Old 02-15-2018, 07:07 PM   #1
jesus4c
Human being with feelings

Default Newbie question - how to fix a script.

I'm very new to Reaper and know absolutely nothing about scripts, but have come from a long background of video editing and one of THE most useful key combinations I use every day is J-K-L to shuttle (scrub) forwards or backwards at various speeds.

And I've found the perfect scripts to do the job: https://github.com/fernsehmuell/reaper_scripts

BUT the J key doesn't quite do what it's supposed to. In his description, fernsehmuell has the following:
'If you have problems using the Reverse_Play_Shuttle_(J) script or renamed the background-script, then you have to edit the script and insert the new command_id.'

Can someone tell me exactly how to do this? I can see how to edit a script within Reaper, but have no idea what to insert and where. (I have messaged fernsehmuell with this question, but haven't received a reply)
jesus4c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 04:07 AM   #2
X-Raym

It mostly depends how they are broken, there is no generic ways to fix a problem,

In your case I think the keyboard shortcoded onto the script name (this doesnt seem optimum), so to modify it you have to change name and reimport files in action list, and maybe change a command ID inside the background script.

But the real problem you have to exposed is

- what was the expected behavior ?
- what is the undesired output ?

This is how problem can be (hopefully) solved, or at least, investigated.

Screen capture helps a lot ;P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 09:37 PM   #3
jesus4c

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
It mostly depends how they are broken, there is no generic ways to fix a problem,

In your case I think the keyboard shortcoded onto the script name (this doesnt seem optimum), so to modify it you have to change name and reimport files in action list, and maybe change a command ID inside the background script.