Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2010, 04:13 PM   #81
KevinW
Human being with feelings
 
KevinW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,714
Default

Also, for those using Klinke's setup with a BCF2000 in MCU-Sonar mode, I made an overlay that helps me remember what buttons do what. You can find it here;

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=52870
KevinW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:35 PM   #82
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

thanks for that, this was my next move but I think klinke's right since it didn't happen before so i'll wait for him

As for the Alt button thing, some people have said that sonar mackie mode allows a few of the other modifiers but ironically not shift I don't think Just can't win!

be amazing if we could use our actual real modifiers on our normal keyboards!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:17 PM   #83
murfoid
Human being with feelings
 
murfoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere in U.S. north of Key West
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roncore! View Post
Ok, please somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong here, lol. It's getting frustrating.

I installed the plugin the plugin directory, along with the MCU folder.

Opened Reaper, options, control surfaces (nothing was setup), added the Klinke (offset of 0-8) Universal and the Klinke Extender (offset of 9).

set the midiout in the control sufaces section to the appropriate BCF2000's for both universal and extender. Immediately all of my fader went to the correct positions. Ok, so that is working. I imported the keymap in the Actions list. Yay.

Now, when I control Reaper with the mouse on the screen, the faders move. If I move the fader on the BCF2000 I get nothing on the screen, and the fader immediately moves back to its original position.

What am I doing wrong here? I'm not a midi champion, hehe.

try the various track arm settings... r w etc. seems I had a problem with faders acting that way when I had the wrong settings. also, what mode are you using? usb 1, usb 2...etc, midi 1, midi 2....etc.??
murfoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:35 PM   #84
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

I found that the extender doesn't work ell for me, I have both my bcf2000s in universal mode via usb. All you need to do normally is make sure their in mcu cubase mode (details in the behringer sub manual on the website) and then make sure you have the in AND the out set up for it to communicate properly.

Also if you want the bcf's to follow what actually channels you have showing you have to hold the bottom left button of the top group of four buttons and then at the same time press the top left of the next group of four below it. That switches modes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roncore! View Post
Ok, please somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong here, lol. It's getting frustrating.

I installed the plugin the plugin directory, along with the MCU folder.

Opened Reaper, options, control surfaces (nothing was setup), added the Klinke (offset of 0-8) Universal and the Klinke Extender (offset of 9).

set the midiout in the control sufaces section to the appropriate BCF2000's for both universal and extender. Immediately all of my fader went to the correct positions. Ok, so that is working. I imported the keymap in the Actions list. Yay.

Now, when I control Reaper with the mouse on the screen, the faders move. If I move the fader on the BCF2000 I get nothing on the screen, and the fader immediately moves back to its original position.

What am I doing wrong here? I'm not a midi champion, hehe.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:35 PM   #85
Marcadiablo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I have 3 units, but only been successful on the getting only one to work (thanks Ron for the help, man!). The main problem I have is this. This is the list that shows up on my MIDI Devices:

Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth
BCF2000 port 2
BCF2000 port 3
BCF2000 port 1
2- Line 6 Toneport KB-37
3- BCF2000
2- BCF2000 port 1
2- BCF2000 port 2
2- BCF2000 port 3

I've tried all the combinations I can think of, but nothing works.

BTW, I'm using a PCI USB controller card with a hard drive running from it. I dont know if that conflicts in some way.
Marcadiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:23 PM   #86
Marcadiablo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

FINALLY! I got them to work, but when i open Reaper, and error window pops up saying;

The following MIDI inputs could not be opened:
2- BCF2000 port 1
BCF2000 port 1


How do I get rid of it?
Marcadiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:13 PM   #87
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

What os are you on? have you got the latest midi drivers from behringer?

they updated it recently (about a month ago) and works much better now, can even use the bcfview application again
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:00 PM   #88
Marcadiablo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
What os are you on? have you got the latest midi drivers from behringer?

they updated it recently (about a month ago) and works much better now, can even use the bcfview application again
Im on windows 7 64
Marcadiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:16 PM   #89
Document02
Human being with feelings
 
Document02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 322
Default

No problem here, on 64 it would seem.your midi ports are in use by another app.
__________________
Document 02's bandcamp - Progressive electronic music.
Document02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 04:16 PM   #90
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
be amazing if we could use our actual real modifiers on our normal keyboards!
I have just implemented that the keyboard on the modifiers can be used as an alternative to the modifier buttons on the Mackie Control. Do you then still want the option to switch back to the original MCU track selection mechanism? Or is it good enough that you can now select multiple tracks using the control-key?
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:00 PM   #91
Marcadiablo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I would love a Solo button implementation. Maybe by pushing the rotary knob? Also how abut if working on multiple units, if you reach a channel that's out of view in the monitor, it highlights it and scrolls to that channel just by touching the fader?
Marcadiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:27 PM   #92
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klinke View Post
I have just implemented that the keyboard on the modifiers can be used as an alternative to the modifier buttons on the Mackie Control. Do you then still want the option to switch back to the original MCU track selection mechanism? Or is it good enough that you can now select multiple tracks using the control-key?
THAT'S AMAZING!!!

