Old 01-12-2019, 09:28 AM   #1
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,587
Default v5.965+dev0112 - January 12 2019

v5.965+dev0112 - January 12 2019
  • + Envelopes: prevent rendering curved segments as discrete points
  • + OSC: fix unreliable setting of marker/region information by timeline-index
  • + ReaScript: support UTF-8 os.remove()/os.rename() on Windows
  • + Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images
  • # TCP/MCP: fix ctrl+clicking panels on Windows [p=2080820]
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:21 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
[*]+ Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images
Nice addition, thanks for this. So, I made 4 new images:
track_recarm_norec.png
track_recarm_auto_norec.png
mcp_recarm_norec.png
mcp_recarm_auto_norec.png
And now I can see right from the recarm button if the track is ready to record or just armed (to monitor).
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:28 AM   #3
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,309
Default

When I move one point...

https://stash.reaper.fm/35224/3.gif
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:40 AM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
When I move one point...

https://stash.reaper.fm/35224/3.gif
Confirmed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:49 AM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,651
Default

Confirmed, trying to move any single automation point within an Automation Item seems to draw new points instead. Doesn't happen with regular envelopes.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:50 AM   #6
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,714
Default

It's good for arts though.
https://i.imgur.com/1Dza96j.jpg
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:53 AM   #7
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
It's good for arts though.
https://i.imgur.com/1Dza96j.jpg

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 12:00 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,026
Default

Ack, dumb mistake. Fixed for the next build!

... which is now posted, 5.965+dev0112a.

Last edited by schwa; 01-12-2019 at 01:04 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 01:25 PM   #9
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,651
Default

Moving env points inside AI seems to work now in 5.965+dev0112a, thanks for the quick fix.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 03:29 PM   #10
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v5.965+dev0112 - January 12 2019[*]+ Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images
Could we please get clarification on how this works? Does this mean it loads these images depending on how "Record input/output/off" is defined?

Thanks,
Mike
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 05:27 PM   #11
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeroephonics View Post
Does this mean it loads these images depending on how "Record input/output/off" is defined?
Yes. When you hit the record arm button, it lights up and by default, you are ready to record. If you only want to say, monitor the input, you then have to select Record: disable (input monitoring only). But you can't tell straight from the recarm button at what state it is. Now if you add those new images, they will get called whenever the recarm button is armed and set to Record: disable.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 07:55 PM   #12
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Now if you add those new images, they will get called whenever the recarm button is armed and set to Record: disable.
Oooh, nice! Hopefully such images will be in the official theme as well, if they aren't already.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:41 PM   #13
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,485
Default

Quote:
[*]+ ReaScript: support UTF-8 os.remove()/os.rename() on Windows
Many thanks!!
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:56 AM   #14
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 538
Default

+ Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images

This is very cool! Thank you!

Any chance that you could make:

mcp_recarm_auto_norec.png

mcp_recarm_norec.png

act like:

mcp_recarm_on (sliced-button):
*If not found, falls back to track_recarm_on.

mcp_recarm_auto_on (sliced-button):
*If not found, falls back to track_recarm_auto_on.

I use the same elements whenever possible to keep the theme lightweight.

__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 10:43 AM   #15
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v5.965+dev0112 - January 12 2019
[*]+ Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images
[/list]
Nice one! Time to do a theme update.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:02 AM   #16
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,026
Default

This is what "+ Envelopes: prevent rendering curved segments as discrete points" does -- old behavior on top, new behavior on bottom:

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:06 AM   #17
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,438
Default

Looks good Schwa. One suggestion though; would it be possible to keep the curve type in the area left behind? In your example above, it changes from curved to linear after the drag.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:44 AM   #18
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This is what "+ Envelopes: prevent rendering curved segments as discrete points" does -- old behavior on top, new behavior on bottom:
Thanks for the heads up.

FWIW, Nothing new I guess, but (when doing what you shown above) the points don't even move if set to say fast start/bezier type unless,'Media Items' is enabled for option 'Automatically add edge points when editing'. Is that the expected behavior?

Last edited by Edgemeal; 01-13-2019 at 11:57 AM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:06 PM   #19
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
In your example above, it changes from curved to linear after the drag.
No, it doesn't.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:08 PM   #20
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
In your example above, it changes from curved to linear after the drag.
It doesn't at all.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:41 PM   #21
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 5,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
No, it doesn't.
I see it too.

The intial left side env under item is a curve, item moves and is existing left side env replaced by a straight line.

Look at The 3rd beat of bar 3.
Env level ends up noticably higher than initial state

Edit: whether desirable or not - that is what is being referred to
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:48 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,026
Default

You can test it yourself

Is this clearer?

