Old 06-04-2009, 01:40 PM   #41
Highlander
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnish View Post
Are you absolute sure you got those values as final values? Seems quite low...
yes, these are the values given by the program. In reaper the latencies reported are much larger, maybe these values are much realistic.
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 03:41 PM   #42
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highlander View Post
Results on Line 6 Toneport Ux 2 with 3.4.3.6 Driver:

@44.100 hz,32 bit
stable 1024/23.22 ms
stable 512/11.61 ms
stable 256/5.8 ms
stable 128/2.90 ms

But in Reaper I get different latencies, for example at 256 samples I Have 17ms of output latency... What are the right values?
This is why I put the caveat on the line6 results at the top of the post.there is some sort of thruput happening even with no cables connected. Waiting on an email from line6
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:56 PM   #43
hannebambel
Human being with feelings
 
hannebambel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Default

i'm starting to doubt that this programm is working as it should. i just managed to get results @ 192KHz eventhough my soundcard is only capable of doing 96KHz .. that sure is strange.

cheers,
hb
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2 GHz, 4 GB Ram
ST Audio DSP2000 C-Port w/V 8.4
hannebambel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 06:31 AM   #44
themensch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hannebambel View Post
i'm starting to doubt that this programm is working as it should. i just managed to get results @ 192KHz eventhough my soundcard is only capable of doing 96KHz .. that sure is strange.

cheers,
hb
What, how dare you suspect a piece of measuring software from someone who is trying to sell you drivers to reduce said measurement!
themensch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:10 AM   #45
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by themensch View Post
What, how dare you suspect a piece of measuring software from someone who is trying to sell you drivers to reduce said measurement!
i did get an email response from an interface manufacturer saying that they don't trust the centrance latency test thing. when i asked why, they never responded back. who knows.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 03:43 AM   #46
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,403
Default

Well Im open to suggestions
I sure wish Jim would weigh in on this thread

Should we all PM him at once?
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:02 AM   #47
themensch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
i did get an email response from an interface manufacturer saying that they don't trust the centrance latency test thing. when i asked why, they never responded back. who knows.
I'm skeptical, but I personally won't discount it wholly. The warning signs to me are that there are no real reviews outside what's on their site - I bet at least one person who bought the driver would say something, good or bad, about it on a blog somewhere. SOMEwhere. SOMEthing.

That said, I know my soundcard isn't the most leet, and I know windows is full of holes big enough to drive a truck through, so I don't doubt someone has found a way to improve firewire audio performance. What would engender a positive response from me would be a demo I could try for myself, then buy if it works well. That's how the internet works, after all....
themensch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 11:24 PM   #48
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
i did get an email response from an interface manufacturer saying that they don't trust the centrance latency test thing. when i asked why, they never responded back. who knows.
the problem is the same round trip latency measurement puts the soundcards in the same relative order regardless which measuring tool you use

Motu always comes out on top, followed by rme, followed by the rest followed by the dice 2 cards. Ask this same naufacturer how they would like you to measure it and watch how the motu beats it
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 06:37 PM   #49
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steindork View Post
You are maybe confusing DPC latency with audio latency. There is only a faint connection between these two as in "raising ASIO buffers may or may not help avoiding dropouts due to DPC related usurpation of the CPU".
"Thesycon's DPC Latency Checker is a Windows tool that analyses the capabilities of a computer system to handle real-time data streams properly. It -MAY- help to find the cause for interruptions in real-time audio and video streams, also known as drop-outs."

If you are using a laptop, there will be a battery monitoring service (acpi battery method.) As for my own laptop (dell inspiron 1720,) and for another friend who has a gateway laptop, the infamous (and MADDENING!!) dropouts and gaps in firewire audio completely disappear as a direct result of disabling this service. That evil service can cause giant spikes in latency every 20 or 30 seconds. Also, disabling the wifi brought our numbers even lower. Hope this helps someone with the same problem.

i didnt know there was a difference between one stream of data or another, as far as a computer is concerned. if you feel like explaining that, i am all ears. well, uh, eyes.
__________________
a legitimate question is one that the asker does not know the answer to.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:44 PM   #50
josh gura
Human being with feelings
 
josh gura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gothenburg Sweden, Berlin Germany
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heaths View Post
I was having this same problem until today. I thought that was the issue, then I found this post - sure enough it works now.
dropouts on your laptop?

