Old 05-24-2017, 11:39 AM   #41
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
"An inkjet printer and a pen are the same things, there is nothing an inkjet printer can do that pens cant"
They both have their own place and their own strengths, but are similar in the same way that a Guitar is similar to Reaper.
WARNING! Do not insert this device in your nasal or oral orifices.

So there are in fact things that both an inkjet printer and a pen are NOT recommended/advised for...




__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 08:00 PM   #42
Alxi
Human being with feelings
 
Alxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozman View Post
I'd be ok with having some kind of action that can send a sample from the arrangement into a third-party sampler, like TAL Sampler or Kontakt.

There's a host of features that are desired for the native sampler.
For sample-based midi production, it's currently best to use a third-party sampler.

What I do now is use an action to view a selected media item in the Media Explorer. That way, I can drag from the Media Explorer to the sampler and not have to duplicate the sample a second time (being that I have Reaper copy samples to project directory upon importing to arrangement.

I'd prefer to simply use an action to have my sample quickly sitting in TAL Sampler or Kontakt (quicker), but I'm appreciative still.

I don't know if it's be said here before but you can ctrl+alt+ drag your sample into your sampler directly from reaper's timeline.

I do most of my choping and stretching in reaper then i drag the slices into Battery 3 to play them on my midi keyboard.
Alxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:43 PM   #43
winbe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alxi View Post
I don't know if it's be said here before but you can ctrl+alt+ drag your sample into your sampler directly from reaper's timeline.

I do most of my choping and stretching in reaper then i drag the slices into Battery 3 to play them on my midi keyboard.
yep, I said this, but the answer was that it generates many "rendered" wave files... I understand that this is not ideal.
__________________
Cedric Simon aka FrozenjaZz
Fresh beats - www.frozenjazz.com
winbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:03 AM   #44
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 319
Default

That is why I import the sample (drag from Media Explorer) onto the Arrangment (which brings the sample into my Project directory). Then I call the action to view the file in the Media Explorer (I use Shift + Enter). I then drag it from there into my sampler.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:44 AM   #45
rcl
Human being with feelings
 
rcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bahia,Brazil
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozman View Post
That is why I import the sample (drag from Media Explorer) onto the Arrangment (which brings the sample into my Project directory). Then I call the action to view the file in the Media Explorer (I use Shift + Enter). I then drag it from there into my sampler.


Thanks for that tip. That saves a few cumbersome steps.
__________________
We didnt jump the fence because the grass was greener. We jumped it because it was a fence.
https://scrubbingmonkeys.bandcamp.com/
rcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 02:20 PM   #46
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 409
Default

Entirely possible. Reaper 5 is the fastest software I've ever used for all genres of music, but especially sample-based music (hip-hop/trip-hop). Chopping samples is a breeze... if you're a Windows user, get the Poise plugin (www.onesmallclue.com) and an AKAI MPD218. It will change your life, all for $150.

Happy to help you with anything producing stuff like this...... PM me your questions.

I bought Maschine years ago, and mostly use the controller in MIDI mode, not even the Maschine software, because I find Reaper easier for producing hip-hop and stuff like that. I mean, yeah.. Maschine is fine, but I don't know.. Reaper's just ridiculous.

Say I sample some vinyl... it's so easy to stretch it to match my project tempo, by chopping the start/end points manually in Reaper, then ALT-DRAGging the media item, to get it in time with a click track... once it is, I glue it within the time selection, and instantly have a loop that fits in time with the project. Ridiculous.

I've been wanting to do a video tutorial of this stuff for a long time... again hit me up via PM with any questions.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 12:46 PM   #47
Alxi
Human being with feelings
 
Alxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winbe View Post
yep, I said this, but the answer was that it generates many "rendered" wave files... I understand that this is not ideal.
Ah i see.
May i ask how and why many rendered wav. files is not ideal ??
Alxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 05:32 PM   #48
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alxi View Post
Ah i see.
May i ask how and why many rendered wav. files is not ideal ??
because it generates too much extra data , rendering files that take up significant space every time you drag them to a sampler.

best way i have seen so far is :

You got options

http://soundbytesmag.net/loomerseque...rforthemasses/

http://soundbytesmag.net/mdrummerbym...ductionspart1/ (yez it can do some crazy shit including 'slicing')

http://soundbytesmag.net/izotopebreaktweaker/

http://soundbytesmag.net/attackoftheslicemasters/

http://soundbytesmag.net/transfuser2...sictechnology/

and this just in :

http://soundbytesmag.net/review-beat...-sample-logic/

and the highly understimated rmv

tx16wx as well

Last edited by suleiman; 07-19-2017 at 06:03 PM.
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 08:44 PM   #49
joelsampson
Human being with feelings
 
joelsampson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 863
Default

You might look at the Poise plugin ($50) and Megababy NM (free in the stash).
__________________
Trying to get work out the door. . .
My resource links: http://www.djemberecords.com/links.html
joelsampson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 04:47 PM   #50
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,139
Default

So who is working directly with drum samples on the timeline? And by drum samples I mean, full sample sets which including multiple velocities and round robin samples. It seems like it would be a very tedious process, but maybe someone has worked out methods which make it a nice way to work.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 06:41 AM   #51
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bowell, West Virginia
Posts: 1,006
Default

not me, unless such sample set is derived directly from a chopped break and is as such pretty limited

would be cool if there was an item envelope that swapped out an item for other items in a group, such as velocity variants
__________________
MidiEditor: select last-recorded notes FR || QuantizSwing CC: Positive val only option
input quantize: OSC values for on/off state (for hardware LED) || control strength CC
whoa, whoa, whoa. There’s still plenty of meat on that bone.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.