Old 12-17-2010, 02:59 PM   #81
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicroom View Post
I had Reaper open and was dragging/dropping media files when I inadvertently grabbed a Reaper Project file and dropped it on top of Reaper's TCP. Prompted and opened right up. Cool. (same practice worked with Sonar too).

_
yes and you could have opened it in a new project tab as well
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 03:03 PM   #82
musicroom
Human being with feelings
 
musicroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
yes and you could have opened it in a new project tab as well
I saw that, liked it! This a nice alternative way to audition projects.




_
__________________
http://www.davidmillersongs.com
musicroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 05:45 PM   #83
Crossworm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default alternatively

if anyone is like me, and not one single piece of this advice has worked for you...try this:

-if you can't view hidden files, open a folder for C:/ or your main hard drive.
-in the upper left corner click on "organize" (next to "views")
-in the drop down menu go to "folder and search options"
-click on the view tab
-click on "show hidden files and folders"

moving right along....

I found the application data in the following folder:

C:/Users/username/AppData/ROAMING/Reaper

make sure you can see the details and file types, and delete everything labeled "configuration settings". This will reset everything and allow you to open Reaper smoothly and reset all your custom settings.

It might be my version of Windows that made it this way. But it was a pain to find this, and I hope this helps anyone who has this prob.
Crossworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 01:59 PM   #84
markwhite007
Human being with feelings
 
markwhite007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Default

I'm new to reaper but, I was editing some vocal tracks the other night. I clicked on the last part of the lowest track (8 i think) which had been split several times. I then held the shift and clicked on the first part of the first vocal track (track 6). Presto, all parts of track 6, 7, & 8 were highlighted and I was able to move them all together to line them all up. I did not see this yet.

Mark
markwhite007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 04:07 AM   #85
moon
Human being with feelings
 
moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cyberia
Posts: 118
Default

With regard to post #1, this is a dead link;

http://www.reaper.fm/~pipeline/REAPERVideos/basics/
__________________
668.....the neighbour of the beast.
moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:38 PM   #86
sixxstrings2010
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Default New User

I'm very new to Reaper and would appreciate some help as all of you seem so very well educated on recording.

Currently, I mic my amp into a Tascam US-122 interface. I recorded 4 tracks today and rendered and there are a couple of issues. (1) Have to CRANK the volume to hear the recording and (2)there's a ton of noise, sounds like it's been recorded in a tin can. I've read some threads on ASIO and did DL'd it. However when I use that as my default under 'audio devices' I can't record, there's simply nothing being recorded. The only choice I seem to currently have is where it defauls to "direct sound".

Could someone at least give me some good guidance on this? And a decent set-up?

Thanks!
sixxstrings2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 09:54 PM   #87
nickMTH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default HELP: move item position independently

All i want to do, is be able left click on an item and drag to from left to right without the other items changing position. for some reason, when i click an item and drag it to the left, everything in the same track is dragged with it. this is becoming very bothersome and im certain there must be a way to change it. please help!
nickMTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 10:01 PM   #88
arbogast
Human being with feelings
 
arbogast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,106
Default

nickMTH. It Sounds like you have activated 'ripple editing'. Check the toolbar icons
__________________
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 2, Socket-1150 / Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD / Intel Core i7-4790, LGA1150, Quad Core / Crucial DDR3 BallistiX Sport 16GB KIT / RME Fireface UC
arbogast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:23 AM   #89
Reaperto
Human being with feelings
 
Reaperto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 455
Default Zoom&Time Selection with Right Click over an Item

Control + Alt + Right Click + Drag over an item: Zoom
Control or Alt + Right Click + Drag over an item: Make Time Selection
__________________
ReaLoaded!
Reaperto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:49 AM   #90
ed209
Human being with feelings
 
ed209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 705
Default

If you double click a floating vst it will place itself in the fx-chain window, also open it if it's not already. Just - like - magic.
__________________
Reaper x64 - Win10 x64
ed209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:44 AM   #91
buoya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

This is handy for any windows 7 users using reaper. Add a shortcut key to enable/disable Aero->

Disable Shortcut http://www.door2windows.com/how-to-a...-context-menu/

Enanble Shortcut http://www.door2windows.com/how-to-a...-context-menu/

buoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:20 AM   #92
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buoya View Post
This is handy for any windows 7 users using reaper. Add a shortcut key to enable/disable Aero->
I'm a Windows 7 user using Reaper. WTF is Aero?
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:22 PM   #93
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fex View Post
I'm a Windows 7 user using Reaper. WTF is Aero?
The fancy graphics theme on W7


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:03 PM   #94
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Ah. Thanx.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 04:03 AM   #95
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,509
Default

Or a chocolate bar.....

