Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2017, 11:31 PM   #1
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default FX Bin per track to left of arrange ala S1, Sonar, Bitwig, etc?

Is there a way of displaying a tracks plugins to the left in individual bins with all the other track specific controls (solo, mute, fx button area) and have the plugin GUIs pop up instead of everything in one big pop up window? I've never mixed in a mixer and I'm not sure if you can do this in the mixer either, but every daw ice used shows the plugins under the track on every track. If not, is there an extension? Thanks!
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 10:52 AM   #2
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Like this:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 12:46 PM   #3
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Rightclick FX button on track panel and select one of the plugins from menu to show it's gui separately.

This is the same as from mixer click on a slot with a plugin.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Now ditched Reaper 5.4 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 01:01 PM   #4
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nip View Post
Rightclick FX button on track panel and select one of the plugins from menu to show it's gui separately.

This is the same as from mixer click on a slot with a plugin.
Is there a way of seeing all the plugins without having to click anything? Most daws I've encountered use this way of displaying plugins at a glance, without having to right click or bring up a seperate gui.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 01:25 PM   #5
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,171
Default

Install my Track Inspector script and see if you like it. Link in my signature.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 01:34 PM   #6
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Is there a way of seeing all the plugins without having to click anything? Most daws I've encountered use this way of displaying plugins at a glance, without having to right click or bring up a seperate gui.
In mixer only you get the overview, unless heda suggested script works for you. If having second monitor you can ahve mixer visible at all times.

A vague memory of somebody did something with screensets in Reaper that became something close to a inspector. I think it had to do with always letting active mixer slot aligh left and one mixer slot was presented to the left of arrange view - that would give you what you want - or close to.

I'm with you - I like how ProTools allow one or several columns of inserts or sends on track panel even - nice overview.

Old Sonar 8.x and earlier had insert bay in track panel - but now only in inspector.

Found it - check here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...ctor+screenset
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Now ditched Reaper 5.4 x64 -----

Last edited by Nip; 06-19-2017 at 02:00 PM.
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:58 PM   #7
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Thanks all, I've gotten it set up nicely both ways interchangeably. Is there an advantage to using the extension over the mixer dock if I don't use the mixer for anything else?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:39 PM   #8
Mind Riot
Human being with feelings
 
Mind Riot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 798
Default

There are some themes, possibly including the stock one, that have that kind of setup as one of their mixer layouts. Try it out with the stock theme first, just try some of the different mixer panel layouts and see what you get.

Not sure what other themes have this as part of their layout options. I think some of Janne's do.
__________________
"Mah blahkinned sole izz daw-kaw thawn thah blahkissed nye-eeeet!!!"
SQUONK SQUONK SQUEE!!! SQUIDONK SQUIDONK DONK SQUEE!!!
"Thah daaahhhk of thah nye-eeeet izz lye-eeek my-eee sole-aaah!!!"
Mind Riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 08:06 AM   #9
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

I have the mixer aligned as in the video by Breeder, is there a way of making the fx a bit more visible with a border and a bigger font? Sorry to derail this a bit and sound newbie-ish, just trying to get the inspector just right!

StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:45 AM   #10
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
I have the mixer aligned as in the video by Breeder, is there a way of making the fx a bit more visible with a border and a bigger font? Sorry to derail this a bit and sound newbie-ish, just trying to get the inspector just right!

I had a similar problem, but with darker theme - my eyes got no guidance sweeping over mixer.
If you are a bit handy with zipping files and graphic editor you can modify theme to liking.

Two png files are of most importance and I made mini tut what I learned last in the sticky on top here:
http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26

png-files I modified
mcp_fxlist_norm.png
mcp_sendlist_norm.png
mcp_fxparm_bg.png
mcp_fxparm_norm.png
mcp_extmixbg.png
mcp_fxlist_empty.png
mcp_sendlist_empty.png

Just modifying colors and save, and reload images in Reaper running - and you can find what contrast good for you.

Maybe the theme experts has some further advice.

If not, look for another theme.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Now ditched Reaper 5.4 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:28 AM   #11
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Having a lot of trouble saving this inspector-style docked mixer, every time I load the project up again, it's reset the settings and I have to manually put them back in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
1. Dock the mixer to the left
2. Set desired default track layout in Screensets/Layout (from the View menu) (I personally find the Sidebar layout from the default theme best for this)
3. Set mixer's size so it's the same as single track width
4. Disable Show multiple row of tracks when size permits (right click the MCP master)
5. Enable Scroll view when tracks activated (right click the MCP master)
6. Dock master track separately to the right (right click the MCP master)
7. Save as window screenset so all the settings you just set get preserved
I'm not sure how to actually save the screenset?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 01:11 AM   #12
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

How do I keep the docked mixer configuration persistent?

Last edited by StuhRAH; 06-22-2017 at 02:31 AM.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 06:55 AM   #13
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Is there a way of saving the screenset?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 07:23 AM   #14
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,325
Default

Check out the videos linked at the top pf this page:

Features

Screensets - Window
Screensets - Track Views
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 12:10 AM   #15
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry P View Post
Check out the videos linked at the top pf this page:

Features

Screensets - Window
Screensets - Track Views
I looked there, and I also followed this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
In the View menu you'll find an entry called Screensets.

The Window tab in that window is the global screenset stuff that doesn't change from project to project. The Track View tab is project specific, so if you want to keep using the same ones from project to project, make sure they're already set up in a project template you use.

Track View will get you check-boxes for :
  • Track cursor position
  • Track scroll position
  • Horizontal zoom
  • Track heights
  • Track mixer status

The global Windows screensets get you:
  • Main window position
  • Tool window positions (all your other windows, including the docker)
  • Docker selected tab
  • Mixer flags (are inserts/sends/fx knobs visible or not for example)
  • Last focus (currently focused window gets focus when this screenset is called)
But I still cant get it to recall on project load?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 12:40 AM   #16
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
I looked there, and I also followed this:


But I still cant get it to recall on project load?
Maybe you have to live with to press a function key after loading Reaper - as a workaround until there might be a solution.

Load what you want on F7 key, as on Screensets/Layout->Windows tab.

On Layout tab there is a setting for Global Layout which just says default for me.

That is where I would look further. Myself, don't know exactly what differs on Layouts and Screensets. Since themes are highly customizable I recon there are options to set further or run a command action at start that do it for you.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Now ditched Reaper 5.4 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.