Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2020, 01:24 AM   #281
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejanejarr View Post
The script seems to have trouble recognizing some VST3 instruments (at least on Mac), and there have been times when a template has lost all mapping thou that might be me doing something wrong.

Also, the 'Use Module Name Detection' function is confusing, to me at least.

But glad to hear compatibility won't be a problem!
With module name detection - it will identify the plugin using it's module name (the plugin filename). Without it - it will use the current name as it appears in the mixer (allowing multiple templates for a single plugin - if they are named differently).

Some software devs plugin range use a single wrapper for all their plugins (like Waves uses Waveshell). This means module name detection will not work for those plugins (if you use more than one).

There may be issues with my code when detecting Mac plugins also - I don't on a Mac. I'll see if I spot anything.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 02:20 AM   #282
ejanejarr
Human being with feelings
 
ejanejarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 114
Default

I'm just happy this exists since Stripper is still too intimidating (documentation badly needed).
ejanejarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 08:48 AM   #283
billybuck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 116
Default

lb0, thanks for this great script. I'm using it in conjunction with goldenarpharazon's controller script for the Akai MIDIMix. Previously, I never used the Akai for anything other than riding track faders in real time for volume automation, due to the time it takes to map controls to fx. With your script, I'm starting to use those 24 upper knobs.

I'm new to lua, but I'm wondering how hard it would be to modify the script to include variables for "columns" and "rows" that could be user-edited in the script and change how it draws the GUI. This would provide a way for us to make the strip match the general layout of our controllers, making it easier to reference slot X on the GUI to knob X on a device. For example, a user with the common keyboard control layout of 8 knobs over 8 faders would use rows=2, columns=8, or a Midi Fighter Twister would be rows=4, columns=4. Then, instead of drawing a vertical strip, the GUI would lay out the slots in that configuration.

That visual correlation between the GUI and controller would really take things up a notch because currently if I just see, say, ReaEQ gain for upper mids is in slot 17, I have to do some quick math and think "row 3, knob 1" (the Akai has 3 rows of 8 knobs).

These 2 variables would also satisfy the inevitable user requests for custom templates for this or that device.
billybuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 02:25 PM   #284
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybuck View Post
lb0, thanks for this great script. I'm using it in conjunction with goldenarpharazon's controller script for the Akai MIDIMix. Previously, I never used the Akai for anything other than riding track faders in real time for volume automation, due to the time it takes to map controls to fx. With your script, I'm starting to use those 24 upper knobs.

I'm new to lua, but I'm wondering how hard it would be to modify the script to include variables for "columns" and "rows" that could be user-edited in the script and change how it draws the GUI. This would provide a way for us to make the strip match the general layout of our controllers, making it easier to reference slot X on the GUI to knob X on a device. For example, a user with the common keyboard control layout of 8 knobs over 8 faders would use rows=2, columns=8, or a Midi Fighter Twister would be rows=4, columns=4. Then, instead of drawing a vertical strip, the GUI would lay out the slots in that configuration.

That visual correlation between the GUI and controller would really take things up a notch because currently if I just see, say, ReaEQ gain for upper mids is in slot 17, I have to do some quick math and think "row 3, knob 1" (the Akai has 3 rows of 8 knobs).

These 2 variables would also satisfy the inevitable user requests for custom templates for this or that device.
Hi,

Due to the way it's coded - it would be quite a big ask (not impossible - just quite a bit of work) to do this.

And for this version of the script - I'm not really developing it other than fixing bugs.

However - SK2 is in the works (as I'm sure you've read) - and this does allow for a graphics layout when assigning controls.

Eg:



But the script's still a work in progress - and I only have graphics for XTouch/XTouch extender and SSL Nucleus.

But it would be possible for the user to add graphics for their controllers with a bit of work (ie. the user would have to create a text file with the necessary hit areas for each button in the image - and would also need to cut holes (make transparent areas) in the controller image where each control is). Overall - it took me roughly a few hours for the XTouch one in the image.

The main SK2 window however still looks similar to the SK1 version - but you can expand into columns by making the gui wider (however it will fill vertically first before starting a new column).
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 02:51 PM   #285
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post

Oh dear lord.

That really looks like it could make my dreams come true.

Is there a plan to be able to sort of change presets? Like all the knobs control a plugin and then changing presets and now its controlling track controls?

Just curious.

