Old 01-04-2020, 11:17 PM   #1
Bazzbass
Human being with feelings
 
Bazzbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 374
Default New PC, advice on setup please

Hi

I just bought a new Dell laptop, i7 8565U 8th Gen, 256Gb ssd, 8Gb RAM. Is there a way to install Windows Home 64bit without the bloatware? Or are they easy to disable?

Should I record onto the ssd as well as run windows and Reaper on it, or would an external ssd be better?

I'll be recording 8 tracks at a time max, won't be using virtual instruments or much effects so I'm thinking the 8Gb RAM will do for now.

My old PC has Reaper with 32 bit VSTs, will these run on the 64bit pc or should I instal 64 bit versions instead?

sorry for these noob questions, it's been two years since I used Reaper.

Hope you good folks can help me acheive glitch free recordings
__________________
Have a GOOD time....ALL the time !

Last edited by Bazzbass; 01-04-2020 at 11:45 PM.
Bazzbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 06:57 AM   #2
Studiodawg
Human being with feelings
 
Studiodawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NWPA
Posts: 168
Default

I got a rebuilt Dell i3 dirt cheap recently. It has a 256GB SSD witha Win10 clean install. I got an external SSD for "tape deck" and did a few typical OS audio tweaks and the PC is working great. Here is a link that might help you make some decisions: https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews...s-10-musicians
Studiodawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 07:01 AM   #3
Studiodawg
Human being with feelings
 
Studiodawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NWPA
Posts: 168
Default

This link gets right to the tweaks:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/explora...uter-for-audio
Studiodawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 11:37 PM   #4
Bazzbass
Human being with feelings
 
Bazzbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 374
Default

thank you, very much appreciated. I'm not sure how I can do a clean windows instal without buying another copy.....
__________________
Have a GOOD time....ALL the time !
Bazzbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 04:01 AM   #5
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzbass View Post
thank you, very much appreciated. I'm not sure how I can do a clean windows instal without buying another copy.....
You simply use media creation tool to make an installer on a USB drive and install.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:40 AM   #6
Studiodawg
Human being with feelings
 
Studiodawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NWPA
Posts: 168
Default

To be honest, I'd start with uninstalling any/all identifiable bloatware and see how it goes. That's what I did on my Win10 laptop. My Win10 desktop was sold to me with clean install.
Studiodawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 11:27 AM   #7
toleolu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Sunshine and palm trees.
Posts: 1,765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzbass View Post
thank you, very much appreciated. I'm not sure how I can do a clean windows instal without buying another copy.....
Somewhere on that laptop, or in the documentation you got with it, you should find a sticker with a Windows license key on it. That big long number with all the dashes in it.

You can download Windows 10 from Microsofts website, burn it to a DVD or create a bootable USB drive from it. Make sure you adjust your boot order either in bios or there is a way to do that in Windows troubleshooting, so that it goes to either the DVD or USB drive first.

When the computer boots from the install disk, delete all partitions currently on the disk, and install Windows. With a clean version of Windows installed and running, download and install all the outstanding Windows Updates. Once all that is done, optimize your drive, then start installing your applications.

Once all that is done, go through your applications and make sure everything is working OK, then slowly start applying the audio performance tweaks already mentioned and you should be good to go. Make sure your basic system is working OK before you start tweaking things.

Thing to remember about a laptop is that due to their inability to dissipate heat, they tend to run a little slower than a desktop, at least as far as manufacturer specs go, so you'll want to keep your installation as clean as possible in order to avoid any performance issues down the road.

Good Luck.
toleolu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 11:36 AM   #8
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,280
Default

Bloatware comes from the laptop vendor, better if you get a copy of win10 pro and just install it fresh because if you use whatever came with the lappy to reinstall etc. it's going to include the bloatware AFAIK.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 10:31 PM   #9
Bazzbass
Human being with feelings
 
Bazzbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 374
Default

thank you all, my pc guru moved interstate a few years ago and I'm lost doing these things.I'm going to instal the included Win10 Home 64bit and delete what I don't need. I'm only going to be running Reaper to start with,so at worst I'll just upgrade to Win Pro and do a fresh instal.

I take it with SSDs I can run windows and reaper and record onto the one drive?
__________________
Have a GOOD time....ALL the time !
Bazzbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 12:34 AM   #10
tonybeepbeep
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 225
Default

One thing I changed, from my experience only, was to not run Reaper as admin on W10. This was because I could no longer drag and drop files into Reaper.

I'm gonna go back through the checklist though, as I've taken my eye off all the updates lately.
tonybeepbeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:37 AM   #11
Studiodawg
Human being with feelings
 
Studiodawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NWPA
Posts: 168
Default

Yes, you can use one drive, especially for simpler projects. Have fun!
Studiodawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 06:55 AM   #12
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,660
Default

I'm not sure what the point of upgrading to windows 10 pro is these days?

Can you pause updates for longer than you can with win 10 home?

And, beware of "tweaks", that are often out of date information, or based on a less that complete understanding of how things work.

Quote:
I take it with SSDs I can run windows and reaper and record onto the one drive?
Modern SSD's are so fast compared to old fashioned hard disks. I'd love to see the project where the SSD would be the bottleneck, requiring a second SSD.


Do a clean install, and get on with doing stuff. If you see any problems, then maybe look for tweaks to fix them.

Last edited by drumphil; 01-20-2020 at 07:08 AM.
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.