Old 02-28-2018, 03:36 AM   #1
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default LUA: Track versions (Protools style playlist)

EDIT: Latest version post #278

Protools playlist / Cubase track versions script

Create independent track(items) versions and envelopes.

1. Creating new version now creates empty version


2.Viewing ALL versions in single track

You can select them via GUI or clicking on the item/lane to choose them. You can also edit versions while in this mode (split,fade,delete,cut whatever)

P.S. for our lord Schwa, I've reported a bug that is still here. If items are muted/unmuted in FIPM they do not playback. Its not related to this script but in general.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=209873

3. Copy part of version to destination

Right click on button shows destinations, Left click makes copy to that destination

4.Comping Versions (swipe style)

This works in View All mode. While comping button is active every time selection over active version will make that part in new COMP version. When you are done comping deactivate the button,activate again for now COMP
You can make time selection over whatever you want only active version matters (unmuted) (it doesn't need to be in empty part like Im doing it in gif)

5.View versions in time selection

If you want to see/hear other versions while current one is active. This is from protools directly. Works with copy to destination while active

6. Multitrack editing

For editing all tracks/versions at once. Right click show Add/remove tracks from multi editing. After adding tracks and activating multi edit button single track editing will work for any track in the group: switch versions,copy,comping whatever

Uploaded to ReaPack : TrackVersionsWIP.lua

P.S. Keyboard shortcuts coming also for exciting GUIless experience


My ReaPack Repository (in discription)

Latest Stable version 0.67 : Track Versions.lua

Current WIP soon to be merged with stable : TrackVersionsWIP.lua

Last edited by Sexan; 02-14-2019 at 04:46 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 03:54 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,440
Default

Seems promising !

There is a way to check if a track pointer actually returns a track in the project.

Https://github.com/ReaTeam/ReaScript...20validity.lua

This is often use to see if a track has been deleted (but the pointer still exists)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 03:59 AM   #3
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 438
Default

Looking great! Good job
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 04:04 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,736
Default

This is truly fantastic work Sexan !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 04:42 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,362
Default

Sexan for Prime Minister!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 05:21 AM   #6
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Edit.....

Last edited by Sexan; 02-28-2018 at 06:06 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 09:26 AM   #7
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Update pre0.3 :

Added code for track deleting

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2018 at 01:53 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 09:31 AM   #8
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,957
Default

sexan: probably you would like to support this request: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=196600
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 10:59 AM   #9
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 425
Default

Thank u master sexan !!
Been waiting for this
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 11:27 AM   #10
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Another small update pre0.33, minor bug with delete checking code
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 12:50 AM   #11
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 430
Default

Hi Sexan, this script looks great! I'm getting this error when I try to run it:

"Sexan_Track versions.lua:378: attempt to get length of a nil value (field 'ver')"
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 01:13 AM   #12
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

From reapack? I've just tested latest version on reapack and it works (I have other file that I code)

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2018 at 01:40 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 01:41 AM   #13
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

playing with the new one tonight... looking nice

I know I probably should not even mention this... but [what the hell]
Do you think there will ever be a version possible that will save multiple track selections? Like save and restore the states of 3 tracks all at one time?

"oh hopi... go sit down and be quiet"
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 01:43 AM   #14
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Saving is possible already, restoring will be done soon (little tricky if you have track/folder combination selected).
New small pre up!

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2018 at 01:49 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 02:06 AM   #15
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,736
Default

Hey Sexan,

I have latest version ReaPack installed.
When i do synchronise Repositories, then search for this script in Action List, i just can't find it ..

Do i maybe need to add a special Repository Index URL from you into ReaPack ?

Warm Regards !

OSX 10.13.3
Reaper 5.79pre3-64bit
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 02:07 AM   #16
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

You need to import my repository (in my signature).I am not the part of ReaTeam which is default repo
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 06:27 AM   #17
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,851
Default

Looks AMAZING! Will try it and report here Thanks!
__________________
Windows 7x64 SP1 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.2.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:17 AM   #18
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

the more I play with this the more amazing it becomes

IMHO it is the first REAL tool for doing something like playlists

I do have to keep asking things...

will it become possible to include the settings on the tracks such as vol and pan, etc?

I do see that currently it will save the item settings such as pooled or mute or vol, etc.... which is just outstanding....

