Old 05-25-2020, 09:44 PM   #1
A Little Man and a House
Human being with feelings
 
A Little Man and a House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 142
Default Grid lines invisible in midi editor

This is pretty weird. My grid lines have disapperaed permanently from the midi editor, at every subdivision level. This applies to every theme I've tried including defaults, and can't be fixed in the theme tweaker by adjusting either color or "draw mode". Notes still snap normally.

Running latest Reaper but it was happening in the previous version too. Windows 10, 64 bit.
A Little Man and a House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 10:20 PM   #2
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 713
Default

I'm assuming you've tried changing the main midi editor background color to something completely different, just to check it's not obscuring the grid lines somehow?

Unlikely to fix it, but it's something that I'd try if I were in your situation.
Joe90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 04:34 PM   #3
A Little Man and a House
Human being with feelings
 
A Little Man and a House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Just tried it, no effect. I've tried various theme tweaks in various themes, so it seems to be something more deep than any of the theme settings.
A Little Man and a House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 12:47 AM   #4
A Little Man and a House
Human being with feelings
 
A Little Man and a House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Okay, so I really want to troubleshoot this because it's making midi really hard. Please ask if there's anything specific I can upload. Things I tried:

I downloaded version 5.99 and installed it as portable. Midi grid lines are normal...

I copied the entire AppData\Roaming\REAPER to that new portable install. Grid lines are now gone.

So it's not an issue specific to a new version of Reaper... great news, right?

But just like before, midi editor grid lines are gone for every single theme, custom (Rado) and default.

So what can I have done to disrupt midi grid subdivison visibility in every single theme?

I'm only a medium-level tinkerer. I rarely go further than the settings window. I could just give up and begin again from the factory default but that will take a while and so I'm filing that under last resort.
A Little Man and a House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 01:06 AM   #5
A Little Man and a House
Human being with feelings
 
A Little Man and a House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 142
Default

Sorry to double post, but this is probably relevant! I had amagalma's nice color adjuster script installed recently via ReaPack and have demo'd both it and the native adjuster recently (I feel a bit slow for not making this connection sooner).

Although I thought each would act on a per-theme basis and, anyway, the native adjuster only works on the default, so I don't know how I could lose global midi grid visibility this way... I have since uninstalled amalgalma's script but no change.

(arguably not the dev's job to troubleshoot 3rd party add ons but I think this is still worth following up as I seem to have left my settings in a permanent state that should be reversible via theme switch?)
A Little Man and a House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 01:22 AM   #6
gibi25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,741
Default

In the midi editor action list, you could try this:
"view toggle grid"
by default, it is linked to ALT G shortcut.
Just an idea...
__________________
I'm a simple man,
so I sing a simple song.
gibi25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.