COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 05-20-2010, 01:36 AM   #41
gsbe
Human being with feelings
 
gsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lexington, VA
Posts: 42
Default

Same issue here with the ExpertSleepers AU ninjam plugin. It crashes after 15 minutes using Ableton Live 8...

That's a bummer because it was pretty easy to setup and get running. I guess the only other option for a Mac is using a soundcard with multiple outputs or Rewire with Reaper...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zef View Post
I've been playing with the ExpertSleepers AU ninjam plugin and it works ok.

However, the host application (Ableton Live 7) constantly and consistently crashes after about 15 minutes.

Anyone have any suggestions on geting ninjam to work properly on Mac Os 10.5 using Ableton Live?
gsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 12:22 PM   #42
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

There's a JACK implementation for MACOS, right? Can you link audio apps up:
Reason -> JACK -> NINJAM standalone
like that?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 03:54 PM   #43
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Well googling around and following a few pages to pages I found this for you.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1215

The original question was answered by EdwardPayne at this link.
http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/e...cable-mac.html

This seems to show how to combine multiple devices as one, I imagine it simulates such an effect but may help your problem.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 02:16 PM   #44
RONN_U2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default NINJAM in REAPER Dual Mode

Heyy folks, I recently got a vid up on youtube that explains how to set up REAPER for NINJAM in a double channel mode (more channels can be added, but bandwith will be compromised)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oek0JMJ78EI

Hope this helps, thanks :P
RONN_U2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:15 AM   #45
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

http://www.thepcclub.co.uk/ReaNINJAM-AudioRoute.JPG

Andy, your pic's died.

-edit-
Here's my attempt:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NINJAMRouting.jpg (53.8 KB, 1230 views)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.

Last edited by pljones; 02-27-2011 at 12:30 PM. Reason: have I really nothing better to do?
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 05:28 PM   #46
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Yeah, is my domain but another company took over and offered no way of renewing it so it just went dead on login then domain vanished eventually.

It might be worth changing NINJAM Client to Master Vol then put FX under that with arrow to the NINJAM Client, cos reaninjam sits on the master fx and AUDIO OUT maybe have REAPER somewhere there, will help people image the whole thing better. Oh also you could put VST above MIDI to Audio and helps show where a VST sits in the equation.

But that does show the route of through NINJAM.

I'll try find that pic again on the hd, not sure if it will let me edit it now though.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:43 AM   #47
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zef View Post
I've been playing with the ExpertSleepers AU ninjam plugin and it works ok.

However, the host application (Ableton Live 7) constantly and consistently crashes after about 15 minutes.

Anyone have any suggestions on geting ninjam to work properly on Mac Os 10.5 using Ableton Live?

i am not sure if you have fixed this problem, but you can just use the soundflower program

http://cycling74.com/products/soundflower/

to link the audio out from Abelton to the audio in of ninjam.

worked for me fine - you will have to set up preferences in LIVE and also in Ninjam.

enjoy!
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 06:15 PM   #48
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Hiya all, I'm on Twitter as well now so you can link up with me there too if ya need to get hold of me.

http://twitter.com/andymccance
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:46 AM   #49
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Too hard for me.I can connect to ninjam but all I want is too record them and record my midi input playing a software instrument.
Any noob guide on that?

I'm not very tech.
I'm a musician.

I got lost.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:36 AM   #50
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Why are the files ogg files and why are they so tiny and why are they stored in ten different folders?
I don't get ninjam.
Do you need to have record on the transport going or it just streams the audio to those 10 or so folders?

Still don't know if I'm getting a signal or not.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:12 AM   #51
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

To use the recordings:

1) Use Reaper.
2) In Reaper, do File->Open Project..., then navigate to the folder where those ten folders with the tiny ogg files live.
3) Select "clipsort.log", say yes to the question and wait...


To join a jam:

1) Use Reaper (or you'll get little help, unfortunately).
2) Use the set up details in this thread.
3) If you're on one of the ninbot.com servers, you can use "nb levels" to see what the current levels the bot is hearing are. If you're not showing anything, the bot can't hear you.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.

Last edited by pljones; 06-10-2013 at 10:19 AM.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:59 PM   #52
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

I'm a reaper user.

Thanks for the info.
Still don't know if I have the live jamming bit set up properly but I do see some wav action in the files.

P.S. just checked all my ninjam sessions and couldn't find any of my recordings only others in the same session.
How do I configure a vst instrument midi track to record in ninjam?

Noob terms so I can follow?

I created a ninjam track then I created a midi track for my vsti.
I then added the recieve of the vsti track in the ninjam track.

Is that right?

Couldn't get it to work sorry.

I could see the metre going but no one could hear me.
Bugger.

Anyone with a step by step guide for dumbarses like me?

I have been using Reaper before version 1 was released.

Just wanted to have some fun with this function.

Last edited by smasha; 06-10-2013 at 11:25 PM.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:31 PM   #53
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
Above applies to hardware or software audio feeds into Reaper. For MIDI feeds with virtual instruments hosted in Reaper, you need to add a step 5.2 (dropping 5 and 5.1 if not needed).

