Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2007, 08:51 AM   #81
ieso
Human being with feelings
 
ieso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 482
Default

It would be cool to ReaMote between the PC version and the Mac version. My impression is that a lot of people are currently transitioning from windows to a Macintel machine but their older machines are still very capable in some respects and it would be a bonus to slave the old machine to the new mac. Is that or would it even be technically possible?
ieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:14 AM   #82
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm duchenne View Post
For me (G4, 10.4.8) these two plugs like some other VSTs are GUIless, only a white empty window (see my previous post).
If the Arrange window is closed, New and Open is not available : is this normal ?
yeah the VST config stuff is _FAR_ from done..
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 08:32 PM   #83
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,266
Default

Mac preview screenshot please? Never mind. I found it.

Last edited by Lawrence; 03-09-2007 at 07:39 AM.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 09:39 PM   #84
deva
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

So far the Reaper OSX preview has been very solid for me. No crashes or issues other than lots of stuff not there yet.

The audio editing is sweet... I'll likely be one of those asking for midi improvements, but cannot say much until the existing midi is added.

I'll be purchasing Reaper as soon as the OSX version has caught up.
deva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 08:53 PM   #85
ballpein
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default

this looks very promising, I'll be putting off my Logic Pro purchase and watching this closely.
ballpein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 06:56 PM   #86
20.19
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The mac version will get a mixer view (like the PC version has) eventually..

waiting patientlly

love what the PC version can do - & hate editing mulitrack audio in Logic so I think I will be a very happy Reaper user once rewire & mixer are implemented.

So far having no issues with osx version, I've chucked the multitrack files from a recent project into Reaper and its doing nicely. I'll do a proper mix this wekend see how we go with automation etc.
20.19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 07:04 PM   #87
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,266
Default

Somebody post a recent screenshot of the Alpha/Beta on the mac side so us PC users can see it. The earlier screenshot looked sweet.

Thanks.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 10:46 PM   #88
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

amazing to see this on my macpro.

i just boought it so i could use reaper and i'am selling my pt rig!

i can't wait til its more full blown with vst plug-ins so i can mix!
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 08:24 AM   #89
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default found a blow-up

I can reliably crash reaper in osx 10.4.9 .

I add vst directories and hit clear cache and rescan, and bam!

crash.
N

(the plugs in case it matters are urs eq's and motu mach 5)
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 09:36 AM   #90
ieso
Human being with feelings
 
ieso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 482
Default

I may be wrong but I don't think plugins work on this version yet.

I loaded some JS plugs but they didn't do anything at all.

My understanding is that we'll be waiting for months before we have Mac version that is comparable to the PC version.

I'm sure others will chime in if I'm off base on this.
ieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 11:44 AM   #91
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

what i read was that a few plug-ins work but have no ui.

Justin said he wanted to know what can make reaper blow up in a repeatable fashion.

So i'am in that spirit adding my experience!

I can't wait for more features!

n

Last edited by mahasandi; 03-18-2007 at 11:46 AM.
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:23 PM   #92
severe
Human being with feelings
 
severe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 4
Default tic..toc..tic..toc..

I CAN'T WAIT ANYMORE!!!


wheew... that's better.
severe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:50 PM   #93
no exit records
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by severe View Post
I CAN'T WAIT ANYMORE!!!


wheew... that's better.
I feel your pain.
no exit records is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 05:36 AM   #94
le gruyere
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default

am i wrong or is an external editor needed to edit audio within reaper?
by double clicking aif files a pop up starts. "no external editor for this media. see preferences."

any suggestions?

thanx
le gruyere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 08:18 AM   #95
Tonehenge
Human being with feelings
 
Tonehenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 738
Default Justin...I'm curious...

Has coding for the Mac been more difficult than for PC? I'm curious, because this may be a peek into how difficult it would be to port Reaper to Linux....or does porting to OSX accomplish the lion's share of that task?
Tonehenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 09:11 AM   #96
olzzon
Human being with feelings
 
olzzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonehenge View Post
Has coding for the Mac been more difficult than for PC? I'm curious, because this may be a peek into how difficult it would be to port Reaper to Linux....or does porting to OSX accomplish the lion's share of that task?
On the main page it says, that a mac osx version will come at q4 of 2007.
Right now instead of pushing it, he´s probably preparing the code for it. That looks like a clever choice IMO.
And it will probably end up more mature and stable that way.
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. That´s why some people appear bright until you hear them speak
Kasper Olsson Hans
olzzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 09:40 AM   #97
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

that may be true ..... no your right, thats sensible, but....



