Old 12-09-2019, 04:55 PM   #1
quarkburger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Default Rearoute recording issues/questions

I have been following Omri Cohen's guide on how to record VCV Rack in Reaper with rearoute here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USdYV0qcBms

I am running Reaper 6.01/x64 on Windows 10.

One minor thing: I couldn't find how you select Input on the track to select ReaRoute 1 + ReaRoute 2 like in the video until I figured out I could switch to the Reaper 5 theme. It would be good though to know how to do this in the Reaper 6 theme.

In VCV Rack, in my Audio-8 module, I selected ASIO and ReaRoute ASIO (x64) and had audio going to channels 1 and 2.

In Reaper I added a track, set the input to Input Stereo: ReaRoute 1 and ReaRoute 2, and pressed Record Arm/Disarm

The sound level bars in this track indicated that sound was playing through this track, I can hear it with the monitor on, but no audio was being recorded.

What am I missing?

For recording, does it matter what my Audio device settings are? The video said nothing about audio settings in Reaper.
My Audio system is WASAPI
Mode: Shared mode
Input device: Microphone Array (Realtek(R) Audio)
Output device: Speakers (Realtek(R) Audio)
Input channels: 2
Output channels: 2
Block size: 512

I tried changing the Audio system to ASIO, and my ASIO Driver to: Realtek ASIO
it gave me an error popup: Error opening devices
There was an error opening the audio hardware:
Error initializing ASIO buffers

Thanks for any help you can provide
quarkburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 06:52 PM   #2
suchatravesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 145
Default

I've never tried Rearoute but I believe it's meant to be used with ASIO. I think you have to use ASIO in each program you're linking. ASIO4ALL is the standard as far as ASIO drivers go, it works great.
suchatravesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 11:04 PM   #3
quarkburger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suchatravesty View Post
I've never tried Rearoute but I believe it's meant to be used with ASIO. I think you have to use ASIO in each program you're linking. ASIO4ALL is the standard as far as ASIO drivers go, it works great.
I tried installing ASIO4ALL, and did get Reaper running with ASIO and ASIO4ALL. I started something playing in VCV Rack on ReaRoute 1 & 2 and am still having the same problem in Reaper.

I can hear the VCV audio when I turn on Record Armed with the input set to Input Stereo ReaRoute 1&2 and I can see the audio meter working. Then I hit space, but nothing is actually recording.

Am I doing that right? Just hit Record Armed with the monitor on, and hit space to start recording?
quarkburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 02:58 PM   #4
suchatravesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 145
Default

Ctl+R is default hotkey for record.
suchatravesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:18 PM   #5
quarkburger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suchatravesty View Post
Ctl+R is default hotkey for record.
Ah, that's it. Yeah, this question definitely belongs in newbieland. Thank you!
quarkburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.