Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER OS X Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2017, 02:22 AM   #1
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default Reaper & OSX dock constantly crash .... Please Help! Desperate!!

I've developed a constant crash that occurs after reaper is open for a few minutes and am attempting to work regardless of playback/stop or plugin tweaks etc...... after many forum searches and 4 days down i'm here!

It seems when reaper crashes i can see OSX Dock crash at similar times..??
i've hit a roadblock of understanding Crash reports which are both attached below.

Strangely i was having a crash last week related to right clicking a plugin and sorted this by removing some re wire corrupted files..

Any help would be MASSIVELY appreciated!!
Brain Capacity and vibe are at an all time low...

Thanks very graciously in advance
,benny
Attached Files
File Type: pdf REAPER_2017-05-23-175711_Mac-10.pdf (236.7 KB, 37 views)
File Type: pdf com.apple.dock.extra_2017-05-22-225414_Mac-10.pdf (94.3 KB, 49 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 06:31 AM   #2
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Harwood View Post
I've developed a constant crash that occurs after reaper is open for a few minutes and am attempting to work regardless of playback/stop or plugin tweaks etc...... after many forum searches and 4 days down i'm here!

It seems when reaper crashes i can see OSX Dock crash at similar times..??
i've hit a roadblock of understanding Crash reports which are both attached below.

Strangely i was having a crash last week related to right clicking a plugin and sorted this by removing some re wire corrupted files..

Any help would be MASSIVELY appreciated!!
Brain Capacity and vibe are at an all time low...

Thanks very graciously in advance
,benny
i wondering if some of your issues can be USB related, i use 3 hubs and re arranged the plugs until (for now) things work, my issues midi interface disconnects, so try unpluging all usb at first
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 07:02 AM   #3
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerx View Post
i wondering if some of your issues can be USB related, i use 3 hubs and re arranged the plugs until (for now) things work, my issues midi interface disconnects, so try unpluging all usb at first
Thats a very good point, the antelope orion is on usb and has been nothing but trouble since bought, also running a MCU pro only other usb is ILOK.

I remember doing similar usb slot moves with the ilok and orion quite some time ago

I'l run some test's tomorrow

Thanks rangerx
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 10:13 AM   #4
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Harwood View Post
Thats a very good point, the antelope orion is on usb and has been nothing but trouble since bought, also running a MCU pro only other usb is ILOK.

I remember doing similar usb slot moves with the ilok and orion quite some time ago

I'l run some test's tomorrow

Thanks rangerx
one more thought about icon on dock , i didnt read all the posts, is reaper in you application folder on system disk , if not maybe as the system when it loads it can't find reaper for that reason
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 10:17 AM   #5
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerx View Post
one more thought about icon on dock , i didnt read all the posts, is reaper in you application folder on system disk , if not maybe as the system when it loads it can't find reaper for that reason
Yep reaper is in the applications folder, but I'm getting a separate crash report for the dock as well as reaper when reaper abruptly quits/crash's

Interestingly both crash thread 0
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 11:17 AM   #6
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Harwood View Post
Yep reaper is in the applications folder, but I'm getting a separate crash report for the dock as well as reaper when reaper abruptly quits/crash's

Interestingly both crash thread 0
try the reverse put reaper on another drive dont have to delete the original

another thought create an alias and drop that on the dock

also check in info (right click on app )of reaper for the read and write option

Last edited by rangerx; 05-23-2017 at 11:58 AM.
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 06:46 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,243
Default

Could be some bad RAM in your system maybe?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 02:22 AM   #8
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default Update!

So as per rangerx & Justin 's suggestions i tested -

-the whole system without any USB connections
-also running reaper app from non system Drives
- checked r-w info
-alias app name
unfortunately this made no difference
I also Did system Ram tests and all ram was functioning as far as i could tell.


Is there anyone out there that is good with reading OSX crash reports???

it seems thread 0 crashes every time??

,b
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:32 AM   #9
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Harwood View Post
So as per rangerx & Justin 's suggestions i tested -

-the whole system without any USB connections
-also running reaper app from non system Drives
- checked r-w info
-alias app name
unfortunately this made no difference
I also Did system Ram tests and all ram was functioning as far as i could tell.


Is there anyone out there that is good with reading OSX crash reports???

it seems thread 0 crashes every time??

