Old 01-27-2017, 07:51 AM   #1
Ansio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Default Automation vertical zoom

The center for vertical zoom can only be a track. When I want to zoom close to automation I first have to zoom into a track and then move up or down to the automation. It would be much faster if automation could be the center of vertical zoom and one could zoom directly into it.
Ansio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 01:01 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,490
Default

When you have SWS Extensions installed, you have numerous Actions, regarding
vertical and horizontal zoom of a selected Envelope.

Now, i don't know how your workflow regarding envelope editing is
(for instance, do you work with envelope lanes or envelopes in media lane ?)

But i can imagine, nevertheless, that you can quite accomplish what you want
with the help of these various SWS envelope zoom Actions.

Maybe build a custom action which incoorporates 1 or more of these Actions.
Depends also if you first make a Time Selection around the envelope area you want to zoom, or not.

Sorry, to be maybe vague, but it would help if you could explain your workflow abit more.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 09:36 AM   #3
Ansio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
When you have SWS Extensions installed, you have numerous Actions, regarding
vertical and horizontal zoom of a selected Envelope.

Now, i don't know how your workflow regarding envelope editing is
(for instance, do you work with envelope lanes or envelopes in media lane ?)

But i can imagine, nevertheless, that you can quite accomplish what you want
with the help of these various SWS envelope zoom Actions.

Maybe build a custom action which incoorporates 1 or more of these Actions.
Depends also if you first make a Time Selection around the envelope area you want to zoom, or not.

Sorry, to be maybe vague, but it would help if you could explain your workflow abit more.
I use envelope lanes. The problem is that when I want to zoom to automation the view jumps so that the track is under the cursor and the envelope lane is under it, and then I'll have to scroll down. SWS actions seem useful for specific tasks but I can't find a way to simply change the scroll wheel vertical zoom center to the track OR envelope lane under cursor, which I think would be easy and logical. The one action that changes track or envelope height under mouse cursor is not perfect either. I guess REAPER handles automation as a part of the track in question.

Just nitpicking, no need to try to find a solution for me
Ansio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:17 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,490
Default

Here is what i tried and the outcome would suit your needs, if i understand you correctly.
(Forgive me my ignorance if you already tried this though):

- I set Time Selection.
- I open Volume Envelope for a Track. (opens in its own lane).
- I execute the Action: "SWS/wol: Full zoom selected envelope in time selection"

Outcome for me:

The Volume Envelope lane is vertically zoomed in so it fills my whole screen.
I don't have to scroll down, the scroll is automatically done so it seems:
i have the Volume envelope lane directly in front of me,
Ready to be edited ( the Track itself is not visible anymore, cause of the "autoscroll" the Action did.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:30 AM   #5
Ansio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Default

I tried it, it seems to be the fastest option currently but i think it would still be faster to just ctrl+Mousewheel, no time selection involved. Thanks for helping though
Ansio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:39 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,490
Default

You're welcome :0)

You know, i could make a Custom Action for you, that will disable the need to first having to set
a Time Selection.
You could simply "trigger" that Action with a custom keybind, no need to mouse drag to zoom vertically (mouse dragging is one of the most time consuming actions in software, so avoid at all times is my credo).

The only thing i need to know is, how much do you actually horizontally zoom in, before you want to edit an envelope ?

For example, are you maybe first horizontally zooming in by the length of an Item, under which you
want to edit an envelope ? (so the Item is zoomed in horizontally that much , that it fills the whole screen horizontally, from left to right)

If that's the case, making such a Custom Action would be even more do-able :0)
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:56 AM   #7
Ansio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks for offering, I think I can do that myself if I need to Set time selection to items > (Maybe some envelope selection) > Full zoom selected envelope in time selection.
Ansio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 12:20 PM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,490
Default

Exactly :0)
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.