Old 02-24-2017, 08:30 AM   #241
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Does anyone even look at this thread?

Another request - it'd be nice if we could get the name, as displayed in the action list, for a given command ID/SWS command ID/script ID:
Code:
string reaper.GetCommandName( string command_id )
That is, calling it with "40364" would return "Options: Toggle metronome", etc.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 08:55 PM   #242
Claudiohbsantos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 135
Default

It would be amazing if the markers had unique ID's that didn't change regardless of position. That would allow scripts to easily know which marker is which even when markers are manually dragged around and multiple markers are edited at once by actions/other scripts. Right now the only way to get close to this kind of feature is to implement a complex chain of checks to try to determine which marker is the odd one out after an edit, and it's not 100% reliable.

This would allow things such as creating marker groups/folders, synchronizing markers with TO-DO list APIs, among others
__________________
My Reapack Repo - Reapack Extension
Claudiohbsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 12:35 AM   #243
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 338
Default

Hello everyone, this is my first post ever
I need RENDER TO FILE dialog window to be exposed as a function in Reascript API so I can customize rendering options (mono/stereo, ogg/wav, destination directory etc.) for each individual file I want to export via script. I couldn't find if function like that currently exists, or if anyone already requested it.
__________________
Youtube | Website | Twitter
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 03:44 PM   #244
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Does anyone even look at this thread?
Well, they certainly don't let on if they do
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 09:59 PM   #245
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikolalkc View Post
Hello everyone, this is my first post ever
I need RENDER TO FILE dialog window to be exposed as a function in Reascript API so I can customize rendering options (mono/stereo, ogg/wav, destination directory etc.) for each individual file I want to export via script. I couldn't find if function like that currently exists, or if anyone already requested it.
I don't know how he does it, but I do know that a friend of mine does exactly this via Beyond Python. So at least fr Python scripts such an API already does exist, but AFAIK, the APIs are similar for all scripting languages.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 06:16 PM   #246
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 2,057
Default

Programmatic way to enable/disable take envelope (volume/pitch/pan) without having to do item chunk manipulation
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 04:01 AM   #247
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I don't know how he does it, but I do know that a friend of mine does exactly this via Beyond Python. So at least fr Python scripts such an API already does exist, but AFAIK, the APIs are similar for all scripting languages.

-Michael

Can you please give me your friends email or any kind of contact?
Thanks
__________________
Youtube | Website | Twitter
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 06:48 AM   #248
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
Please could we have a version of GetLastTouchedFX() that knows about Take FX? Something like this...

Code:
bool GetLastTouchedFX(int* tracknumberOut, int* itemnumberOut,
      int* takenumberOut, int* fxnumberOut, int* paramnumberOut)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
Please could we have API to move tracks around? Something like this...

Code:
bool MoveTrack(track, newIndex) // return false if track/index is invalid
Pretty please with cocaine on top?
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 04:42 PM   #249
snooks
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,650
Default

You could script the MoveTrack one with InsertTrackAtIndex, then copying the track chunk over and deleting the original. I suppose it would break things that relied on storing track pointers though.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 01:13 PM   #250
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,451
Default

Code:
bool GetClipboard(#bufOut)
and
Code:
bool SetClipboard(#buf)
Would be extremely useful
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 02:52 PM   #251
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 4,937
Default

I sent a patch to SWS on GitHub to add these two clipboard APIs a few weeks ago: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1862069 (it hasn't been merged nor refused yet).
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:28 AM   #252
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Request :

Being able to get possible scale and chord name from a series of notes, aka having an API for the Scale Finder function, would be very helpful especially with a percentage of trust for each scale;P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 02:20 AM   #253
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,451
Default

CountSelectedAutomationItems and GetSelectedAutomationItem, the equivalent actions to the ones regarding Media Items
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 08:50 AM   #254
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

Code:
boolean reaper.TrackFX_GetOffline( track, fx )
TrackFX_SetOffline( track, fx, offline )

boolean reaper.TakeFX_GetOffline( take, fx )
reaper.TakeFX_SetOffline( take, fx, offline )
(similar to ...Get/SetEnabled(), for avoiding chunk parsing)

Last edited by nofish; 10-22-2017 at 09:03 AM. Reason: copy/paste error
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 11:38 AM   #255
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
GetMediaSourceCues

there is no available function in ReaScript to get File Cue Points infos.
There is just no way we can from ReaScript know what are the cue points positions, in a file what are the names of the cue points etc...
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
integrer = CountItemCuePoint(item) and time = GetItemCuePointTime(integrer) will be nice.
Currently, we have to use the action "move edit cursor to next cue in items" to try to count how many Cue Points are visible for the selected items.
(it involves unselecting all other items, and a lot of comparison to see if edit cursor has moved or not).
Has anything to do this this been implemented yet ?

