Old 05-11-2007, 02:06 AM   #1
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,392
Default REAPER Chat - Realtime REAPER help

A realtime REAPER help channel has been set up.

CLick below to come on in

http://www.mixxnet.net/java/?channel=reaper

Or if you perfer to use regular irc, its
server: irc.mixxnet.net
channel: #reaper
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 02:32 PM   #2
kingkyle23
Human being with feelings
 
kingkyle23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 28
Default uh...

its a great idea but when is there people in the room i'm on the eastern standard time zone
kingkyle23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 11:59 AM   #3
WaNaB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I am on Eastern time as well and am using it right now...its Great!..Thanx to all involved! CHEERS!
WaNaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 10:13 AM   #4
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

arrrghhh! I can never, ever seem to connect to this.
t.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 11:20 AM   #5
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,392
Default

do it from chatzilla if you have firefox
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 12:57 PM   #6
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio View Post
do it from chatzilla if you have firefox
alas! no Fox on work puters....
maybe I'll instal it anyway
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:43 PM   #7
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
alas! no Fox on work puters....
maybe I'll instal it anyway
That's what IRC@work is for .
http://www.ircatwork.com/

Dunno if it is currently online since they are relocating the servers.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 02:00 PM   #8
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSER View Post
That's what IRC@work is for .
http://www.ircatwork.com/

Dunno if it is currently online since they are relocating the servers.
muahaha heheh thanks.
downloading. editerrrrmm clicking
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"

Last edited by Tallisman; 08-14-2007 at 02:04 PM.
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 03:42 AM   #9
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Users from Europe may have problem connecting with mIRC client since It wants to connect to the old IP address. I contacted Mark (mixxnet administrator) and helped me edit my servers.ini in order to be able to connect with mIRC client. If any of you meets such a problem drop me a message I can help you solve it.


/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 05:27 AM   #10
ianmcallister
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: China
Posts: 35
Default

I almost bought a new Nokia, but the beard trimmer was crap.
ianmcallister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 08:30 PM   #11
Bungler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
Default Can't say enough good stuff about the chat line

if you really want some quick help to problems the chat line is great. there i was able to get all the assistance i needed. definitely check it out.
Bungler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:36 PM   #12
scottdru
Human being with feelings
 
scottdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianmcallister View Post
I almost bought a new Nokia, but the beard trimmer was crap.
LOLOLOLOL!!!!
__________________
"Guns don't kill people, people kill people. But I think the gun sort of helps."

- Eddie Izzard
scottdru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 03:11 AM   #13
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,265
Default the system is down

I think it is not working...
I can't connect via the web interface or my IRC client.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 03:41 AM   #14
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
I think it is not working...
I can't connect via the web interface or my IRC client.

I just logged in, no problem.

Sorry, but I am afraid I can't help other than saying that it works here as I just set it up to work once. Hopefully some IRC guru on this forum can help you out.
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:51 PM   #15
junioreq
Human being with feelings
 
junioreq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,091
Default

The "Help" chat is not just for help you know. It's a cool place to share ideas and talk about reaper!

++ Nas Thats how I seen it go down.

~Rob
junioreq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:49 PM   #16
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,265
Default

best chat solution is in my sig:
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 07:32 AM   #17
Rjm_musica
Human being with feelings
 
Rjm_musica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 93
Default

What about ReaChat integrated to R.5?? XD
__________________
Verne [ smart music ] | www.verne.com.ar
Rjm_musica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:42 PM   #18
Muzikman2008
Human being with feelings
 
Muzikman2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: England, UK
Posts: 158
Default

GREAT IDEA! :0) i recently converted my muzo friend to Reaper who is not as computer savvy as me... this is great for him an would help lots of newbie Reaper users.... i can see the time difference between countries being an issue.. maybe "live tech support" for dif countries would be ideal??? But.. do you know what... i think you guys already do more than what we expect... great work guys !!! :0)
Muzikman2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 01:10 AM   #19
saresu.bass
Human being with feelings
 
saresu.bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 322
Default

Is not possible to make things work without the help from the people of Reaper Chat and from this Forum.

Literally cant live without.