Really big fan of your work Leon.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 03:13 PM   #286
grandfougue
Human being with feelings
 
grandfougue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 190
Default

WOW big news thank you I'm already a fan but it kills
grandfougue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 04:09 PM   #287
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
Oh dear lord.

That really looks like it could make my dreams come true.

Is there a plan to be able to sort of change presets? Like all the knobs control a plugin and then changing presets and now its controlling track controls?

Just curious.

Really big fan of your work Leon.
There are different modes - plugin mode - controls focused plugin, but you can add overlays to include other things such as actions/track parameters/ internal stuff.

Also track mode - which focuses the selected track - control CC's etc - and again - you can add overlays of anything else.

As well as a permanent layer - which is always mapped to the same thing - useful for transport controls etc.


Anyway - been discussing with the the team involved with SK2 - and we're hoping it will be ready early summer - which will give us time to get the main required functionality finished - and also necessary documentation and other bits and pieces.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 04:36 PM   #288
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 320
Default

Sounds lovely Truly!

Can't wait!


Also if you need more people on your team I'd love to be of some help.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 05:08 AM   #289
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 326
Default

Wow it looks amazing !
I'd wish we could releave the burden of documentation from your shoulders, so you could spend more time scripting (or whatever you want to, of course !) and less time explaining them...
Sadly I don't have enough time for doing it on my own, that's why I raised the idea of a wiki. What do you think about it ? We could share the parts beetween users who are willing to, then add whatever is needed and you could always verify if it is correct or not.
Best way of presenting would be text, pics and gifs Imho.
Obviously, it Would need some thinking about the general structure guide before anything.
Regisfofo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 06:05 AM   #290
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regisfofo View Post
Wow it looks amazing !
I'd wish we could releave the burden of documentation from your shoulders, so you could spend more time scripting (or whatever you want to, of course !) and less time explaining them...
Sadly I don't have enough time for doing it on my own, that's why I raised the idea of a wiki. What do you think about it ? We could share the parts beetween users who are willing to, then add whatever is needed and you could always verify if it is correct or not.
Best way of presenting would be text, pics and gifs Imho.
Obviously, it Would need some thinking about the general structure guide before anything.
Thanks - I had a discussion with the guys I'm working with last night - and I think they're going to take on documenting SK2 - so I don't have to spend extra time on it. But I'm sure they'll chirp here if they would like any additional help.

Of course - if you want to do any documenting - Wiki style - or set something up - then that would always be useful to others - and others could add stuff that's missing...

I know Stripper needs documentation - and it's constantly requested - so a wiki might be a really good idea for that.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 06:48 AM   #291
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 326
Default

Nice to know SK2 will be covered in that area! And yes stripper do badly require it for sure! I'll continue in that subject in the good thread...
Regisfofo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 05:28 AM   #292
gba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Any chance to Map VST in/Out Audio signal to Midi CC?
In reason they do it, I tryed but with no success. Mapping In/out from plugins it map the Knob and no the audio signal.
https://iili.io/JFmnyb.jpg here Reason image
Gian
gba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 04:12 PM   #293
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gba View Post
Any chance to Map VST in/Out Audio signal to Midi CC?
In reason they do it, I tryed but with no success. Mapping In/out from plugins it map the Knob and no the audio signal.
https://iili.io/JFmnyb.jpg here Reason image
Gian
I'm not quite understanding your meaning by this and am not familiar with Console 1 - but from the image - I assume it is also an audio interface - in which case - you would need to create audio hardware sends to and from the device... Is this what you mean? If so - you could only send the audio from a track Pre or Post fader - but not the plugin itself - unless there's some specialist audio routing plugin involved as well.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:33 AM   #294
gba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your answare.
Console 1 is a normal midi control surface, if you don't use Softube Plugins (that maps it when you start PC in own Vst/App).
Now, finally I try something that do what I need. But it's a old Vst and it don't work narrowly.
I need to Maps command CC112 (midi L output meter of console 1) and CC113 for R with audio signal of the track, or master.
As you can see, that plugin (midiAudioToCC) take a audio signal of the track and create an Envelope moving with audio signal. So I link the envelope with realearn and map it with CC112/113 of console 1, then for move on realearn constantly I link Envelope of plugin with parameter modulation. as you can see in last pic on the gif.
There is others way to take audio signal of the track on reaper and setting it on midi CC command?
GB
https://im3.ezgif.com/tmp/ezgif-3-5a25d59cf1a3.gif (Vst envelope explanation)
https://ibb.co/C1d94rg
gba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.