,b
your osx is 10.8.5 maybe time to go up yosemite if you can
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 02:27 PM   #10
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Your threads ALL point to Reaper. If the guy who actually writes the Reaper app can't tell ya I can't either. I think its time for an OS update.

Try taking the RAM out and re seating it as well. Most times the memory testers won't show anything. I don't think its your RAM though

Have you done a Disk Permissions Repair yet under Apps/Utilities? I would start there. If that doesn't sort ya I would trash the Reaper Preferences file
__________________
Reaper 4.78
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.12.5, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 05-26-2017 at 02:39 PM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 03:38 PM   #11
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,155
Default

A few comments:

The premise of a bug in OSX 10.8 that was later fixed in 10.10 sounds like a wild guess. What specific bug? Is this a known reported thing?

Was this scenario there from day 1 after a clean install of 10.8? If the answer is "no" then the root cause is something else.

---

Run a ram test in a loop overnight. If it makes it through that, your ram is good.

---

I'd boot from a system backup clone or an older known system if there is any question with the current system. Rule out that variable that way.
If no backups were ever made/kept, you should start so you save hours/days of downtime next time. Ultimately you can clone your system to another drive volume (identical and bootable) or disk image file (not directly bootable until put back in a volume) for a backup and then do a clean install to your main system drive to test a clean system with no mystery variables.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:19 AM   #12
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerx View Post
your osx is 10.8.5 maybe time to go up yosemite if you can
It is time indeed , I was hanging on to 10.8.5 as there was some plugs I didint want to loose and some unfinished projects I didn't want to jeopardise yet..... but you are right it is time to go up a few numbers again

Thanks, b
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:30 AM   #13
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanabit View Post
Your threads ALL point to Reaper. If the guy who actually writes the Reaper app can't tell ya I can't either. I think its time for an OS update.

Try taking the RAM out and re seating it as well. Most times the memory testers won't show anything. I don't think its your RAM though

Have you done a Disk Permissions Repair yet under Apps/Utilities? I would start there. If that doesn't sort ya I would trash the Reaper Preferences file

Hey shanabit, I'm more than happy to be told! , I hope my tone didn't make it seem any other way 👍🏼
It's definitely time to go up to Yosemite .... I was just holding onto the past out of fear as 10.8 was serving me well..

Thanks for your suggestions, I didn't use any ram testers yet just checked in system profiler etc,
i'l reseat the ram asap

I do run disk permissions repair daily and whenever a big file or apps are moved or deleted,
But would you kindly be able to point me in the direction of the reaper pref file, is it a .plist file ?

Thanks again mate, b
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:43 AM   #14
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
A few comments:

The premise of a bug in OSX 10.8 that was later fixed in 10.10 sounds like a wild guess. What specific bug? Is this a known reported thing?

Was this scenario there from day 1 after a clean install of 10.8? If the answer is "no" then the root cause is something else.

---

Run a ram test in a loop overnight. If it makes it through that, your ram is good.

---

I'd boot from a system backup clone or an older known system if there is any question with the current system. Rule out that variable that way.
If no backups were ever made/kept, you should start so you save hours/days of downtime next time. Ultimately you can clone your system to another drive volume (identical and bootable) or disk image file (not directly bootable until put back in a volume) for a backup and then do a clean install to your main system drive to test a clean system with no mystery variables.
Hey serr,
These are all great points, pardon the ignorance but what would be the best way to run a ram test in loop?
Would I use something like memtest? Or is there a better option ?

Interestingly this problem only arose recently and wasn't there from clean install, I run pretty big sessions and am spitting stuff out through a console and outboard as well as having pretty detailed grouping going on in reaper and high channel counts, so system is running hard a lot of the mixingtime ,

I have clones of the system but not recent enough to a-b properly, I will endeavour to do them more regularly as that seems like the answer to all these types of probs..

Thanks for your help mate
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 08:48 PM   #15
Benny Harwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Default Solved for now!

Quick update ...So as per shanabits suggestion, trashing the reaper preferences files (.ini) has solved the constant crashing of reaper .

Simply trashed the pref file deleted then re installed reaper then imported my configuration zip

Thanks to all that commented !

All suggestions have been taken on board
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 - 2 x 3.33 Ghz Core (12 CORE) - OSX 10.8.5 - 64 Gb RAM - 500Gb SSD Osx & Audio drive's - Reaper v5,40 64 bit - SWS v2.8.8 - Antelope ORION 32
Benny Harwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.