Old 04-07-2019, 11:29 AM   #1
Cedrik0s
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Default Random black frames in rendered video

Hi there.

Working with videos (on windows) I often get unexpected black frames. They are few over the whole song's video.
If I render again I get them at different times in the video. At times I get no black frames, but it seems really unreliable.

I am basically fading videos placed on about 4 tracks, by automation of the opacity video processor. The black frames seem to always happen somewhere in the fades. But not always at the same places.

Anyone encountered this problem? Any solution?

Thanks a lot.

C
Cedrik0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:23 PM   #2
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,580
Default

If you're not using "frames" as your timebase, it's possible you're not snapping the start of one item to the end of another (to the exact frame).
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:32 PM   #3
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,903
Default

He said it's happening within fades so the items are not split at that point.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 06:51 AM   #4
Cedrik0s
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks James and Fergler.

I had not thought of this potential issue of snapping to frames, but, as Fergler points out, the black frames happen in the middle of items too, so the problem must be another. I thought they were happening in fades only, but they do happen anywhere.

After some investigation it seems that some backup services on my PC are interfering with Reaper's rendering. After a restart and quitting these services, the render is flawless. (a single restart wouldn't solve the issue).

If these services make use of the disk and maybe of some CPU power as well, I would just expect the render to take longer but be perfect, not to silently produce a failed render.
This is weird, and made me lose much time.

Thanks.
C
Cedrik0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.