Old 04-30-2018, 04:27 PM   #1
vdk-john
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Default Windows 10 April 2018 Update

Hello,
if you're already using Windows 10 April 2018 Update (1803), does Reaper work fine for you?

To me (v. 5.80) does not seem to work properly as I always get the "WASAPI error: could not initialize shared input device" message no matter what device I select.

Thanks

Edit: actually using ASIO it seems to work, but I had to restart Reaper. So the issue seems to be limited to the WASAPI drivers.

Last edited by vdk-john; 04-30-2018 at 04:36 PM.
vdk-john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 11:19 PM   #2
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,798
Default

I finally allowed my Win10 PC to update and got 1803, both Reaper and CakeWalk said they couldn't connect to audio device when set to WASAPI, ASIO still worked. Restored sys from backup image, WASAPI working again, way to go MS!

FWIW the system is from mid 2012, Asus Z77 / i5-3570K / Intel iGPU.

Last edited by Edgemeal; 05-01-2018 at 12:29 AM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 11:58 PM   #3
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 477
Default

works fine here.
(So far!)
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 12:58 AM   #4
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 335
Default

A few Plugin authorizations needed to be reauthorized (XLN & sonic charge).

As for Reaper I've had an issue of plugins randomly not being instantiated when opening subprojects after prolonged usage. Quitting and reopening reaper solves the issue.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 04:47 AM   #5
24toReaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 21
Default

I had the same Problem:
Asio worked, but Windows-Driver didn't. (No Skype, no GotoMeeting...)

I had to enable "Microphone" in "Windows10Settings" -> "Privacy"
(This option was for WindowsApps only in former Windows-Versions)

Greetings
24toReaper
24toReaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 06:00 AM   #6
vidalsh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: madrid/spain
Posts: 913
Default

in this windows update, if I open sylenth plug in, reaper crash and close...
vidalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 03:10 PM   #7
vdk-john
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 24toReaper View Post
I had to enable "Microphone" in "Windows10Settings" -> "Privacy"
(This option was for WindowsApps only in former Windows-Versions)
Thanks 24toReaper,
that did the trick!
vdk-john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 10:23 AM   #8
EricSpace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Default Reaper stuck - no longer opening

Hi! I've just installed the April update and now when I start Reaper, Windows opens a device driver installer and remains stuck in "Preparing to install..." while the Reaper window says "Initializing Main Window".

The audio interface Steinberg UR22 continues to work in other applications (even Reaper/Windows is trying to install something).

Does anybody know a fix for this? It's pretty bad, I can't open any project!
EricSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 11:02 AM   #9
EricSpace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Update: I fixed it by removing and reinstalling the Steinberg Driver. I also switched off the "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" in advanced audio driver settings, so I don't know which of the two things did the trick.
EricSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 11:45 AM   #10
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 183
Default

I use a Steinberg UR12 and I also had to re-install the driver after the update. Everything else is fine.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 12:43 PM   #11
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 477
Default

some of my keyboard symbols moved places but fixed that with settings changes - still seems pretty stable.
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 07:37 AM   #12
OkAtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2
Default No recording possible since 1803...

Can't record anything from Xonar LineIn or Realtek Audio using Reaper, iZotope RX6, SoundForge v11 etc...
All recording softwares are reporting Device Error, while Reaper recordings are blank !
OkAtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 08:25 AM   #13
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OkAtan View Post
Can't record anything from Xonar LineIn or Realtek Audio using Reaper, iZotope RX6, SoundForge v11 etc...
All recording softwares are reporting Device Error, while Reaper recordings are blank !
So reinstall those drivers and/or try the "Privacy" fix listed earlier in the thread.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 09:33 AM   #14
OkAtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
So reinstall those drivers and/or try the "Privacy" fix listed earlier in the thread.
Windows would not allow to install original Xonar drivers but the Privacy settings fixed it, Thanks much Stella645, much apreciated !
OkAtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 09:39 PM   #15
Voss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default

Yeah, I recently moved house and just now got to allowing the update. I also updated to Reaper 5.90. For some reason reaper now stutters once a quarter second when I try to play back. I have some sample intense projects that I am working on so I made a new project and put one Eastwest Hollywood strings sample on it. Same stutter on playback.

I then made a new project and just added Synth1 and the playback is still stuttered.

Everything was working fine before the update. Not sure what to do. I went ahead and updated iLok and will see if Kontackt and Play need updating as well.

I have a Focusrite 18i8 a/d interface running through USB. I kind of would like to get back to work so if anyone can help, please do. I am not the most technical person so if you guys need more information, just ask and I will post.
Voss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 12:54 AM   #16
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 477
Default

Check your audio driver settings are what they should be after the upgrade.
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 03:59 AM   #17
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Make sure windows power management is set high performance and usb selective suspend is disabled.
Basically check any windows tweaks you may have made that might have been reset.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 02:25 PM   #18
Voss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace View Post
Check your audio driver settings are what they should be after the upgrade.

That was it. The update switched it from 44.1k to 96k. I switched it back to 44.1k and it Seems to be working now. Thanks for the help guys. I really appreciate it. I got my first paid contract coming up and was beginning to stress out a bit.

Last edited by Voss; 05-26-2018 at 02:26 PM. Reason: Poor sentence structure.
Voss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 09:55 AM   #19
chj
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Default MAKE SURE MICROPHONE IS ON IN WIN SETTINGS

This setting is deeply ambigious, because Windows treats a microphone and an audio input device as a MICROPHONE. Both are the same type of devices as Windows sees it.

If you turn of MIC in SETTINGS, then your turn of all input devices as well. What a trap, because the apps that uses the input devices, as well as system drivers like wasapi, have no way of identifying this as the problem.
chj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.