5.2) As ever, create a track, setting it to "monitor track input while recording" and "record disable (input monitor only)", arm the track and turn on monitoring. The track also needs to accept MIDI input from your device -- right-click->MIDI Inputs->All MIDI Inputs->All Channels is a good starting point. Now, click the FX button to insert track FX and select your virtual instrument. When you play your MIDI device, you should see a small red square appear at the left end of the track meter and hear some output.
Don't understand this.

Record disable then arm the track part.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:46 PM   #54
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

I think I know what I'm doing wrong.

Ninjam channel should be set to normal ninjam instead of session mode.

Mine default to session mode which I don't understand why?

Last edited by smasha; 06-11-2013 at 12:00 AM.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:16 AM   #55
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

I've never used anything other than "normal" mode, so that's not something I can explain. The ninbot plugin generally seems to default to the last settings you used (regardless of project - it lives in its own world...).

The only reason I can think it's not saving settings is that its settings are in a folder you don't have write permission on (for example, under "C:\Program Files"). You could try installing somewhere else to avoid that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:34 AM   #56
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
I've never used anything other than "normal" mode, so that's not something I can explain. The ninbot plugin generally seems to default to the last settings you used (regardless of project - it lives in its own world...).

The only reason I can think it's not saving settings is that its settings are in a folder you don't have write permission on (for example, under "C:\Program Files"). You could try installing somewhere else to avoid that.
That's what it was.Working fine now.
Just had a big session with Karmaleon playing kb drums lol.
Great fun but I'm better with sticks than fingers.

P.S. Just one problem.
My files come out as mono instead of stereo.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 10:42 AM   #57
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smasha View Post
Thanks for solving a problem I had.
I ticked the "save as wavs" box and my session came out in mono.

Will untick that confounded box now.
ReaNINJAM allows you to configure a channel as MONO. Check you have "Stereo 1/2" selected in the drop down next to "Xmit". This will consume the first two input channels that you're feeding your Master output (where you have ReaNINJAM inserted) to go to NINJAM.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:52 PM   #58
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
ReaNINJAM allows you to configure a channel as MONO. Check you have "Stereo 1/2" selected in the drop down next to "Xmit". This will consume the first two input channels that you're feeding your Master output (where you have ReaNINJAM inserted) to go to NINJAM.
I'm pretty certain I had the channel set to 1/2 stereo.
smasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 11:33 AM   #59
Nickmanak
Human being with feelings
 
Nickmanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Try this pdf guide for ninjam in reaper. I am sure you 'll get the technical.

http://www.freewebs.com/arxeia/Ninjam_User_Guide.pdf
__________________
Ninjam User Guide in Pdf
Nickmanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 10:34 PM   #60
WaterRitual
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Gates of Delirium
Posts: 51
Default Problems with ReaNinjam

Some installations won't even find ReaNINJAM as a valid plugin.

Currently, I get full response on Reaper in the meters, but nothing appears in ReaNinjam, whether I diretcy it from a different track or I put it on a single track. Always, the signal from my interface (m-audio or Presonus). I cannot get the signal to go through to ReaNinjam, though I have already been doing so for years.

- WR
WaterRitual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 11:16 PM   #61
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

Both of the set ups you describe are not in line with the recommended approach. Put ReaNINJAM on your Master out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:31 AM   #62
Chris4943
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 74
Default

So thanks to this sticky I'm up and running on ReaNinjam. But I've got 2 things I'd really like to sort out but can't figure out:

1) How do I send my tracks to Ninjam without monitoring them? I usually don't monitor my vocal tracks because I'm running them through my I/O's hardware for zero latency. If I have to turn on monitoring I get very annoying latency.
I have found a workaround, but it seems kinda overly redundant. If I set the Master to 4 channels, create a 2nd track with the same input as the 1st but with the monitoring on and parent channels 3/4, I can then go to Ninjam and set the local track to 3/4, and in the Ninjam fx plugin control window I can set the router to output 1 and 2 but not 3 and 4. Seems like a lot for just not wanting to hit the monitor button right?

Ok, secondly: How can I record just the incoming tracks from OTHER musicians to a dedicated track in Reaper without anything else? I realize Reaper saves the tracks for mixing later, but I don't wanna mix later, I wanna mix now! I tried the version where I put ReaNinjam on its own track and not the Master, but it picks up incoming AND my local tracks. I just want the other musician's tracks all by themselves without me on the track. Actually, if there's say, 2 other musicians in the room, I'd like to record them each on their own track. Is there a way to do this or do I just gotta wait til I'm done and then go in and get the clipsort file?
__________________
Podcast/Live Call-in Online Radio Show: Tascam US 16x08 / MacBook Air 2013 / Reaper V5 / Soundflower / Mixlr / Skype / 4 xlr Condenser Mics / iPhone TRRS mic-speaker splitter

Last edited by Chris4943; 11-17-2015 at 12:37 AM.
Chris4943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 11:04 AM   #63
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 576
Default

ReaNINJAM should be an insert effect on your Master channel. There's no point putting it anywhere else, really.

Turn off direct monitoring. You must only hear your audio through NINJAM to be in time with the click and hence in time with everyone else. Reduce your buffer size from 512 to 64 to reduce the latency.

For multi-track recording, go into ReaNINJAM, File, Preferences and turn it on.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.