Old 06-25-2019, 01:01 PM   #1
danmer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Default Problems with recording, Help!

Hi.

I just started learning the reaper, but I'm not a beginner. I sort of set it up correctly, but the program writes each new track and writes the previous one. What should I disable? Thanks!
danmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 01:09 PM   #2
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

Could you be a bit more explicit please?

Could you explain what you mean exactly by "the program writes each new track and writes the previous one."

Do you mean when you record a new track it records over the previous one?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 01:21 PM   #3
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,242
Default

I'll take a stab.

Default is for the play head to return to where you started from after hitting stop. The beginning of the project for example.

Then you hit record again.

Default for writing new items over previously recorded items is to use the take system. That puts the new recorded audio into those original items you recorded on the first pass. There's a workflow feature set with that and it's tied to a comp feature too.

I'm not a fan of that, so I prefer the option that stacks up new takes in individual items in lanes: Options > New recordings that overlap existing media items > Creates new media items in separate lanes

But that's probably getting ahead of things!

If you simply clicked and placed the play head after the end of the first recording, it would simply record as normal again. If you record over the top of existing items, there are options and preferences for how you want Reaper to handle that.

There are preference settings to control all this stuff and 1000's of things beyond.


Was that it?
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 12:09 PM   #4
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,213
Default

Perhaps you're saying every track you record also records all previous tracks to the new one??

In which case turn off the loopback function of your audio interface.
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 12:51 PM   #5
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

also worth checking WHICH tracks you have record armed when you hit the record button.

Have fun & welcome!
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 06:33 PM   #6
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

Yeah, the defaulting to the take system has confused many DAW experienced Reaper first timers, myself included. As well as what sera suggests, you could try, In Options/New Recording That Overlaps Existing Media, putting it on Trims Existing Media Behind New Recording (tape mode).
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 07:07 AM   #7
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danmer View Post
Hi.

I just started learning the reaper, but I'm not a beginner. I sort of set it up correctly, but the program writes each new track and writes the previous one. What should I disable? Thanks!
I see you are still searching for solution in the Russian forum when I'm pretty sure the correct answer is already here.

Re-recording of all previous audio to new tracks is most commonly caused by having loopback function of your interface enabled.
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.