Old 06-01-2017, 03:00 PM   #1
tpulse
Human being with feelings
 
tpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 217
Default Motorized fader - daw controller

So i've looking for daw controllers with motorized faders. Icon qcon, presonus faderport,presonus faderport 8, behringer etc.
Which of these is most stable/less problems with in reaper??
__________________
PC:Win10 64pro,Pc I7-4790k 16gb ram,RME-FF400,27" & 24"led screen.Reaper and Flstudio & plugs,Ev asp8 monitors & Akg k701 cans,SM58,Laney irt studio & HB 112 v30,Esp EclipseII,jackson js2 bass and some pedals.
tpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 04:05 AM   #2
sonicowl
Human being with feelings
 
sonicowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 71
Default

I have Behringer BCF2000 and it works fine with Klinke MCU.
sonicowl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 07:17 AM   #3
prezbass
Human being with feelings
 
prezbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 474
Default

I had a Behringer BCF2000 and it worked very well- however, the motors used for the faders are really noisy.

I recently switched it out for a Presonus Faderport. If you use the FaderportXT plugin for Reaper (search the forums for it) you'll be able to configure it to almost anything. Very cool stuff.
prezbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 08:06 AM   #4
tpulse
Human being with feelings
 
tpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 217
Default

The faderport is very tempting, but also interested in the faderport 8..maybe the single fader is enough.
I have little space so it would fit perfectly with faderport or the Faderport 8.
__________________
PC:Win10 64pro,Pc I7-4790k 16gb ram,RME-FF400,27" & 24"led screen.Reaper and Flstudio & plugs,Ev asp8 monitors & Akg k701 cans,SM58,Laney irt studio & HB 112 v30,Esp EclipseII,jackson js2 bass and some pedals.
tpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:05 AM   #5
Angrycolon
Human being with feelings
 
Angrycolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 10
Default Presonus Faderport 8 capatibility

Yea I was wondering the same thing. I got a killer deal on a demo Faderport 8 for 300.00 and it's never registered and factory packaged. I've yet to dive into installing in my studio. Recording Mag said it was compatible with Reaper in its review with the exception of loosing a few parameter controls. I would really love to hear from someone who has a little time on this control surface and what may lay ahead when using it.
Angrycolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:18 AM   #6
tpulse
Human being with feelings
 
tpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 217
Default

That's a very good deal 😊
__________________
PC:Win10 64pro,Pc I7-4790k 16gb ram,RME-FF400,27" & 24"led screen.Reaper and Flstudio & plugs,Ev asp8 monitors & Akg k701 cans,SM58,Laney irt studio & HB 112 v30,Esp EclipseII,jackson js2 bass and some pedals.
tpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:26 AM   #7
Angrycolon
Human being with feelings
 
Angrycolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 10
Default

Yea I know! He wanted 400.00. I would not have guessed he would have accepted 300.00 but he did. Took me by surprise. lol Now I just hope it works well with Reaper. I would normally research before I purchase hardware but in this case I seem to have it backwards. But I had just read this month's Recording Magazine's positive review on it so, heck at that price....
Angrycolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 05:09 PM   #8
SuperKons
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Default

I have got the Behringer BCF2000, very satisfied with it
SuperKons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 07:44 AM   #9
silar
Human being with feelings
 
silar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the armpit of the USA
Posts: 241
Default

I have an Icon QCon Pro and 1 Extender. They work pretty great in Reaper.
__________________
Registered Reaper Owner and lover of free VST's
silar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 12:16 PM   #10
tpulse
Human being with feelings
 
tpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 217
Default

Hmm. It seems that all motorized daw controllers works just fine with reaper. If that's so then i may
go for presonus fp 8 or icon platform m i dont have that big space so the big ones like icon qcon pro is not an alternative..
__________________
PC:Win10 64pro,Pc I7-4790k 16gb ram,RME-FF400,27" & 24"led screen.Reaper and Flstudio & plugs,Ev asp8 monitors & Akg k701 cans,SM58,Laney irt studio & HB 112 v30,Esp EclipseII,jackson js2 bass and some pedals.
tpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 04:12 AM   #11
tpulse
Human being with feelings
 
tpulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 217
Default

so before i order, which one works best with reaper. if i choose faderport 8 or icon platform m, what would you choose ?
__________________
PC:Win10 64pro,Pc I7-4790k 16gb ram,RME-FF400,27" & 24"led screen.Reaper and Flstudio & plugs,Ev asp8 monitors & Akg k701 cans,SM58,Laney irt studio & HB 112 v30,Esp EclipseII,jackson js2 bass and some pedals.
tpulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:20 AM   #12
Dog Boots
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silar View Post
I have an Icon QCon Pro and 1 Extender. They work pretty great in Reaper.
Also the extender? I was under the impression that (at least with Qcon Pro X series) the extenders were not able to show channel names with Reaper?
Dog Boots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:05 PM   #13
silar
Human being with feelings
 
silar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the armpit of the USA
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Boots View Post
Also the extender? I was under the impression that (at least with Qcon Pro X series) the extenders were not able to show channel names with Reaper?
I don't have the Pro X series. I have the Pro series, and I can see the track names fine on both the main Pro Controller and Pro Ex...
__________________
Registered Reaper Owner and lover of free VST's
silar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 03:00 PM   #14
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 272
Default

I chose the Platform M for its low profile. I don't use it as a generic control surface in Reaper though. I have it running through Bome MIDI Translator and have it customized six ways from Sunday. (Using it in part for track volume control and dialing in track automation, in part for transport control, in part for control of RME TotalMix, and the rest of it for MIDI CC control.)

I'm generally happy with the Platform M. Faders aren't exactly quiet but they aren't overwhelmingly loud. Sometimes they do connect a little too hard with the min/max boundaries causing a click, though it's not consistent. I mainly like it for its footprint and low profile and the generous fader length given those physical constraints.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.