Thanks.
saresu.bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 05:06 PM   #20
zephercan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default Need help/advice choosing a computer that will fit my needs.. please.

hello... my laptop was recently stolen so I really need help picking out a new one. First I want a computer that will work well as a DAW. Second.... I want a computer that can create/edit digital video. Third... I need a computer that will work well with an HDTV that I plan to buy along with my new computer. Incidentally can anyone recomend a decent HDTV that is computer friendly?
I have 1000 bucks to spend on both units. If I buy refurbished units I think 1000 bucks should be enough... I hope.
I was looking at the dell 560 (multimedia) desktop that is going for a little over 200 bucks refurbished. would that computer suit my needs? Am I even barking up the right tree by considering the dell 560 ?
T hanks for taking the time to read this and any advice would be very appreciated.
Peace.
zephercan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:24 AM   #21
TheJonDoe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 30
Default

Does anyone go on there anymore? Curious..
TheJonDoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 09:36 AM   #22
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,138
Default

Sorry, I haven't been in there much recently, but i will try to get in more often if you need help
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 02:49 AM   #23
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Århus V, Denmark
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Sorry, I haven't been in there much recently, but i will try to get in more often if you need help
I could use a little chat help on solving this problem:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=156141

but I don't think the original chat site is working (I get 404 !)
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 02:19 AM   #24
rayfay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6
Default newbie... some help greatly appreciated!

I'm having issues getting REAPER to open up the sample files... after a lot of chasing around I finally found a version of LAME that should work (one recommended in REAPER user guide didn't help...?? I've installed LAMEfor Windows x 64: LAME_enc64.dll (from aegiscorp.free.fr/lame/ ) and download the sample files 1 & 2 recommended from the REAPER USER GUIDE and they were taking forever to install! SO I tried a sample from REAPER sampleshttp://www.cockos.com/reaper/samples.php ... I've done it about 10 times now (and deleted previous ones..)

1) Can't get the sample files to load...

Decided I'd just try making something myself... but...

2) Watching the tutorial on getting started... it doesn't go to the Save Project screen as mentioned in Getting Started Video at 11:32... (but keeps wanting to open up other files in my computer...)

Sigh... any help in plain English would be greatly appreciated
rayfay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 02:21 AM   #25
rayfay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6
Default newbie... help greatly appreciated!

this was from http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_User_Guide
REAPER User Guide
If you are new to REAPER, start here. The PDF User Guide is free to download here::
The REAPER User Guide Latest (20MB pdf)
Project File 1 of 2 for use with the Guide
Project File 2 of 2 for use with the Guide
(The two project files together make up the All Through the Night demo project referred to in the user guide)
You might also wish to consider purchasing a spiral bound hard copy (over 400 pages for less than $30):
Purchase a hard copy of this User Guide here
page discussion view source history
Log in
reaper
REAPER documentation
Contributors portal
other
NINJAM

1) couldn't find any .rpp file in sample 1 or sample 2
2) tried to open project from REAPER and the message I get is : "unable to open project: unknown extension!

will post in newbie section... thanks for your response anyhow
rayfay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:11 AM   #26
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,476
Default

OKAY! Now I know what you are doing wrong.

First off, the actual reaper guide (official and available in printed form) is on the front page of this very website. http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
That Reaper wiki is sort of unofficial. How did you get there?

The samples contained in those folders are .mp3 files for individual tracks and .repeak files for the same instruments, which you can easily forget about for the time being.
If you unzip the two folders, you will now be able to access the instrument files by clicking in the TCP zone - you will automatically insert a new blank track, then going to Insert/Media item menu.
Then navigate to where you put the contents of the two sample zips and you will see the instrument .mp3 files. Click on one and it will load into reaper. Assuming you set your Raper installation and your sound card/audio interface up correctly it should now play in Reaper.
Try it and see how you get on.
If that works OK just carry on loading the individual .mp3 files into reaper on separate tracks.

Again, get the actual proper manual and work through that. A better place to start learning Reaper if you are not that keen on manuals is Kenny Gioia's free tutorials on kennymania.com - great stuff, as are his paid ones on groove3.com
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:34 AM   #27
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Kenny Gioia's Reaper videos are also available here:

http://www.cockos.com/reaper/videos.php.

Enjoy.


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:31 PM   #28
rayfay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Ivansc: thanks again for responding in answer to your question "how did you get there?".... lol... I downloaded the REAPER user guide directly from this website... and on page 3 of the official user guide it says this and click on the link it takes me to the wiki site for the sample files :/


"Sample Project Files
These are available for download from http://www.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_User_Guide
Note that the links are case sensitive. The media files are in .MP3 format. Some of the examples outlined in this
book require recording further tracks in MP3 format. In order to be able to do this, you will need to have an
MP3 encoder installed in your REAPER program directory. The encoder file can be downloaded from a number of
locations, including http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Lame_Encoder.htm
Be sure to select the correct file for your system. For example, for 32 bit Windows this will be lame_enc.dll....." Pg 3 REAPER user guide...

I've decided to scrap the samples and work on my own and working through the video tutorials on this site by Kenny Gioia...

thanks again
rayfay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 01:36 AM   #29
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,476
Default

Glad you are progressing! Been literally years since I read that first section of the manual!
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.