I had forgotten all about aero and the desktop apps thingy - turned it off on installation on both my W7 boxes as a complete waste of resources.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:54 PM   #96
Peter Richan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 156
Default EQing X-stick and Snare

Usually automate eq or per-item FX for a track that has drummer switching between X-stick and Snare, but mixed a song that had X-stick and a lot of snare fills, too much work to treat each one, so...
I inserted ReaEq and clicked on parameter/modulation/band#2/audio control signal/baseline value in the middle, audio track 1&2, fast attack, negative direction, and pulled down band #2 in the 400-500 hz area. Adjusted threshold and presto! X-stick is nice and full (untouched) and every time the snare hits, the mids are scooped and cleans up that boxy mid-range-y snare sound.
Huge time-saver, and it sounds really good!
Peter Richan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 05:49 PM   #97
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Jeez, is this the "make Fex feel like a total noob" thread?

Ok, ok.... if you would be so kind, WTF is X-stick?
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:53 PM   #98
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,040
Default X-stick...

is when a drummer uses his stick "cross-wise" on his snare to get the "side of the stick" sound resonating against the snare drum rim, as opposed to just whacking the snare drum head with the end of the stick. So, you know, "cross stick" (X-stick = Across the snare).
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:29 AM   #99
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Gotcha.... sorta.... I would really like to hear an example of a drummer switching between X-stick and snare, though; I job out my drum parts, so I've probably got a few of them myself, without knowing what it is I'm listening to.

I've really got to start looking into this parameter modulation wotsit....
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:27 AM   #100
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dea-man View Post
is when a drummer uses his stick "cross-wise" on his snare to get the "side of the stick" sound resonating against the snare drum rim, as opposed to just whacking the snare drum head with the end of the stick. So, you know, "cross stick" (X-stick = Across the snare).
Heh heh, so what's the difference between X-Stick and Side-Stick?

My old musician friends and I have always call Side-Stick:

With the butt end of the stick resting on the head while the other end of the stick (hanging over the rim) is raised and lowered hitting the rim.

Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:35 AM   #101
Peter Richan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 156
Default

Sorry, Cross-stick. I'm trying to think of a commercial release that you'd know... Elvis Costello's "Watching the Detectives" has Cross-sticks through-out the whole tune, with snare fills like machine-gun bursts in between the lyrics. This would be a good place to use parameter modulation. I always want the cross-stick to be full-sounding, but the same EQ rarely works for the snare sound. A full snare hit is much louder than a cross-stick, so you can use the volume difference (amplitude) to trigger the change in the EQ setting.
Peter Richan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:31 PM   #102
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
My old musician friends and I have always call Side-Stick:

With the butt end of the stick resting on the head while the other end of the stick (hanging over the rim) is raised and lowered hitting the rim.

Oh, that!

K, thanx, I get it now.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:46 PM   #103
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,040
Default Just me though........

Cross-stick (X-Stick) and Side-stick, to me, are the same thing.
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:50 PM   #104
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dea-man View Post
Cross-stick (X-Stick) and Side-stick, to me, are the same thing.
Ah okay, then of course comes the "Rim Shot".
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:09 PM   #105
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Pervert.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:11 PM   #106
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Ah okay, then of course comes the "Rim Shot".
Ba-dum, bum! (Splash!)
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:39 PM   #107
Peter Richan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 156
Default

Tips & Tricks or Tricks with your Tip? So glad these threads stay "on point"

-:
Peter Richan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 02:50 AM   #108
stumpbroke1
Human being with feelings
 
stumpbroke1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youn View Post
You can delete your own posts. Just click on "Edit" button and you'll where to do it on the top of the page.