Klinke, only if it's not a major pain in the behind!

will have to send you a little donation now as promised, will get round to it on the weekend!

the only other thing that would be cool is if there was a way to make the bcf's start in the "follow mcp" mode instead of not showing me what's actually on my tcp, is that outside of the scope (I think it probably is right?)

is the new version up or is this a taster post

also did you have any luck working out what that slowdown bug was?



the other good thing about your special "being able to see all the receive faders" mode is that it makes headphone mixers an absolute joy! your version should be the Reaper default!!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:30 PM   #93
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcadiablo View Post
I would love a Solo button implementation. Maybe by pushing the rotary knob? Also how abut if working on multiple units, if you reach a channel that's out of view in the monitor, it highlights it and scrolls to that channel just by touching the fader?
solo button should already work if you use the shift button at the same time as the track's mute button (on the bcf2000 this is the top left of the top group of four buttons)

also, check a few posts up to see how to change the bcf2000 into a mode where it actually reflects what channels you have showing in reaper's mixer
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:17 AM   #94
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,826
Default

Klinke - viel danke!

I am struggling with reaper and the BCF and your work is really really helpful.

Ivan
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 03:49 PM   #95
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
the only other thing that would be cool is if there was a way to make the bcf's start in the "follow mcp" mode instead of not showing me what's actually on my tcp, is that outside of the scope (I think it probably is right?)
I will add an option for this in the next version (which i plan to release this month).

Quote:
is the new version up or is this a taster post
No, i'm just teasing ;-) The main reason for my last post was to get a feel for the importance of the different track selection behaviour.

Quote:
also did you have any luck working out what that slowdown bug was?
I havn't found time for that, but i hope i can work on this the next sunday.

Best,
Klinke
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 03:54 PM   #96
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcadiablo View Post
Also how abut if working on multiple units, if you reach a channel that's out of view in the monitor, it highlights it and scrolls to that channel just by touching the fader?
Do you want that the viewed tracks are scrolled when you select a track with the MC/BCF? In this case it's on my own wishlist, but i'm not so sure how easy this is to implement.
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:31 PM   #97
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Thanks Klinke! looking forward to it!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:08 PM   #98
Finnish
Human being with feelings
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 886
Default

Hmm.. So if I use this setup, I can control midi cc messages via BCF2000, assignable the way I want? If it's true, BCF2000 is more than alive again!

Cheers! [Homer Simpson-voice]Beer...[/Homer Simpson-voice]
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My music, studio and bands
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:12 PM   #99
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

I am a (X)sonar user so to be honest I am still evaluating reaper, but I think as of now cake wont get another dime

I wanted to mention if this is repeated Im sorry...Im new to the forum
if you are a bcf user use encoder 5 (the hui emulation)
and use reapers hui csurf you can do as many bcfs linked as you want

press in on the pan encoder to arm track press EXIT button to record etc everything works 100%
this is probably number 10 on my list of why I am switching but it makes
life soooo much easier

I need to try this MCU add so sorry for the highjack(great way to make a first post I know) just trying to be helpfull

what a fantastic DAW this is


Ben

oh Marcadiablo if it says cant open midi port bcf2000*** only select it as a control surface not as a midi device

Last edited by bennisixx; 03-05-2010 at 09:16 PM. Reason: add
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 06:56 AM   #100
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,307
Default

oh please someone do a mac version! I will love you till the end of time!
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 04:04 PM   #101
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

I just updated my MCU csurf extension on the stash to v0.6.2 (https://stash.reaper.fm/v/3558/reaper...mcu_klinke.zip). It should fix the performance problem when many faders are moved and add some options to the configuration dialog (some are mainly added for BCF users). Please check the readme in the archive for details.

Best,
Klinke
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 04:07 PM   #102
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,913
Default

+1 mac +1 mac +1 mac !
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 04:32 PM   #103
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

I love you!!!

Haven't forgot about donating (which ALL you users should) will do it when I get a chance to check my paypal password again!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:39 PM   #104
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default Just gave you a little donation Klinke! ;)

It's not much but I want to encourage anyone who uses this to send him something for going over what he needed himself and giving a shit about the BCF2000 users too!

It's working pretty well so far!

Will if anything comes up!