Last edited by sstillwell; 08-07-2009 at 12:17 PM.
josh gura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:11 PM   #51
Wulftone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 12
Default Measurement Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
RME FF800, analog

(Gigabyte EP45-DQ6 MoBo FW)

@ 32 : N/A
@ 64 : 6.10 (269 samples)
@128 : 9.00 (397 samples)
@256 : 14.81 (653 samples)

exactly the same results everytime i press "Measure!"
Just curious, how did you guys set up your Fireface(s) to measure this? Did you use a cable, or the internal routing matrix?

-Trevor
Wulftone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:13 AM   #52
barbaroja
Human being with feelings
 
barbaroja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 154
Default

TC Electronic Konnekt Live

44100Hz

@128s = 496 samples / 11.25 ms
@256s = 752 samples / 17.05 ms
@512s = 1265 samples / 28.68 ms
@1024s = 2895 samples / 65.65 ms
barbaroja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:56 PM   #53
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

presonus firebox - unstable. provided latencies are worst case out of five rounds for each buffer size. sorry, the firebox buffer sizes aren't standard.

buffer size setting in samples - 88/132/176/264
actual latency in ms (unstable, worst case) - 14.44/15.92/18.46/22.27
presonus control panel setting in ms - 2/3/4/6

can you say 'bah!'? noisy, not very low and unstable latency

edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
if you are using a laptop, run your latency checking program (such as dcplat.exe) and go into your devices and disable acpi battery method and study the difference.

this may not work for everyone, but give it a try if you haven't already.

peace.
nice! firebox is stable with acpi disabled, at least without restarting centrance ltu. here are the stable numbers:

buffer size setting in samples - 88/132/176/264
actual latency in ms - 13.74/15.71/17.71/21.70
presonus control panel latency setting in ms - 2/3/4/6

now what about that damned noise? https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/279948/firebox-noise.wav

edit 2: don't buy one of these pieces of crap.

Last edited by brainwreck; 02-10-2010 at 06:07 PM.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:27 PM   #54
bugg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Default

Echo Gina 3G

44100Hz - All results stable

@32s = 153 samples / 3.47 ms
@64s = 217 samples / 4.92 ms
@128s = 345 samples / 7.82 ms
@256s = 601 samples / 13.63 ms
bugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:48 PM   #55
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugg View Post
Echo Gina 3G

44100Hz - All results stable

@32s = 153 samples / 3.47 ms
@64s = 217 samples / 4.92 ms
@128s = 345 samples / 7.82 ms
@256s = 601 samples / 13.63 ms
man, that thing gets good latency. what's the lowest buffer setting that you can use it at for tracking, and is the cpu use very high at low buffer settings? the adat i/o is 8 channel? if you get a chance, could you report on how the mic preamps are with an sm57? sorry for all the questions, but i got crappy interface recently.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:17 PM   #56
bugg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Default

I was able to record a lead guitar part over a rhythm track at 32 samples (lowest setting), rhythm track dry, lead processed by GR4, no noticable clicks/stutters/pops. CPU usage sat around 10%.

Yep, the specs say 8 channel adat i/o.

I don't have an SM57 handy to test the preamps, and honestly, I wouldn't know a good (or bad) mic preamp if it hit me in the face, so I'm surely not the one to ask in that area.

And no problem about the questions, glad to be of any assistance. =P
bugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:01 PM   #57
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by themensch View Post
What, how dare you suspect a piece of measuring software from someone who is trying to sell you drivers to reduce said measurement!
Can you link me to these drivers they are trying to sell ?

NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:05 PM   #58
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAS View Post
Can you link me to these drivers they are trying to sell ?

NAS
they don't sell them anymore, as far as i know. i'm guessing that one or more of the audio interface companies bought their work.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:09 PM   #59
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

Weird i have never seen drivers for sale on their site
I know of other companies that do but can't find info about the centrance drivers

NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:24 PM   #60
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAS View Post
Weird i have never seen drivers for sale on their site
I know of other companies that do but can't find info about the centrance drivers

NAS
it was called 'universal audio driver' or something like that. i never tried it, but i remember the latency specs for echo and presonus interfaces looking quite a bit better on paper with the universal driver.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:28 PM   #61
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

looks like the universal driver is only for centrance products now, but their work has been put use by a company or two: http://centrance.com/licensing/
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 05:58 PM   #62
kindafishy
Human being with feelings
 
kindafishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,779
Default

M-Audio Fast Track Pro

LTU results(in msec) @44.1khz
128/256/512 sample buffer size

10.88/16.98/28.62 ms
kindafishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 08:26 AM   #63
C-J...
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

"Can not measure the latency.
Please check your connections and
verify if input/output levels match"

What does this mean?

Also. In the line-6 audio-midi Devices it says that "driver operating at: inactive" ??

And..

Asio client: none ??
C-J... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 08:46 PM   #64
bugg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C-J... View Post
"Can not measure the latency.
Please check your connections and
verify if input/output levels match"
Did you connect one of your outputs to one of your input channels?
bugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 03:58 AM   #65
C-J...
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugg View Post
Did you connect one of your outputs to one of your input channels?
Hmm...I don't get it, how am I supposed to connect it?
C-J... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:08 AM   #66
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C-J... View Post
Hmm...I don't get it, how am I supposed to connect it?
A pulse is sent out the output and read in at the input. The time in-between sending out and reading in is measured. That is the latency. So, you need to connect your device output to your device input with a proper cable.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:38 PM   #67
Cableaddict
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
A pulse is sent out the output and read in at the input. The time in-between sending out and reading in is measured. .
So it's not taking into account the latency of the DAW, and the related buffer handshaking?

That's a bit odd, as card drivers can react differently with different DAWs. (especially Reaper)
Cableaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:40 PM   #68
Cableaddict
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highlander View Post
yes, these are the values given by the program. In reaper the latencies reported are much larger, maybe these values are much realistic.

-And there you go. I haven't used it (I do my own latency testing, thank you) but if it runs as I suspect, then it's not a "real world" test.
Cableaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 07:36 AM   #69
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cableaddict View Post
So it's not taking into account the latency of the DAW, and the related buffer handshaking?

That's a bit odd, as card drivers can react differently with different DAWs. (especially Reaper)
We were talking about the CEntrance ASIO Latency Test Utility, right?

No, it does not take into account the latency of the DAW, it cannot as it is a stand-alone app. It only takes into account the driver and device latency (and its own, but that's negligible, I guess).

And yes, you get very different numbers running CEntrance as opposed to doing this through the DAW. I recently put up some numbers from my loop-back testing here http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=62924. Using CEntrance I get very much better numbers for the Lambda ASIO drivers than what I measure from the loop back test.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 10:44 AM   #70
Arbiter
Human being with feelings
 
Arbiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d. gauss View Post
yeah, this isn't good. i hooked up a mackie onyx firewire mixer and the results were rock solid (see below). echo hasn't been much help yet. and all this time, i thought the audiofire was stable/reliable?

anybody else have an audiofire 8 or 12 that they've tested?

I can't get my echo audiofire12 to test right.. probably user error.. but Reaper and the ASIO Driver are always stable for me down to 64 samples (.7 msec) in 96khz for me.
Arbiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 07:46 PM   #71
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
We were talking about the CEntrance ASIO Latency Test Utility, right?