I see it does not include envelopes [yet... LoL] do you think it will someday?
I mean I see it can save\restore env's on items, but not on tracks...

and again.... holy cow, what a super lua!!!! this is HUGE

PS: I would love a hot key to do the rename of the saves.... since that can be so important and the menu is tedious
OK never mind the rename.. I set the name flag to true so I get the pop up to name it when it is created and that is nice
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 03-01-2018 at 11:42 AM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:44 AM   #19
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 430
Default

Working for me now! Just sent a donation, many thanks!
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:49 AM   #20
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

I'm sure you know already, but just reporting:

say I have a folder saved and go to the original and make a few changes to it and use the rt clk menu to Save Current Version [thinking it would replace that with whatever changes have been made] ... I get an error...

I have faith it will get worked out by and by

maybe more donations will help
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 12:24 PM   #21
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

All reports you guys have will be fixed, I cant test all scenarios by my self.As I've said lets fix the core behavior then add FR.ATM only items are supported but adding additional data (envelopes etc) will be supported after polishing. Adding vst data can be very very tricky because some vsts have large chunk that can crash reaper

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2018 at 01:39 PM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 12:30 PM   #22
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
You need to import my repository (in my signature).I am not the part of ReaTeam which is default repo
Oopmph, totally missed that, thanks for your help Sexan, works now !!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 01:38 PM   #23
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
I'm sure you know already, but just reporting:

say I have a folder saved and go to the original and make a few changes to it and use the rt clk menu to Save Current Version [thinking it would replace that with whatever changes have been made] ... I get an error...

I have faith it will get worked out by and by

maybe more donations will help
new pre up 0.35 issue fixed.

BTW forgot to add to change log, this version also has multi track restoration (TRACKS ONLY). There is a bug with folder multitrack saving/restoring which I'm currently working on so do not do that for now

Btw thank you guys for donation!

EDIT: pre 0.36 out , fixed multiselection with track/folders, now multi track selection saving/restoring should work in any direction

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2018 at 02:44 PM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 12:04 PM   #24
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Edit...

Last edited by Sexan; 03-03-2018 at 06:44 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 06:46 AM   #25
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

I think the current UI for envelopes are good


You ask and I give :

pre 0.41 up - supports envelope versions on TRACKS only (no multiselection) Volume,Pan,Width ATM - Envelopes needs to be selected in order to save them)

Last edited by Sexan; 03-03-2018 at 08:22 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 08:38 PM   #26
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

WoW.... I'd better give some more too

EDIT: problem... save a few env's for one track

then make a diff track active but I still see the env's that can be clicked on
even though they don't exist for the active track
..and IF I clk on one of the env buttons, the lua crashes and burns...

...ble\Scripts\Sexan_Scripts\Alpha\Sexan_Track versions.lua:762: bad argument #1 to 'GetEnvelopeStateChunk' (TrackEnvelope expected)

so this could be really bad, if we are thinking of this as a playlist kind of thing... because imagine we have
saved a bunch of track and folder setting and then they are GONE... ouch

I have faith you will get it sorted so this cannot happen
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 03-03-2018 at 08:49 PM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 07:32 AM   #27
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

First post gif and info updated

pre v0.43 (2018-03-04)
+ one envelope button (left click saves , right click opens menu)
+ Right click on envelope version removes it
+ disabled saving envelopes if multiple tracks are selected (for now)
+ envelope code improvement
+ fixed incorect removing of envelopes versions
+ fixed envelope restoration after removing
+ disabled showing envelope versions if envelope of other track is selected
+ show selected envelope version if selected, if not then choose selection
+ saving envelopes do not require selecting it

pre v0.44 (2018-03-04)
+ fixed small bug that would crash script if envelope button is clicked

pre v0.45 (2018-03-04)
+ do not allow storing envelope if not visible

pre v0.47 (2018-03-04)
+ Mousewheel support on envelope menu
+ Disable saving envelopes if multiple tracks selected

pre v0.48 (2018-03-04)
+ envelope right click menu

Fixed lots of stuff and some changes of behavior:

Now there is only one button for envelopes and it has dual function
1. Left click saves current envelope (you do not need to select it like before)
2. Right click opens envelope menu

If envelope track is selected then the menu will automatically show only that versions, if only track is selected and not envelope then you can choose which envelope versions you want to manipulate.

Last edited by Sexan; 03-04-2018 at 08:56 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 08:57 AM   #28
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

MUCH better! I thank you GREATLY

one more thought... so when saving folders and tracks I have the pop up for naming set to 'true'... good

yet whatever is saved gets the 'Original' at the top of the list for that saved thing...
so this gets to be visually and mentally confusing... I notice I can rename the Original listing but
I'm thinking it would be maybe better IF that just had the name I enter for the first save of that thing...
In other words, since I'm entering a name for each save, why should I have to then go back and rename the 'Original' for it?

Maybe there does not need to be an 'Original' at all???