Thanks,

M
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 02:11 AM   #105
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by semiquaver View Post
+1 mac +1 mac +1 mac !


yes. I agree.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:10 AM   #106
mim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 346
Default

x64 and "start with MCP view" !!

Thank you very much klinke !

I gave you a little donation for some beers as well

mim
mim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 12:08 PM   #107
horse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

hi forgive my ignoorance, but is this what i need, to make my transport controls on a yamaha n12 work? along with the other buttons?
horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 12:25 PM   #108
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

If your yamaha n12 supports MCU mode then yes although you could use the built in one, this is superior in everyway

A lot of control surfaces and hardware controllers do, not sure about yours
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:18 PM   #109
murfoid
Human being with feelings
 
murfoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere in U.S. north of Key West
Posts: 43
Default a little help with bcf2000...

1. Thank you... this is wonderful. It's cemented my decision to make Reaper my main DAW instead of Cubase SX. If I must have some of the midi stuff in Cubase, it's easy enough to export midi tracks... Again, thanks.

2. So far, everything I've tried works well except that pressing the mute button in reaper track displays doesn't update then bcf2000 LEDs. If I press the mute button on the BCF the reaper display buttons get updated properly. Is this something wrong in my setup? I'm still learning all available but this is the only problem so far. I hope this isn't already answered... i DID search...

3. What exactly are the differences in using the bcf MCU Sonar mode emulation vs the MCU Cubase emulation mode?

Thanks

Last edited by murfoid; 03-15-2010 at 01:19 PM. Reason: typo
murfoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:32 PM   #110
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

2- I haven't checked this yet on mine but will do (are you using the "bcfview" app as this gives you an emulation of the mackie lcd and is vital for the more advanced stuff in his mod

2- the differences are down to where the buttons are and what "modifier" keys you have on the bcf but in the latest klinke mod you don't need to change mode, I think your probably better of in the cubase mcu mode as in the romte device options you can make it so your keyboard modifiers do all the work now.

On the behringer site are pdfs with mapped diagrams of what the buttons do in the different modes, maybe pick the one that makes sense to you
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:14 PM   #111
murfoid
Human being with feelings
 
murfoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere in U.S. north of Key West
Posts: 43
Default

musicbynumbers:

I am using bcfview. BTW, I'm using reaper 32 on win 7 64 if that makes a diff.

Thanks
murfoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:34 PM   #112
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Me too.

Any other things causing you grief?

The new klinke mod has some handy options in the devices page that really make the bcf shine.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:24 PM   #113
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by murfoid View Post
2. So far, everything I've tried works well except that pressing the mute button in reaper track displays doesn't update then bcf2000 LEDs. If I press the mute button on the BCF the reaper display buttons get updated properly. Is this something wrong in my setup? I'm still learning all available but this is the only problem so far. I hope this isn't already answered... i DID search...
No, i think that is a bug in the plugin itself. Someone has reported it before, i must confess that i never tried to reproduce the problem, but it's on my todo list. But i'm really short of time till may.

Best,
Klinke
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:14 PM   #114
Pistol-Pete
Human being with feelings
 
Pistol-Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default What about MCU extenders?

Thank you for a superb work, Klinke.
I wonder if there is any chance that the MCU extenders could be used for plugin control
in the future?
Pistol-Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:21 PM   #115
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistol-Pete View Post
Thank you for a superb work, Klinke.
I wonder if there is any chance that the MCU extenders could be used for plugin control in the future?
I don't own an extender, and to develop this without one seems to complicated for me. But if someone will buy one for me ;-)
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:02 PM   #116
Klinke
Human being with feelings
 
Klinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 758
Default

I just uploaded a new version (v0.6.3.0) that include the Mute-LED bugfix and has a new option "Show always dB values" (mainly for BCFview users).

Best,
Klinke
Klinke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:11 PM   #117
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,307
Default

mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac mac

pretty please? with sugar on top?
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:23 PM   #118
murfoid
Human being with feelings
 
murfoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere in U.S. north of Key West
Posts: 43
Default thank you for the latest update....

that was quick! Thanks! (mute led)
murfoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 06:19 PM   #119
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klinke View Post
I just uploaded a new version (v0.6.3.0) that include the Mute-LED bugfix and has a new option "Show always dB values" (mainly for BCFview users).

Best,
Klinke
GENIUS!!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 03:17 AM   #120
Document02
Human being with feelings
 
Document02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klinke View Post
I have just implemented that the keyboard on the modifiers can be used as an alternative to the modifier buttons on the Mackie Control. Do you then still want the option to switch back to the original MCU track selection mechanism? Or is it good enough that you can now select multiple tracks using the control-key?
I had missed that.
Tested & working on BCF2000/BCFview...

this is really cool. really. very really.
__________________
Document 02's bandcamp - Progressive electronic music.
Document02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.