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:50 PM   #23
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,835
Default

They meant this part, schwa, I think. The state of that segment before you dragged the item out was not linear, but after dragging, it became linear.

EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:50 PM   #24
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,304
Default

Hey, I want an Awesome license too.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.2_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:53 PM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
They meant this part, schwa, I think. The state of that segment before you dragged the item out was not linear, but after dragging, it became linear.
Oh, well that's unchanged behavior. If "envelope points move with media items" is enabled and you move (not copy) the media item, the envelope segment is moved, leaving a straight line where it used to be.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 01:03 PM   #26
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 5,238
Default

Makes Dave's request valid tho
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:01 PM   #27
mehmethan
Human being with feelings
 
mehmethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post

Sorry, this is unrelated with the pre-release but please check 4 th second of this giff. It says schwa has an "AWESOME" license while I have a nothing special license it is because Schwa is developer or is there something else I need to know to make my licence awesome?
mehmethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:35 PM   #28
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,835
Default

It's because he's a dev
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:36 PM   #29
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
Makes Dave's request valid tho
Perhaps it would be more logical to not have new points created on the left behind envelope.
Or am I missing something important here?
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:41 PM   #30
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
Perhaps it would be more logical to not have new points created on the left behind envelope.
Or am I missing something important here?
I agree.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 03:18 PM   #31
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,309
Default

+1000

The state of that segment before the dragged should be the same (no new created points left behind and the same curve type than before).


Any news about the previous AI transition issue on the automation volume track of a track which recieves u-he synths audio ?

Last edited by ovnis; 01-13-2019 at 03:28 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 03:30 PM   #32
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Travesty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 420
Default

Yeah, I agree
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:01 PM   #33
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,422
Default

A bad thing happening here with item envelopes
I'm using take volume envelope, splitting or using ripple delete make the envelope jump to the top or bottom where in previous versions it would be unaffected. Actions to alter envelope segment are also misbehaving on items.

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:16 PM   #34
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
Perhaps it would be more logical to not have new points created on the left behind envelope.
Or am I missing something important here?
isn't that the "add edge points when moving points with items" option turned off? if it's off it can't grab that curve because there are no points near the item



@schwa seems that this new envelope curve thing is not working with slow start/end curve


Before (slow start/end curve)



After (bezier, very linear like)

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:29 PM   #35
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
isn't that the "add edge points when moving points with items" option turned off? if it's off it can't grab that curve because there are no points near the item
When this options is enabeld, normally it doesn't create new points on the left behind envelope.

Last edited by ovnis; 01-13-2019 at 04:59 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:06 PM   #36
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by +NRG View Post
+ Themes: add [track|mcp]_recarm_[auto_]norec images

This is very cool! Thank you!

Any chance that you could make:

mcp_recarm_auto_norec.png

mcp_recarm_norec.png

act like:

mcp_recarm_on (sliced-button):
*If not found, falls back to track_recarm_on.

mcp_recarm_auto_on (sliced-button):
*If not found, falls back to track_recarm_auto_on.

I use the same elements whenever possible to keep the theme lightweight.

Hmm can't really, because it will break other themes.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:54 PM   #37
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,108
Default

I moved this post from a FR-thread to here, where it's more appropriate

@ChristopherT

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...91&postcount=2 explains a lot about that.

The themes have all sorts of graphics stored in them, for buttons pressed, look of tracks, etc etc.
You can add now new graphics to a theme like:

For TrackControlPanel:
track_recarm_norec.png
track_recarm_auto_norec.png

For Mixer Control Panel:
mcp_recarm_norec.png
mcp_recarm_auto_norec.png

which will be used as graphics for the states "Rec is armed, but recording isn't running(e.g. track_recarm_norec.png)" and "Rec is Autoarmed, but recording isn't running(e.g. track_recarm_auto_norec.png)".

That means, these graphics will be shown in these cases, instead of the normal RecArm-button-graphics.

This can be added now to themes, even by yourself. Just look into the ColorThemes folder of the ressources-folder for theme you are currently using. Search for the Rec-Arm-button-graphics (something with recarm with tcp and mcp in the name), open them, color them green and save them with the new filenames mentioned above IN THE SAME FOLDER as the normal RecArm-Button.

If I understood it correctly, it should work immediately after reloading the theme/restarting Reaper.

Works only with the dev-pre-releases yet, though. So you need to install them first.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 06:31 PM   #38
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm can't really, because it will break other themes.
Understood, thanks!
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 06:39 PM   #39
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 493
Default

Thank you Mespotine for the great explanation!

Looking forward to this next update
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 07:35 PM   #40
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This is what "+ Envelopes: prevent rendering curved segments as discrete points" does -- old behavior on top, new behavior on bottom:
Very nice, the old behavior was not desireable new one is perfect thanks
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.