Old 02-06-2016, 10:36 AM   #1
TheWhistler
Human being with feelings
 
TheWhistler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep in the pocket...
Posts: 1,051
Default Problem with quantizing -> Notes & CC

I have made some animated gifs to point attention to a problem with quantization AND its handling of CCs.

In this first animation everything as it should be.
I grab the note and it moves. The CC data moves along to the note, fine.


Now it s getting complicated.
I wanted to quantize the note to half notes.
The note moves, but the CC data does not....hm.
It is kind of ok, because I did only "selected notes" in the quantize dialogue. So seems to be normal.



But I want to move my CCs along to my note, of course (think of some filter modulation)
So I used selected events, because I want to move the controller data to move along with my note.

BUT !!! The controller data is quantized not moved (of course this is what I have selected)



Is there a way to overcome this?
Can a note be quantized and not only moved by hand with REAPER respecting the relative positons of notes and e.g. CC-data that is in the range of the corresponding note?

Maybe this is of interest to a lot of Midi-users. If not possible atm, this is really worth a feature request, isn´t it?

Last edited by TheWhistler; 02-06-2016 at 11:51 AM.
TheWhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 12:16 PM   #2
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,967
Default

It would be tricky. There is planty wrong with the editor, but in this case Mod wheel data isn't really tide in any way to notes. How one would go about it when there would be a lot of notes to quantize? For each note it would have to select corresponding cc data within the length of the note itself, and move. Then, if one would select changing the notes length too, it would have to remember starting position of the notes, then quantize and move the note, then from recorded position select the cc data of original note's length, then squeeze it or expand it trough an algorithm, and then move it to the new starting position of the note. So yes, absolutely doable and it would be nice to have. Just needs to remember to put a toggle button in the quantize pop up so there would be some control over this.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 12:42 PM   #3
TheWhistler
Human being with feelings
 
TheWhistler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep in the pocket...
Posts: 1,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikComposer View Post
It would be tricky. There is planty wrong with the editor, but in this case Mod wheel data isn't really tide in any way to notes. How one would go about it when there would be a lot of notes to quantize? For each note it would have to select corresponding cc data within the length of the note itself, and move. Then, if one would select changing the notes length too, it would have to remember starting position of the notes, then quantize and move the note, then from recorded position select the cc data of original note's length, then squeeze it or expand it trough an algorithm, and then move it to the new starting position of the note. So yes, absolutely doable and it would be nice to have. Just needs to remember to put a toggle button in the quantize pop up so there would be some control over this.
I understand what you mean. How shall REAPER know which cc-data belongs to which note...hm.

I would insist on a toggle for "move cc-data with note while quantizing".
So it is switchable if wanted.

Or one could grab a couple of cc-data an the whole bunch of data gets processed.
So the realtive positions to each of the single cc-events would be kept.
With the first selected event to be the reference point.

Last edited by TheWhistler; 02-06-2016 at 12:53 PM.
TheWhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 03:48 AM   #4
clynos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 24
Default

This would be great.
clynos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 01:32 PM   #5
fundorin
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWhistler View Post
I understand what you mean. How shall REAPER know which cc-data belongs to which note...hm.
It already knows. As can be seen in the first GIF, related CC data is also being moved when the note is moved with mouse.
I've tried to find a usable workaround for years. No progress, though.
fundorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 02:19 PM   #6
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

Same problem here. VERY frustrating. no way to do this? i uses superior drummer with an electronic drum kit and cc4 is the hi hat pedal openess control. like OP's GIF above, i can manually move the hi hat midi note and all associated cc4 data follows it, but using quantize either mushes all the cc onto a beat (useless) or doesn't move at all (terrible) depending upon the chosen quantize settings.
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 11:15 AM   #7
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

bump. anybody?
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:36 AM   #8
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

bump. really? no one uses v-drums with reaper and dealt with the mess that is cc hi hat data and note quantize?
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 02:46 PM   #9
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,258
Default

This would be very helpful for anyone that needs to quantize notes after CC curves have already been drawn.

There is also an older FR thread at Quantize and CC follows.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 03:23 PM   #10
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

so frustrating. when you manually move a note, all the cc data follows along with it. i don't get why CC won't follow note (maintaining the same relationships) when using quantize.
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 09:40 AM   #11
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

bump. devs? anybody?
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 11:31 AM   #12
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,258
Default

Notation issues get fixed much faster than piano roll bugs, so if you can report this issue as a notation bug in the Bug Reports subforum, you may get the devs' attention.

Come to think of it, this may genuinely be more of a problem for composers that prefer to only work in notation, since they may not notice that the notes and CCs become misaligned after quantizing.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 07:10 AM   #13
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,363
Default

bumping this
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.