Old 11-06-2015, 02:08 PM   #1
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default Fusion Theme - RJ Mod

Hi, some of you might already know that this theme is a default V4 based mod, originally created by Arsen.

I'm not exclusively using the theme, but kinda sad to see it left with a little bit unfinished. So i decided to fix some bugs that i found, and also change some things to fit my taste.







Quick highlights:

- Default master TCP now available.

- Fix center transport control. (hopefully..)

- Add 3 types of "separator" layouts: blank, name&num, and basic controls.

- Fix purple square on upper docked window.

- Change font from Open Sans bold to semibold, to fix the uppercase "i" problem.

- New toolbar style, back to default icons. More familiar to me.

- Track coloring method is now following V5, *EDIT: i just tested it in a portable V4.75, and everything is good. So i guess V4.xx user still can use the theme.

V1.1

- Update/change layout "Default MCP - Scale" and "Default MCP - Scale CP" (Color Panel) with wider panel and meter size, clears readout value cropping.

- Fix MCP icon background color to match TCP's.

- Other small fixes

V1.2

- added TCP layout with vertical meter "Default VM" and "Default VM - Scale" with meter scale (experimental).

- added MCP layout "Sidebar". Also added alt. version with meter scale.

- added master TCP layout "Metermorph".

- added MCP and master MCP layout "ListView".

Note: I use this "ListView" layout to quickly find and open the fx, as an alternative for ProTools' track fx. For those who prefer to do everything on TCP might benefit from this mixer layout.

- some fixes.

-- changed supercollapsed track's size from 10 px back to default, 4 px.

Quick Preview (Click to enlarge)



DOWNLOAD


Many changes are quite subtle to notice, so i wrote down a (long) note on stash description for those who wants to know.

Credits and Thanks goes to Arsen for his time and work, and thanks for all users who helped him finishing the beta version.


Have fun.

-Redjoy

Last edited by crimsonmerry; 07-16-2017 at 07:42 AM.
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 06:42 PM   #2
johnnynash
Human being with feelings
 
johnnynash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
Default

Many thanks for this!
johnnynash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 09:23 PM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,368
Default

Wow, looking great on my macbook retina ; thanks very much for the great effort !

EDIT: I just noticed that i can't color a Track's background in TCP.
In Reaper's preferences i have the option enabled "Tint Trackpanel backgrounds"

So is this not possible in this Theme ?
Would be a bummer ..

Last edited by vanhaze; 11-06-2015 at 10:33 PM.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 01:25 AM   #4
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
EDIT: I just noticed that i can't color a Track's background in TCP.
In Reaper's preferences i have the option enabled "Tint Trackpanel backgrounds"

So is this not possible in this Theme ?
Would be a bummer ..
It supposed to be possible. That's strange. I just checked it and it worked. I also got the "tint track panel bg" option enabled.




I don't have any access to another computer right now. I'll update when i find what might cause the problem.
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:11 AM   #5
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,368
Default

Thank you very much !

Would love to see it fixed.

Meanwhile, i tried it in a clean project and same issue
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 08:51 AM   #6
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 873
Default

Vey nice!
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 01:33 AM   #7
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 667
Default

wOWOWOW, Tvm for the share. This one is pretty neat and clean.
__________________
ISN'T team play grand?
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 09:46 AM   #8
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,502
Default

Wow. New default for me.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 12:03 PM   #9
TheWhistler
Human being with feelings
 
TheWhistler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Eight miles high.....
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sightlessness View Post
wOWOWOW, Tvm for the share. This one is pretty neat and clean.
I stumbled across your signature. Interesting project. I never heard about that, but can say that I can agree with a lot of the ideas that are describe there.
TheWhistler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 03:46 PM   #10
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWhistler View Post
I stumbled across your signature. Interesting project. I never heard about that, but can say that I can agree with a lot of the ideas that are describe there.
Yeah, I mean, that is awesome (that you took the time to read something about it).
I don't say it's the end all be all, but as you mentioned, lots of ideas are pretty neat. I am pro human equality: Can't we all get along just fine? (I remember being 5 y. old and suffer coz there were wars out there, somewhere.... it never made sense to me at all). I really wish WP to everyone (I sound like miss universe here, haha)
__________________
ISN'T team play grand?
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:13 PM   #11
pattonfreak1
Human being with feelings
 
