Old 03-04-2021, 01:35 PM   #1
Rshwin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Jacktown
Posts: 32
Default Looking for a specific "enhanced vocal" effect

Hello all,

I've got a tune I'm working on and for the vocal track(s) for this song I want to add some voicings that are modified by a synth "string" midi part. Does anybody know of any tool that's out there that can do such a thing? I want the actual "voice" to only lightly affect the synth "strings". Kinda like the old "Golden Throat"s used to do with guitars, back in the days of Peter Frampton or Joe Walsh.
Rshwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 01:58 PM   #2
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27,692
Default

Do you mean vocoder?
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 02:16 PM   #3
Sid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 20
Default

Maybe this?
VST: ReaVocode (Cockos)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZZiU_rpoGQ
Since you already have it...

Last edited by Sid; 03-04-2021 at 02:24 PM.
Sid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 03:12 PM   #4
Rshwin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Jacktown
Posts: 32
Default Found ReaVocode but I can't get it to work

I have a track I'm already using my midi keyboard on, and I'm using a synth Vsti on it, called PadShop Pro. But despite dis associating the keyboard with the midi track I already have, I still can't get the thing to work. I've watched the video on it but it doesn't match up exactly with what I have. I have mono tracks for recording my vocals, and thus a mono vocal track number one.

Secondly the only way I ever get output I actually hear out of my midi stuff is by creating one track I have the midi keyboard set as it's input. Then I send the midi signal to another track I have the synth or other Vsti keyboard set on in the FX. And only after having them set to record with the monitoring set to "on" do I ever get to actually hear the midi stuff before or as I am recording it. And believe me I have messed around with every conceivable setting I can come up with.

Do I need to explore "Busses" or what? Because sadly I've never really delved into understanding "Busses" yet. And I've recorded almost two entire albums now without having to do so. So if anyone can steer me in the direction of what I have to further research in order for me to get the ReaVocoder to work for me with the set up I am using.

My set up; Mono vocal tracks, an external midi keyboard, an external Vsti keyboard plug-in (not that it should matter).

And then what changes to make to the setup for live vocal input...and if ya-all could help me figure that all out, well heck I'd be all set on questions for about another 6 months or so.
Rshwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 03:25 PM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27,692
Default

For ReaVocode you need three tracks.

1: Reavocode
2: The vocal track
3: The synth

Send track three to track 1 on channels 1/2 (prefader) (by dragging the IO button from track 3 to 1)
Send track 2 to track 1 on channels 3/4 (prefader) (by dragging the IO button from track two to 1)

Midi that drives the synth goes on track three (or audio that gets modulated). I chose prefader assuming you only want to hear the vocoded signal and/or mix in dry there otherwise use post fader for the vocal track.

There could be other ways but this is the way I just tested. I personally use Melda Vocoder but it does look like ReaVocode is doable to some extent.

Melda Vocoder:



If you end up with Melda, I probably have a track template that already has everything setup. If you want to use ReaVocode, then sometime in the next 24 hours I'll create a track template for that.
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 04:03 PM   #6
Sid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 20
Default

Ha ha ha karbomusic you are fast!
I just tested a different way...

Setup:
Two tracks
Track one is your Vocal Mic
Set to Audio Input With input monitoring on Record armed

Track 2 is your Midi Keyboard
Set to Midi Input With input monitoring on Record armed
load your synth Vsti in track 2

Make sure you can hear both tracks at this point.

Now solo track 1. You should hear your vocal. You should not hear your synth.
Keep track 1 solo

Now click the Route (or I/O depending on your theme) button on track 2 to bring up the routing for track 2

Click Add New Send and make a send to track 1
Set to Audio 1/2 --> Audio 1/2 Midi None

Test that you can hear your synth even with Track 1 solo
now set the send to
Set to Audio 1/2 --> Audio 3/4 Midi None

You will not hear your synth

Now load the ReaVocode plugin on Track 1
Push the three sliders all the way down
Bring up the mod dry slider until you can hear the synth
Bring up the dry slider until you can hear your vocal

Push the mod dry slider and the dry slider all the way down

Bring up the wet slider. Press a chord down on your synth and sing into the Mic
You should hear the vocoded chord.

Play with the sliders to taste.
Sid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 04:21 PM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27,692
Default

Ha! I knew there was probably a way to do two tracks, I was in too big a hurry.
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 11:24 AM   #8
Rshwin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Jacktown
Posts: 32
Default Thanks for all the input

Hey all
Thanks for the input, had to go to "the studio" (Ha, where we're recording-no internet) got back late. And off to practice with the other band now. But I'll be testing it all out tonight, late. Again thanks for all the input.
Rshwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 10:05 PM   #9
Rshwin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Jacktown
Posts: 32
Default Hey all I have success

I tried the first method but for some reason I must not have been doing it correctly I'll have to go back over it all again to see where I was making my mistakes, but I was successful with the second method described. It's just what I was looking for too. It even worked with the recorded vox track I had. Again thanx all for your help. It's like I wrote the other day on a Newbie post...Reaper is great and it is the best DAW going by far!
Rshwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.