behind me?

Really appreciate the effort you put into making this. I use it to record a radio station on the net so I can review and train presenters.

Cheers

Ian
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:21 AM   #12
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

It needs an offset, I think Ian.

The available computer time that the code reads and queries is UTC (computers use it for email and such, which can be international). Not a biggie for us that live in the UK (as half the year that's our local time), but you need to be able to set it to display your local time and read your set times as local time too.

Let me have a look at the script and update it. I think the time offset can be saved in the ExtState so it is picked up automatically each time once set.

What's your time zone? We're on GMT (UTC) until next Sunday, whereas you'll be on daylight saving time ATM in Australia. The 8 hours sounds right for (eg) Perth -that where you are?



>

Last edited by planetnine; 03-20-2016 at 03:32 AM.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 05:42 PM   #13
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default Time Offset

Hi Nathan

In Perth we don't have daylight saving so it's currently UTC+ 8 hrs.

Thanks so much for assisting with the offset. Love your script and really appreciate your help.

Goes with out saying, as a Reaper licensed user since it was created, I'm pretty much a fan of this program!!

Cheers

Ian
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 09:37 PM   #14
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default Time Offset

Hi Nathan

Any chance you'l be able to look at this issue?

Thanks

Ian
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 10:02 PM   #15
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default Time offset in your beaut tool

Hi Natahan

When you get a spare moment can you put your coding expertise into providing the correct code for changing the time offset?

Thanks again

Ian
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 01:37 PM   #16
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne - Germany
Posts: 310
Default

nice tool! I was searching for that exactly. Live concert recording without missing the first track
A time offset would really be nice!
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.