pattonfreak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,198
Default

Awesome. Thanks so much
pattonfreak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 10:37 AM   #12
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
EDIT: I just noticed that i can't color a Track's background in TCP.
In Reaper's preferences i have the option enabled "Tint Trackpanel backgrounds"
i tested it on a windows 8 laptop with reaper 5.04, same problem, tcp background isnt tinting.
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:01 PM   #13
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Have you tried the Color Panel layouts? There's one for the TCP, one for the MCP.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:31 PM   #14
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

i tried doing exactly what crimsonmerry was doing in his example gif, didnt work
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:34 PM   #15
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Have you tried the Color Panel layouts? There's one for the TCP, one for the MCP.
Sorry, thanx for the help, but i don't have a clue what you mean ... (rookie).

I suffer from the same problem of not being able to color the TCP track backgrounds in this theme ..
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:46 PM   #16
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Options menu, Layouts. This theme has several different layouts both for TCP and MCP. One of the layouts for both is Color Panel. If you select that layout, the whole panels should get the selected color, not just the track ID panes.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 04:14 AM   #17
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

but the problem is the theme is meant to support proper TCP tinting, as demonstrated by the gif crimsonmerry posted. i would much rather this work properly, than using different layouts to achieve a very limited set of prefab colors.
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 07:57 AM   #18
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewjumpsoffbuildings View Post
i would much rather this work properly, than using different layouts to achieve a very limited set of prefab colors.
?
You are talking about a totally different theme now, or haven't even tried it yet? As for crimsonmerry demonstrating the "proper" TCP tinting, please check what layout he is using for the Track Panel in his screencap.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 08:04 AM   #19
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

oh i see, you have to change the layout in the TCP and MCP to allow the tinting to happen... working now.

question - why wouldnt the tintable ones be the default/only option? they look much better than the non-tintable ones.
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 08:07 AM   #20
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

another thing, the dialogues in reaper always look really ugly with a bg color that is anything other than the default... eg:



can this be changed somewhere in preferences or is it a setting in the walter?
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 09:13 AM   #21
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

If you mean the (dialog) window frames, their colors are defined by the OS, not Reaper. The actual window background colors can be changed in Theme tweaker. You can open it from the Actions list, type "theme tweak" to the filter to find it easier. After tweaking the colors to your liking, remember to save your tweaked theme (with a different name, perhaps). Please note, not all background colors can be changed. Also, when making the changes, you may have to close and reopen the given windows to see them with the updated colors.

About your previous question. It would be a pretty simple mod to make the layout defaults allow tinting. Currently the default TCP/MCP panel images are not transparent but for the Color Panel layout they are. Inside the theme package is a folder called fullcolor with the following panel images: tcp_bg.png, tcp_bgsel.png, mcp_bg.png, mcp_bgsel.png. Replacing the general layout images under the main image folder with those from the fullcolor folder would make the default tintable.


Finally, it feels kinda fitting but a bit funny talking about mods in a topic about a modified theme. Crimsonmerry, thanks for your original finishing touches and mods.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 09:44 AM   #22
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Options menu, Layouts. This theme has several different layouts both for TCP and MCP. One of the layouts for both is Color Panel. If you select that layout, the whole panels should get the selected color, not just the track ID panes.
Xpander, you are my Hero of the Day.
Thanks so much !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 10:47 AM   #23
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Crimsonmerry, thanks for your original finishing touches and mods.
BIG thanks for helping me with your detailed explanation you kind sir

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewjumpsoffbuildings View Post
question - why wouldnt the tintable ones be the default/only option? they look much better than the non-tintable ones.
It's just a matter of taste, i guess. and also this is something i've waited for so long in theming, that can't be -easily- done in V4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Xpander, you are my Hero of the Day.
Thanks so much !
My hero too! for revealing the "mistery"...
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 11:46 AM   #24
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Oh, you're too kind, fellows.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 12:52 PM   #25
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,368
Default

No, we are not.. you are one of the many people here in this community who
is incredibly helpful , always, and has insane Reaper knowledge; RESPECT !!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:21 PM   #26
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 387
Default

yea thanks for the info, and also the work on the theme itself
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook arraytheband.com.au
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 01:10 PM   #27
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 354
Default

Great work! Lots of improvements / fixes to an already good theme!

