Old 05-22-2017, 01:55 PM   #1
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 350
Default WTImperial - MIDI metering

Hi. Just upgraded studio to two large monitors so enjoying WT imperial.

The only thing that seems to be missing for me is MIDI metering. I work with MIDI files regularly and it's useful to see MIDI activity on the meters (MCP particularly) during playback.

Am I missing a config option or is MIDI metering not possible with this theme?
uncleswede is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 10:46 PM   #2
4x4uk
Human being with feelings
 
4x4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 449
Default

the meter colour is set to black in the theme. Simply edit the theme colour to something else in theme editor and the meters will appear
4x4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 01:29 AM   #3
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4uk View Post
the meter colour is set to black in the theme. Simply edit the theme colour to something else in theme editor and the meters will appear
Hi. I checked this out and there's a theme editor entry for MIDI meter activity. Changing this gives a small (few pixels square) activity indicator for all MIDI activity, which is useful.

I was hoping for proper MIDI metering (i.e. tracking MIDI note velocity) as in, say, the Janne 2016 theme.

I've attached a Licecap GIF which shows a few seconds of MIDI metering as per the Janne theme, then a few seconds of the WT Imperial theme. You can see that both themes can show the small MIDI activity 'dot' but only the Janne theme shows the MIDI velocity activity.

I've looked through the tweakable theme items for the Janne theme for all entries in its MIDI metering colour (yellow) to try and identify the specific element so I can then change it in the WT Imperial theme but no joy.

I guess it must be hard-coded in the WT Imperial WDL code somewhere :-(
Attached Images
File Type: gif Janne midi meter.gif (30.6 KB, 52 views)
uncleswede is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 05:30 AM   #4
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,594
Default

At the risk if sounding like I'm volunteering somebody else's efforts, I will suggest that if anyone can do it, lucas_LCS can. He has made some excellent mods to WR's incredible theme, one of which has now become my primary theme. Perhaps he'll see this and at least opine whether what you want is do-able, or maybe tell you how to accomplish.
__________________
.
= My Schtuff =
ReaperMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:27 AM   #5
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 874
Default

Let me chime in instead

This depends on what meter size/width the themer has chosen.
To change it you have to edit the tcp.meter width/height in the rtconfig. If this is smaller than 15px, the MIDI VU is not shown during playback. But it is shown while recording OTOH.

If you want to edit the rtconfig, have a look at these values and compare the different rtconfigs. This should be the direction you should consider.

width for vertical meters
height for horizontal meters
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme

Last edited by Pet; 05-31-2017 at 09:14 AM.
Pet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:52 PM   #6
4x4uk
Human being with feelings
 
4x4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 449
Default

Ill have to check my reaper set up when \I get home mine works perfectly with no alterations to meter size or adjustments to tcp or rtconfig.

I may have changed two items colour in theme editor

Ill Let you know
4x4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 07:16 AM   #7
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 350
Default

Hi all. Thanks for your suggestions.

I found that if I switch to the Imperial LCS mod_2.91 and tweak the colour for "MIDI Meter activity" I can see MIDI note velocity activity in the MCP meters (but not in the the TCP meters). This is not the case with the original WT Imperial theme.

That's fine (I actually prefer the LCS mod - especially the indentation of folder tracks) so I'll stick with that.

Cheers
uncleswede is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.