OK, that's not a REAPER tip, but a tip nonetheless, admin can delete at will.
The previous post is a demonstration of this technique....
stumpbroke1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:43 AM   #109
djjedidiah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed209 View Post
If you double click a floating vst it will place itself in the fx-chain window, also open it if it's not already. Just - like - magic.
Can this work with 32 bit bridged plugins?
djjedidiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:54 PM   #110
Sonic Vampire
Human being with feelings
 
Sonic Vampire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Richan View Post
This would be a good place to use parameter modulation. I always want the cross-stick to be full-sounding, but the same EQ rarely works for the snare sound. A full snare hit is much louder than a cross-stick, so you can use the volume difference (amplitude) to trigger the change in the EQ setting.
i always split them to a separate track so i can treat them very differently.
Sonic Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:55 AM   #111
jazzman
Human being with feelings
 
jazzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 6
Default ALESIS PERFORMANCE PAD PRO

Hi All,

Could anybody please help me. I am trying to hook up my ALESIS PERFORMANCE PAD PRO to play midi drums. I just cant seem to get it working.

Thanks a mill for your help

Jay
__________________
The YellowMan
jazzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 03:31 PM   #112
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Ah okay, then of course comes the "Rim Shot".
I would say RIM too, but that's just me (and my wife)
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 03:35 PM   #113
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 932
Default

Tips?

Use a VU meter when your gain staging (recording) and mixing and compare you mix to a good sounding reference track. Get the reference hitting 0db on the VU and get your track hitting 0 too.

What sounds good after 13 days of mixing on headphones might not actually sound good in a mix in the car!
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:41 AM   #114
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default The Synth You Forgot You Had

Windows users....

Here's how to use Micro$oft/Roland's much maligned Wavetable synthesizer in Reaper, so it actually works.

Grab yourself a free soundfont player.
Navigate it's browser to C:\Windows\
Search that folder for "sf2"
I'm on Windows 7, 64 bit, and it's at
C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Don't knock it. Used well, with the right FX chain, it's a very powerful General MIDI synth and drum machine.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:20 AM   #115
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,509
Default

[QUOTE=Fex;898855]Windows users....

Here's how to use Micro$oft/Roland's much maligned Wavetable synthesizer in Reaper, so it actually works.

Grab yourself a free soundfont player.
Navigate it's browser to C:\Windows\
Search that folder for "sf2"
I'm on Windows 7, 64 bit, and it's at
C:\Windows\SysWOW64

Don't knock it. Used well, with the right FX chain, it's a very powerful General MIDI synth and drum machine.[/QUOTE


(I can't resist) Apart from sounding like Ar$e.....

But I suppose I shall have to try this now.

*sigh*

Just when I thought I had run out of excuses for not making any music....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 11:26 AM   #116
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
(I can't resist) Apart from sounding like Ar$e...
You're missing a [

I think it has an undeservedly bad rep. We're only used to hearing it play cheesy songs on cheesy websites; it's very annoying. But when would anybody who knows anything about this thing of ours make a song using just one synth, and no FX, unless it was to demo the synth? Most of our favourite synths would sound bad in that context.

Anyway, people are forever asking where they can get GM sets, so I just thought I'd point out that Windows users already have a perfectly good one.

Now some Mac head will probably say that they've all got three....
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 05:58 PM   #117
Cosmic
Human being with feelings
 
Cosmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 4,612
Default

I've been having savage pitch problems and was in bad need of a bit of reverb in the cans to help sort it out...

This is useful if latency is an issue and you monitor direct from the sound card.Arm two tracks and install reverb on one with the 'verb at 100% wet.You get the direct sound as normal and the reverb from track two coming outta reaper..the latency dosent matte on the reverb..cant notice it.Best of both worlds.I'm nailing every take pitch perfect since I started doing it.
__________________
it aint worth a bop,if it dont got that pop
Cosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:25 PM   #118
bob newsome
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I downloaded reaper 3 on my laptop but am unable to hear any sound from any of my files. What should I do?
bob newsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:05 PM   #119
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob newsome View Post
I downloaded reaper 3 on my laptop but am unable to hear any sound from any of my files. What should I do?
Post some system specs. Tell us what sort of files you're talking about. But not here - start a new thread in newbieland.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:30 AM   #120
Gerry G
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Antipodes
Posts: 1,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Gaz Le Rock View Post
I've been having savage pitch problems the latency dosent matte on the reverb..cant notice it.Best of both worlds.I'm nailing every take pitch perfect since I started doing it.
Here is a good one for pitch in the cans. Do a fairly severe high pass or just cut a lot from the bass.

I think it is something to do with Fletcher Munson but a lot of otherwise great singers go flat and it is because the bass makes us sing lower particularly if it is coming from an extremely close source.

Ah here it is set out along with a comment that too much reverb can cause problems for vocalists: http://www.recordingeq.com/rw/tip01.htm
Gerry G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.