No, it does not take into account the latency of the DAW, it cannot as it is a stand-alone app. It only takes into account the driver and device latency (and its own, but that's negligible, I guess).
Talking to myself...

If you want to do a full latency check through Reaper, try my JS FX here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=63318
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 06:30 AM   #72
natcamp10
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
"Thesycon's DPC Latency Checker is a Windows tool that analyses the capabilities of a computer system to handle real-time data streams properly. It -MAY- help to find the cause for interruptions in real-time audio and video streams, also known as drop-outs."

If you are using a laptop, there will be a battery monitoring service (acpi battery method.) As for my own laptop (dell inspiron 1720,) and for another friend who has a gateway laptop, the infamous (and MADDENING!!) dropouts and gaps in firewire audio completely disappear as a direct result of disabling this service. That evil service can cause giant spikes in latency every 20 or 30 seconds. Also, disabling the wifi brought our numbers even lower. Hope this helps someone with the same problem.

i didnt know there was a difference between one stream of data or another, as far as a computer is concerned. if you feel like explaining that, i am all ears. well, uh, eyes.
Hope this helps someone....... yes it did yes it did
natcamp10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 03:40 PM   #73
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,776
Default

thanks, this is a handy thread. its really a shame that the driver reported latency is always off. for a long time i just thought it was a really shitty drummer since my hits were ALLWAYS off by a bit. then i was manually measuring the delay via a feedback loop on my card and adjusting it each time i recorded (and remembered to do this) somehow it never occurred to me that the values might be the same for each buffer setting! thanks again!
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 03:54 PM   #74
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 18,085
Default

Just dropping a link to this old SoundOnSound article: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/sep0...sician0902.asp

Everyone should read it at some point.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:02 PM   #75
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,331
Default

This thread is inconclusive - it there such a thing as a USB 2 interface that also does MIDI without random timing changes/mis-reported latency?
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
note: for future reference, anything and everything I say may be considered OPTIONAL. Thanks (the management)
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 03:26 PM   #76
ThrustTony
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wiltshire UK
Posts: 71
Default Focusrite saffire 6

I'm running the Saffire 6 into Reaper but I'm getting big latency problems.

I get it down to 8x150 (27ms Latency) and thats the lowest I can get

My laptop is high spec as well

I have tried without plugins and straight through a mic
ThrustTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:10 AM   #77
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrustTony View Post
I'm running the Saffire 6 into Reaper but I'm getting big latency problems.

I get it down to 8x150 (27ms Latency) and thats the lowest I can get

My laptop is high spec as well

I have tried without plugins and straight through a mic
You're not using ASIO, are you?
Install ASIO drivers and you'll certainly get much less latency.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:49 PM   #78
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,617
Default

under WaveOut in audio devices, i am presented with the option 'buffer size' (1024 stays click free for me) and a multiplier (in my case, 8 works best)

what should these settings be? ASIO4all doesnt work for me at all with the soundcard in the machine im configuring, no matter what settings i use. Its a win7 64 machine.

is there a guide for what to put in the blanks for buffer sizes + multipliers in WaveOut?
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:09 PM   #79
studer58
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 122
Default

Note that Echo Audio now supply an inbuilt Firewire Analyzer with their Audiofire driver downloads, which can run alongside ASIO compatible software to give instantaneous readouts of buffer time, ASIO wakeup and host time and record/playback buffer times.
It's outlined on page 44-46 of the following manual: http://www.scribd.com/doc/52564666/43/FireWire-Analyzer
I'm not sure how these figures might relate to round-trip latency data..if at all ?
studer58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:49 PM   #80
egoadsr
Human being with feelings
 
egoadsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: In Space
Posts: 239
Default

Thanks for sharing !
No one have a Motu traveller to give ?
By looking at the result, i think that the result is affected by the entire spec, memory, processor, maybe hard drive, usb controller... it can be nice to have a latency analizer, outputing audio interface true latency, and computer latency.
egoadsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.