Any chance of getting the peak value in the mixer to fit better or a slightly wider mixer layout for better spacing?

Thank you for your efforts! B)
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 07:23 PM   #28
Aditya.inHim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bandung, Indonesia
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you for this.. btw, I am from Indonesia too.. salam kenal sesama pengguna reaper

God bless
Aditya.inHim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 04:43 AM   #29
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by +NRG View Post
Any chance of getting the peak value in the mixer to fit better or a slightly wider mixer layout for better spacing?
Hi, i just updated the theme, check "Default MCP - Scale" layout.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aditya.inHim View Post
Thank you for this.. btw, I am from Indonesia too.. salam kenal sesama pengguna reaper
Whoa it's rare to see other Indonesians here. Salam kenal juga Adit
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 07:09 AM   #30
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 354
Default

Awesome! Thank you! B)
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 04:07 PM   #31
Rick Settle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonmerry View Post
Hi, some of you might already know that this theme is a default V4 based mod, originally created by Arsen.

I'm not exclusively using the theme, but kinda sad to see it left with a little bit unfinished. So i decided to fix some bugs that i found, and also change some things to fit my taste.







Quick highlights:

- Default master TCP now available.

- Fix center transport control. (hopefully..)

- Add 3 types of "separator" layouts: blank, name&num, and basic controls.

- Fix purple square on upper docked window.

- Change font from Open Sans bold to semibold, to fix the uppercase "i" problem. Not sure why it's happen.

- New toolbar style, back to default icons. More familiar to me.

- Track coloring method is now following V5, *EDIT: i just tested it in a portable V4.75, and everything is good. So i guess V4.xx user still can use the theme.

V1.1

- Update/change layout "Default MCP - Scale" and "Default MCP - Scale CP" (Color Panel) with wider panel and meter size, clears readout value cropping.

- Fix MCP icon background color to match TCP's.

- Other small fixes


DOWNLOAD


Many changes are quite subtle to notice, so i wrote down a (long) note on stash description for those who wants to know.

Credits and Thanks goes to Arsen for his time and work, and thanks for all users who helped him finishing the beta version.


Have fun.

-Redjoy
I really like the Fusion theme. It is now my default. I like the ability to insert blanks between tracks. There seems to be a problem with inserting them, but I've found workarounds.

For instance, if I insert a blank between tracks 4 and 5 in the MCP, track 5 disappears. The same sort of thing happens in the TCP. The workaround is to insert 2 empty tracks at the end, insert the blank, move the blank where I want it and then delete the 2 empty tracks.

Other than this problem, I've come to enjoy using this theme.

rick
Rick Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 01:47 AM   #32
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Settle View Post
I like the ability to insert blanks between tracks. There seems to be a problem with inserting them, but I've found workarounds.

For instance, if I insert a blank between tracks 4 and 5 in the MCP, track 5 disappears. The same sort of thing happens in the TCP. The workaround is to insert 2 empty tracks at the end, insert the blank, move the blank where I want it and then delete the 2 empty tracks.
Hi, don't know if i understand the problem correctly, but i guess the reason track 5 dissapear when you insert a "blank" before it, it's because a "separator" is just a normal track, only coded without buttons, meter,etc. So Reaper will count it as a functioning track. In your example, that new blank track between track no 4 and 5 will be count as track no 5, and track 5 will be changed into track 6.

If that wasn't the case, posting a Licecap maybe?
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 06:50 PM   #33
Rick Settle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonmerry View Post
Hi, don't know if i understand the problem correctly, but i guess the reason track 5 dissapear when you insert a "blank" before it, it's because a "separator" is just a normal track, only coded without buttons, meter,etc. So Reaper will count it as a functioning track. In your example, that new blank track between track no 4 and 5 will be count as track no 5, and track 5 will be changed into track 6.