please !!!!!!!!!! anything !~!!!!!! just a little bone....

eh hmm



no really i'am o.k. ........... Its just this program is so damn

good i can't wait for more features to trickle down!
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 09:45 AM   #98
olzzon
Human being with feelings
 
olzzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
that may be true ..... no your right, thats sensible, but....



please !!!!!!!!!! anything !~!!!!!! just a little bone....

eh hmm



no really i'am o.k. ........... Its just this program is so damn

good i can't wait for more features to trickle down!
hehe
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. That´s why some people appear bright until you hear them speak
Kasper Olsson Hans
olzzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 12:37 AM   #99
nateucas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default rendering

Anyone else having trouble rendering? i even tried to load the project on a windows computer but wav files are hidden (i can't find them anyway?!?!?).
nateucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 02:07 PM   #100
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nateucas View Post
Anyone else having trouble rendering? i even tried to load the project on a windows computer but wav files are hidden (i can't find them anyway?!?!?).
rendering on os x isnt support yet.. we'll be adding that soon...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 04:11 PM   #101
no exit records
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Is the current Mac preview build solid enough to record basic tracks? I don't need to mix/master/edit at the moment, but I do need to start tracking soon --- would prefer to use Reaper.
no exit records is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 06:05 PM   #102
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no exit records View Post
Is the current Mac preview build solid enough to record basic tracks? I don't need to mix/master/edit at the moment, but I do need to start tracking soon --- would prefer to use Reaper.
We've only done limited testing thus far.. I'm going to actually test doing some 16 track recording in the coming week on the mac side.. I'll post the results here when I do..
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 06:16 PM   #103
no exit records
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We've only done limited testing thus far.. I'm going to actually test doing some 16 track recording in the coming week on the mac side.. I'll post the results here when I do..
Thanks for the quick response. Looking forward to your tests.

Also, I'm not sure if this is a known bug, but on my Macbook Pro, reaper will not maximize after I have minimized it. Just thought I would give a heads up.
no exit records is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 06:28 AM   #104
ieso
Human being with feelings
 
ieso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 482
Default

the new mac pro 8 core
http://www.apple.com/macpro/
ieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 08:48 PM   #105
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

i've got about 12 songs varying from 6-20 track sessions running .

on a macpro 10.4.9

Using with a mobile i/o 2882 and a lavry blue ad/da thru it no problem

playback is perfect / recording is perfect but i havn't recorded more then a few

tracks simultaneously yet though, however not one glitch yet.

Thanks Justin Keep it coming!!!!!!!

Last edited by mahasandi; 04-07-2007 at 08:54 PM.
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 03:34 PM   #106
no exit records
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
i've got about 12 songs varying from 6-20 track sessions running .

on a macpro 10.4.9

Using with a mobile i/o 2882 and a lavry blue ad/da thru it no problem

playback is perfect / recording is perfect but i havn't recorded more then a few

tracks simultaneously yet though, however not one glitch yet.

Thanks Justin Keep it coming!!!!!!!

Good to hear. I have a metric halo ULN-2 on the way and plan on tracking with Reaper in the near future. I will post my thoughts once I have had some time to play around with it.

Also, anybody else having a problem maximizing reaper after it has been minimized to the dock?
no exit records is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 05:20 PM   #107
20.19
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
Default

I'll give that a shot no exit, see if my G4 PB does it as well - Reaper osx works great with my ULN2 - havn't done alot with it but its been solid so far.
20.19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 06:14 PM   #108
mrgrimm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Hello Justin,

when can we expect an updated mac preview build?

thanks,
Oliver
mrgrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 06:27 PM   #109
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

Probably next week.. colorthemes will be working, and I'm hoping to get the render dialogs done...

and it'll get lots of the updates of the windows builds (better peaks for one

They actually look fantastic on the mac... mmmm Quartz draws real nice like..

-Justin
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 06:31 PM   #110
mrgrimm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Probably next week.. colorthemes will be working, and I'm hoping to get the render dialogs done...

and it'll get lots of the updates of the windows builds (better peaks for one

They actually look fantastic on the mac... mmmm Quartz draws real nice like..

-Justin
great to hear that, cant wait!
mrgrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 03:11 PM   #111
pdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Probably next week.. colorthemes will be working, and I'm hoping to get the render dialogs done...

and it'll get lots of the updates of the windows builds (better peaks for one

They actually look fantastic on the mac... mmmm Quartz draws real nice like..

