Old 05-27-2017, 08:19 AM   #1
Baggage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 81
Default Waveform shows up late when recording

This just started happening after I cleared out some projects from the directory.

After arming the track and hitting the record button the curser moves along but leaves no waveform. About 15 seconds after hitting record the curser will leave a white area in its wake but with no Waveform inside of it.

Anybody experience this and/or have a remedy. Any advice very much appreciated. Thanks!
Baggage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 09:54 AM   #2
barrymk
Human being with feelings
 
barrymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Stratford upon Avon UK
Posts: 746
Default

Have you set record mode to normal by right clicking on the record button on the transport bar?
__________________
Ageing, failed rockstar lurching from one cup of tea to another with no idea where the next slice of cake is coming from. https://barrykingsbeer.bandcamp.com/
barrymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:08 AM   #3
Baggage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrymk View Post
Have you set record mode to normal by right clicking on the record button on the transport bar?
Thanks for replying.

Yes I have done that. What is strange is I've been recording stuff for a few months now and this just started happening in the past 24 hrs.

I'm wondering if it has anything to do with deleting other projects?
Baggage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:25 AM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,046
Default

is it ok when the recording stops?

shouldn't be looking at the screen when recording anyway
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 10:42 AM   #5
Baggage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
is it ok when the recording stops?

shouldn't be looking at the screen when recording anyway
Well there is a delay, so when I hit record the curser moves along but without a track being laid down, as if you would have just hit the space bar.

When I hit stop (record button) it will leave a white area with no waveform but not in the area where the curser started, but later in the timeline.
Baggage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 01:23 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,046
Default

Can you show us with LiceCap?

http://cockos.com/licecap/

upload to http://imgur.com
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 08:09 PM   #7
Baggage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
Can you show us with LiceCap?

http://cockos.com/licecap/

upload to http://imgur.com
Epic, after spending all day on it I found the problem. Latency compensation in preferences>recording.
After experimenting with Reainsert a couple days ago I forgot to zero out the latency compensation before starting a new project. All works fine now. Thanks for getting back with help.
Baggage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.