Also [an yeah I know this is really out there, but I'll ask anyway].... what if the saved names took on the color of
the track or folder being saved... [OK hopi, go sit down and shut F up]

Hey EVERYONE... keep donating to this one cuz it's huge!!!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 03-04-2018 at 09:26 AM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:07 AM   #29
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

One thing that I need you guys to suggest or you hopi since you are my main and ONLY beta tester (thought it will be little more traction,probably because of the thread name... will change it to something against the Reaper and how it ruined my life):
Everything related to right click menu (delete,save,rename etc on versions) should be on HIGHLIGHTED version or SELECTED version ?

Last edited by Sexan; 03-04-2018 at 09:22 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:48 AM   #30
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

musicbynumbers requested this behavior to create and original also because if anything weird occurs to have original untouched and saved (so we don't lose original data)

Anyway its a very easy fix if you want to manual name it also.BTW user options that need to be entered via editing the script will be replaced with global right click menu.

Regarding colors its possible,will see what I can do about it
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 09:53 AM   #31
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

really I'm the only tester??? that's insane cuz this lua IMHO is really important to reaper... I'll have to make some noise about it over in the General or Tips and Tricks...

As to your question, I'm not sure about that atm... can you wait a bit?

Right now I'm getting used to what I see when various things are selected in the TCP... and trying to grasp what I see...

the thought I had in the last post about names and Original might help with that thinking...

in the meantime I do have another wish... it's about docking and about the lua having a way to remember where it is docked so that if I close it and then reopen it, it will go to that place... this to me is an important feature...

I'll be back... have to get a fire started as I'm freezing my ass off
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 10:53 AM   #32
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

pre v0.50 (2018-03-04)
+ GUI Stores position (dock,x,y)
+ added user option to color font,checkboxes or both
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 10:55 AM   #33
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

Ok... I'm getting house gradually warmer... whew... 'climate change is a hoax, my ass!'

so let's see... my mind is a bit in a swirl atm cuz I'm trying to work out a conjunction between your lua and spk77 Track Tags lua....

switching between them is interesting since the Tags lua can make only certain tracks and folders visible... and then selecting one of those visible and going to your lua takes a little practice.... I'm getting there and liking it more and more.... I do have to keep then in separate docks... yours at right of arrange and his at the bottom of arrange...

OK... I think I have an answer on the menu question... consider renaming:
It is better for me to be able to rename the thing when just hovering over it instead of clicking on it to make it the active one... does that make sense to you?

I'm having a little confusion when saving multiple tracks in how it asks for names... I'm thinking there might need to be a whole separate distinction for saving multiple tracks... Like MULTI or something...
so that we have three main sections:
Single tracks
Multiple tracks
Folders

I have to mess around more with multiple folder and see what happens
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:08 AM   #34
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

oh oh... just got the crash

here is what I did:

I had two folders, each with a few tracks inside them
I had a few saved events, some for one folder, some for separate tracks

OK then I selected both folders in the TCP [select one and cntrl to select the other folder]

then hit save folder... OK confusing thing, the name pop up comes up and I enter a name and then it comes up again and I enter a name... only the last entered name actually shows in the GUI of the lua..

but then if I clk on that name the crash happens


the crash is this:
...ble\Scripts\Sexan_Scripts\Alpha\Sexan_Track versions.lua:833: attempt to index a nil value (field '?')

so I'm guessing that trying to save multiple folders is a 'no-no'? which would be OK, but the lua should just not let you do it rather than create a crash situation, ...right?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:14 AM   #35
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

It would help me if you licecap that scenario (can't reproduce)
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:21 AM   #36
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

but the good news is that it re-launches after that crash with all the settings still intact! Now that is much better than previous versions!!!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:45 AM   #37
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Ok,fixed many things regarding manual naming, Added tags F,M for folders and multiselect, naming does not show up 15 times but only once. Added rename on highlight position
Test this (maybe it looks confusing now), will upload in a sec
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 11:53 AM   #38
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

will do... and of course thanks
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:04 PM   #39
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,742
Default

something got broken... now it gets that nil crash simply by selecting a track in the tcp

...ble\Scripts\Sexan_Scripts\Alpha\Sexan_Track versions.lua:959: attempt to index a nil value (field '?')

I have the name = true and colors = 3
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:09 PM   #40
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
something got broken... now it gets that nil crash simply by selecting a track in the tcp

...ble\Scripts\Sexan_Scripts\Alpha\Sexan_Track versions.lua:959: attempt to index a nil value (field '?')

I have the name = true and colors = 3
lol! silly error, fixed
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.