Old 09-18-2017, 01:55 PM   #1
Monroy
Human being with feelings
 
Monroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 283
Default RME UCX. Question about performance.

Hi,

I would like to buy RME UCX in future. Does UCX can handle this performance:
- 48kHz/24bit
- 24 tracks with some plugins
- 2.0/2.0 latency reported in Reaper
Monroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 10:06 PM   #2
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,446
Default

Individually, the answer to all those questions is yes.

However how many tracks and plugins you can run at a specific buffer size varies with the power of your computer, it's dpc latency characteristics, and exactly how much cpu power the plugins your are using require.

The RME UCX is about as good as it gets for latency, and performance under high system load with an external interface.
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 01:42 AM   #3
Monroy
Human being with feelings
 
Monroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 283
Default

Thanks! I guess that you are UCX user.

I need that low latency just for recording few tracks at the same time. Probably max 4 tracks. FX that will be on tracks is few amp sims (TH3) and Addictive Drums.

If I would like to handle 2.0/2.0 reported latency in Reaper, which buffer in UCX need to be set? The lowest? And is necessary FW connection or can be USB?
Monroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 02:20 PM   #4
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 499
Default

USB is fine. Win I guess?

With 2.0 I guess you mean milliseconds which is doable with the interface. The settings are in samples. 64 samples will give you 1.9/2.2ms in Reaper. Of course loading heavy plugins like denoiser or so won't make much sense with that setting. But the usual things will work of course.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 12:02 AM   #5
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,446
Default

Quote:
Thanks! I guess that you are UCX user.
Nope, but I do build DAW systems for other people.
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:02 AM   #6
Monroy
Human being with feelings
 
Monroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luster View Post
USB is fine. Win I guess?

With 2.0 I guess you mean milliseconds which is doable with the interface. The settings are in samples. 64 samples will give you 1.9/2.2ms in Reaper. Of course loading heavy plugins like denoiser or so won't make much sense with that setting. But the usual things will work of course.
64 samples on 48kHz equal about 4ms roundtrip - it looks good!

BTW, I think about less cost alternative: https://www.thomann.de/gb/rme_digi_9652_hdsp.htm

but with this card I need external preamps with ADAT. With UCX I've got all in one small box.
Monroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:07 AM   #7
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,417
Default

I bought my 9652 HDSP yearsa ago and it still rocks (inluding up to date drivers and totalmix) under win10pro.

I have run it with 8,16 and 24 inas and outs via both behringer ADAs and Focusrite Octopres with really really low latency possible. Cracking bit of kit, especially with the new-ish Behtringer ADA8200 available AND knocking down the used vale of the original ADA8000.
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:30 AM   #8
metal_priest
Human being with feelings
 
metal_priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Padova
Posts: 1,371
Default

Quote:
I need that low latency just for recording few tracks at the same time. Probably max 4 tracks. FX that will be on tracks is few amp sims (TH3) and Addictive Drums.
----
but with this card I need external preamps with ADAT. With UCX I've got all in one small box.
UCX has only 2 mic preamps..in you need to record 4 tracks then you need an external preamp too - analog and/or adat- (unless you record with DI or line signals like a keyboard).

Anyway, I just did buy at the studio where I work a UCX, here we do recordings only of voice actors so just one mic at time and I'm very happy with it
__________________
Il mio sito
add me on Linkedin!
metal_priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.