If that wasn't the case, posting a Licecap maybe?

Like I said, it isn't a really big problem. I can work around it.

I work with both the TCP and MCP at the same time, since I only work with a vocal channel as track 1, a Music Left channel as track 2, a Music Right channel as track 3, an EQ send channel as track 4 and a Reverb channel as track 5.

If I try to put the mouse cursor between track 3 and 4 and open up the Track Layout to insert a blank, the blank will be inserted but usually the 4 track will disappear from the MCP. Ctr Z of course brings it back and removed the blank. I can do a workaround by inserting two more tracks to the right, 6 and 7, and insert the blank between. Track 7 disappears, but I can then drag the blank where ever I want it. When I drag the blank to where I want it, track 7 does not re-appear.

These same things happen in the TCP.
Rick Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 12:50 PM   #34
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

Rick, it seems like there is something else happening there. Just inserting a track doesn't make other tracks to disappear, no matter what theme is used.

When you add two extra tracks to the 5 you already have, you naturally have 7 tracks total, correct? Now the mystery part, "inserting a blank". There is no such action in Reaper so I assume you either;
a) insert yet another track and use the blank layout for it. The total number of tracks is now 8, but the one using the blank layout doesn't show its number.
b) change the layout of one of the existing tracks to blank, the total number of tracks is 7. Again, the track using the blank layout doesn't show its number.

Now, depending on where you move the blank track, that is the track which doesn't show the number. IOW, all the tracks will always have a track number assigned to them, blank track layouts may have just been made so that they won't show it. As it happens, Fusion theme also has a layout called Separator 2 - Name & Num. if you use that one, do you still have tracks disappearing?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 02:49 PM   #35
Rick Settle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Rick, it seems like there is something else happening there. Just inserting a track doesn't make other tracks to disappear, no matter what theme is used.

When you add two extra tracks to the 5 you already have, you naturally have 7 tracks total, correct? Now the mystery part, "inserting a blank". There is no such action in Reaper so I assume you either;
a) insert yet another track and use the blank layout for it. The total number of tracks is now 8, but the one using the blank layout doesn't show its number.
b) change the layout of one of the existing tracks to blank, the total number of tracks is 7. Again, the track using the blank layout doesn't show its number.

Now, depending on where you move the blank track, that is the track which doesn't show the number. IOW, all the tracks will always have a track number assigned to them, blank track layouts may have just been made so that they won't show it. As it happens, Fusion theme also has a layout called Separator 2 - Name & Num. if you use that one, do you still have tracks disappearing?
Okay. It was just the way I was implementing the blank. For some reason, I was thinking that I was 'inserting' a blank, when in actuality, I was changing a track the was already there into a blank. Makes sense, now that I think it through. It's really a moot point. I have the layout I want saved as my default. But, at least now I know how I should have done it.

Thanks.
Rick Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 02:53 PM   #36
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,756
Default

You're welcome, good that you have it working.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 01:40 PM   #37
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 873
Default

I was wondering: Why is the upper 40% of a coloured item in a slightly different colour intensity?
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 11:06 PM   #38
crimsonmerry
Human being with feelings
 
crimsonmerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
I was wondering: Why is the upper 40% of a coloured item in a slightly different colour intensity?
Ah now i remember, the itembg was copied from my other custom theme (WIP), who has "shiny" elements on it's track and mixer design, that matches the item bg. I'll make a new one. Thanks for the reminder.

*Edit: Theme updated. Replaced the itembg with a new -not so different- one.

Last edited by crimsonmerry; 11-23-2015 at 12:57 AM.
crimsonmerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 07:32 AM   #39
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 873
Default

Awesome, thanks!
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 03:51 AM   #40
chrisdodge
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Close to be my favorite theme! Good work ! Nice, clean and very good looking !


The things i would like to add are :
- Having the folder control on the separator basic and separator name + val (tcp and mixer)
- Having the FX button on the separator basic (tcp and mixer)

Last edited by chrisdodge; 11-24-2015 at 04:50 AM.
chrisdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.