Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2017, 11:43 AM   #1
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 298
Default Windows 7 x64 PC - looking for some upgrade guidance

*NOTE* I originally posted this is Recording Techniques, but thought perhaps that was the wrong place - so apologies for the repeat.

I'm hoping this is the correct forum for this post...

I've decided that I wanted to put some studio profits back into my main recording PC; though I've got some experience in building and upgrading, at this point I'm looking for some advice and direction. First, here are my current specs:

Windows 7 x64-based
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 @ 3.40 GHz
RAM: 2 x 8GB DDR3
MOBO: ASRock P67 Extreme 4 Gen 3
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
SSD Drives: 1 x 250GB; 2 x 500GB; 2 x 64GB
UAD Quad Core PCIe
External HD: 1 x 4TB via USB
iLok dongle; wireless internet dongle

In addition to Reaper, some other things I run fairly often are:

KOMPLETE 10, Toontrack EZDrummer2, IK Multimedia Amplitube.

My (current) main interface is a Saffire Pro 40 Firewire interface; via optical, I've also connected a UA 4-710d preamp, which is the master clock for both units.


This basic setup, has done well by me since 2011, but I am noticing as some of my work gets more intensive, like some film scoring, and higher CPU plugins and such, that things can get slow, backups take longer, etc.

In looking at all of this, there are many directions - upgrade the processor...which most likely means upgrading the MOBO, which then leads to upgrading...you get the idea. Ideally I'd rather not do everything at once, but if that's the only way to do it, then so be it. Any PC folks out there with some experience and patience, I'd appreciate any feedback you might offer. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:10 PM   #2
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,099
Default

first thing you need to decide now is Intel or AMD? because the new AMD Ryzen CPUs seem to be very good! Upgrading the Motherboard usually means upgrading also the RAM and CPU at least. And then you will have to downgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10, since only Windows 10 is supported with the newer CPUs. But don't worry.. I said downgrade, but Windows 10 will work well if you optimize it. I think you can keep using the same graphics card for now. Or better, don't use it at all and use the integrated graphics from the new CPU.
Also, the problem upgrading motherboard is that new motherboards don't have integrated firewire ports. So you need to add a PCIexpress firewire card. Not a big problem, but something you need to consider too.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:14 PM   #3
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
Upgrading the Motherboard usually means upgrading also the RAM and CPU at least. And then you will have to downgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10, since only Windows 10 is supported with the newer CPUs. But don't worry.. I said downgrade, but Windows 10 will work well if you optimize it. I think you can keep using the same graphics card for now. Or better, don't use it at all and use the integrated graphics from the new CPU.
Also, the problem upgrading motherboard is that new motherboards don't have integrated firewire ports. So you need to add a PCIexpress firewire card. Not a big problem, but something you need to consider too.
The switch to Windows 10 I kind of expected. I've been running it on the laptop for my mobile rig, and it's holding up fine with Reaper. You make a good point about the firewire connection; I initially thought about upgrading my front end with a new interface, but it seemed short-sighted as it's been running trouble free for a long time. My plan was to upgrade the PC first, then look at upgrading the interface later. You've certainly given me some stuff to consider. Thanks!
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.