Old 05-27-2017, 11:50 AM   #1
ChrisBlue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Default 2 tracks same instrument

How do you record a second track using the same virtual instrument? The reason I want to is that when I punch-in with a footpedal I am getting irregularities in the MIDI a few bars after the punch point for some bizarre reason so was thinking record each new bit on a new track. Also wanted to record a bit to ripple edit into the beginning of the existing track. The problem is the result is that the existing track gets recorded over as well as the new track. I've disarmed the record on original track, changed its input to none but doing this silences the instrument (Pianoteq5) even though I have opened it again for the 2nd track and closed its instance for the 1st track. Using Nektar P1 for pedal punch-in, got 1Tb and 16Gb RAM, M-Audio 8-track soundcard.
ChrisBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 02:37 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBlue View Post
How do you record a second track using the same virtual instrument?
One option is to make a Send from Track 1 to Track 2. And set Track 2 to Record Output (MIDI) (via right-click on the Track Record Button).

Track 1: Virtual Instrument
Track 2: Record: output -> Record: output (MIDI)

Quote:
I've disarmed the record on original track, changed its input to none but doing this silences the instrument (Pianoteq5) even though I have opened it again for the 2nd track and closed its instance for the 1st track
For the original Track try to use the following settings:

- Select Record disable (Input monitoring only) and also enable [Monitor track media when recording]


In case you haven't already found them, have a look at the User Guide: http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php and some getting started videos: http://www.reaper.fm/videos.php in general.

Last edited by solger; 05-29-2017 at 02:48 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 07:09 AM   #3
ChrisBlue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Default

ok thanks will try this
ChrisBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.