Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 12-23-2017, 11:42 PM   #1
Cableaddict
Human being with feelings

Default Hard Page Faults ! (learned something new & important)

I recently posted this info on my "Does faster ram allow for a lower HW buffer?" thread, but it deserves it's own thread, so -

We all know about low DPC latency, but many of you may not know about Hard pagefaults. They are related, and evidently extremely important.

note: I'm not a computer expert, so do your own research for details or maybe even to find out if this isn't as important as I think it is.

But I DEFINITELY think it is. Especially in the quest to optimize for the lowest HW buffer possible.
-------------------------

A pagefault, evidently, is like really bad DPC activity, but just for a few ms.
A HARD pagefault seems to be just really bad ones, or maybe pagefaults that happen repeatedly.
I'm not sure. (Correct me if I'm wrong.)

A common cause of bad pagefaults is a buggy driver. It turns out that some NVIDIA drivers of recent past have been horribly buggy in this regard. Despite having super-low DPC latency in my current rig, I have been getting obscenely large hard pagefaults. I mean right off the scale. And once they started, they happened at an alarming frequency.

I tried newer NVIDIA drivers, even older NVIDIA drivers, but no love. Still suspecting this as the cause, I decided to replace my 5 year old video card with a new, GDDR5 based one. I figured that NVIDIA might be more concerned about this problem with their newest drivers, so fingers crossed.

Sure enough, WITH THE NEW CARD, I NOW HAVE ZERO HARD PAGEFAULTS !

And not for nothing, but beforehand I couldn't run a 64 buffer unless I turned off several VSTi's, and even then I got minor crackling. Now I'm running 64 buffer with everything on, and not even heavy sustain pedal causes problems.

So... it seems to be a big deal.

Again, I don't really know. YMMV.