-Justin
Cool. Now if it will be compatible with 10.3.9 I will be happy.
pdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:32 PM   #112
deva
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Probably next week.. colorthemes will be working, and I'm hoping to get the render dialogs done...

and it'll get lots of the updates of the windows builds (better peaks for one

They actually look fantastic on the mac... mmmm Quartz draws real nice like..

-Justin
shweet!!!

(extra exclamations to make 10 characters)
deva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:49 PM   #113
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Probably next week.. colorthemes will be working, and I'm hoping to get the render dialogs done...

and it'll get lots of the updates of the windows builds (better peaks for one

They actually look fantastic on the mac... mmmm Quartz draws real nice like..

-Justin
Sweet Justin! Will the keyboard commands be customizable too? I don't think I can work without my set.

*But I'll take it for a spin anyway!
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 06:39 AM   #114
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
Sweet Justin! Will the keyboard commands be customizable too? I don't think I can work without my set.

*But I'll take it for a spin anyway!

For the most part they should work, but no UI for it yet.. you could copy the right file to the right place, though...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 12:41 PM   #115
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

OK updated the original post with the preview version 0.30, dated april 12 2007!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 12:48 PM   #116
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

A screenshot:

Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:52 PM   #117
charles.monteiro
Human being with feelings
 
charles.monteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 906
Default

From a Reaper perspectives are there any benefits to running on Macs i.e. what do I get out of it? I understand that die hard Mac users now get to use Reaper but in general are there any real benefits as far as Reaper to running on the Mac as compared to Win XP Pro, as compared to Win64?

I wonder because I have an old G4 sitting here at home collecting dust.

As an aside and somebody that has always had his PCs custom built, it seems to be that it still the case that you can get more machine for the money on the PC side, also easier/cheaper to upgrade and music apps have been running quite well on PCs now for a while.

So Justin, besides the fact the fact that you all get a larger potential market, what benefits do you see for user to run Reaper on a Mac?

thanks
charles.monteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 09:05 PM   #118
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.monteiro View Post
From a Reaper perspectives are there any benefits to running on Macs i.e. what do I get out of it? I understand that die hard Mac users now get to use Reaper but in general are there any real benefits as far as Reaper to running on the Mac as compared to Win XP Pro, as compared to Win64?

I wonder because I have an old G4 sitting here at home collecting dust.

As an aside and somebody that has always had his PCs custom built, it seems to be that it still the case that you can get more machine for the money on the PC side, also easier/cheaper to upgrade and music apps have been running quite well on PCs now for a while.
The Apple thing isn't about hardware any more. (And in retrospect, IMHO, it never really was at least since the really meagre G4 machines from Apple.) Technically it's been about Apple's operating systems allegedly being far superior than any Microsoft Windows ever. And of course there is the whole Apple image thing, "it's cool to own and use a Mac"...And so on...

Ok, but I don't wanna start any futile platform wars here! I actually think it's very good that Reaper now gets developed on OS-X, it'll be a very nice and hopefully not too expensive (in the future) alternative to Pro Tools LE, Garage Band and similar softwares on the Mac...

-X

Last edited by Xenakios; 04-12-2007 at 09:13 PM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 09:39 PM   #119
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,796
Default

It's really about personal preference.. there's no huge advantage of one platform over the other... and once REAPER gets fully up to speed on the mac it should be similar (though I do think MSVC optimizes more than gcc, but anyway).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 12:08 AM   #120
deva
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.monteiro View Post
From a Reaper perspectives are there any benefits to running on Macs i.e. what do I get out of it? I understand that die hard Mac users now get to use Reaper but in general are there any real benefits as far as Reaper to running on the Mac as compared to Win XP Pro, as compared to Win64?

I wonder because I have an old G4 sitting here at home collecting dust.

As an aside and somebody that has always had his PCs custom built, it seems to be that it still the case that you can get more machine for the money on the PC side, also easier/cheaper to upgrade and music apps have been running quite well on PCs now for a while.

So Justin, besides the fact the fact that you all get a larger potential market, what benefits do you see for user to run Reaper on a Mac?

thanks
I doubt there is any advantage for the PC user to switch, but of course, for the mac user, having an OSX port means Reaper is available. A nice advantage.

I edit video, and use Final Cut, so I am Mac based and not likely to change what with thousands of dollars of software, time, and projects invested.
deva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.