I save the wav with BWF btext chunk > Markers and need to be able to read the wav cue point infos then import that section/bars of the wav with the particular Marker, eg: Chords.
So I save the wav that is playing through all different chords with Markers @ the chord changes, I then need to create up a song with a chord progression using sections from the source wav's to fit my progression.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:27 AM   #256
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikolalkc View Post
Hello everyone, this is my first post ever
I need RENDER TO FILE dialog window to be exposed as a function in Reascript API so I can customize rendering options (mono/stereo, ogg/wav, destination directory etc.) for each individual file I want to export via script. I couldn't find if function like that currently exists, or if anyone already requested it.
I'm currently in the process of working on some helper-functions for Reaper's Lua, that'll include render-functions as well, that don't need the rendering dialog.
It'll take some more time, as I'm still in the middle of bugtesting and don't want to rush things, though and don't have all formats yet...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:34 AM   #257
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Didn't know, that this thread existed, so I'll repost my FR here:

When working with GetUserInput, I often stumble over the limitation of the "," used as separator for multiple fields, as this virtually prevents me from inputting a "," into one of the fields, cause I can't separate the values anymore. So, I'd love to suggest the following additions into the pool of API-functions:


>>bool GetUserInputs2("title", int num_inputs, "captions_csv", #retvals_csv[, string separator])
like GetUserInputs, but uses the parameter seperator for seperating the individual fields, instead of the standard "," so parsing the returned value-string would be easier.

Parameter:
- separator - indicates, what seperates the captions/retvals in the csv. Default is a ,


>>array GetUserInputs3("title", int num_inputs, "captions_csv"[, string seperator])
like GetUserInputs3, but returns the input-values as an array and not as a csv-string.

Parameter:
- seperator - indicates, what seperates the entries in the captions_csv. Default is a ,



I also would love to see some more ways of customizing the reaper.MB-function, by giving it's buttons individual labels, as well as having more buttons to use.
Also a checkbox for use-cases like "Do you want this Messagebox to reappear?" would be great:

>>integer choice, integer checkbox = reaper.MB2(string msg, string title, integer numberofbuttons, string "text for button 1", string "text for button 2", string "text for button 3", ... , string "text for button n"[, integer preselection][, string checkbox-title])
Customizable MessageBox, where the buttons can have their own texts.

Parameters:
- number of buttons - how many buttons shall this messagebox have, so Reaper can determine, how many of the parameters are for the button-texts.
- "text for button n" - the text for the buttons.
preselection - which button shall be automatically preselected, when working with keyboard
- checkbox-title - an optional checkbox, that is included between the msg and the buttons. Can be used for "don't ask again"-choices.
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:37 AM   #258
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

And this small one, but an important one, a filerequester, just like GetUserFileNameForRead, but for saving a file:

boolean retval, string filenameNeed4096 reaper.GetUserFileNameForWrite(string filenameNeed4096, string title, string defext)

The problem with GetUserFilenameForRead is, you can't select a file, that doesn't exist. This could be prevented with GetUserFileNameForWrite.
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 12:34 AM   #259
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,643
Default MIDI_SetScale

How do I go about setting the root & scale, I can get it MIDI_GetScale but not set it MIDI_SetScale
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 04:15 AM   #260
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Hi,

There is
Code:
reaper.Main_SaveProject( proj, forceSaveAsInOptional )
but it doesn't allow to
  • Save as but without popup (with a destination path)
  • Save as project template (which has the big advantage to NOT open the new project)
  • To get the path chosen by the user it is was a popup..
It would be nice to have these options available. thanks !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 10:54 AM   #261
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

Here's my request: SetTCPScroll
Code:
MediaTrack reaper.SetTCPScroll(MediaTrack topmosttrack)
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 01:40 PM   #262
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spk77 View Post
Here's my request: SetTCPScroll
Code:
MediaTrack reaper.SetTCPScroll(MediaTrack topmosttrack)
If this is scroll visible window to X track, then HELL YES, that would be awesome!
And for MCP, too, please.

(There are supposedly 2 solutions for MCP already, but none seem to work.)
__________________
Puzzle Factory Sound Studios, London [Website] [Instagram]
[AMD 5800X, 32Gb RAM, Win10x64, NVidia GTX1080ti, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUCX, REAPER x64]
[Feature request: More details in Undo History]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 05:57 PM   #263
fundorin
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spk77 View Post
Here's my request: SetTCPScroll
Code:
MediaTrack reaper.SetTCPScroll(MediaTrack topmosttrack)
Also btmmosttrack for TCP and rightmosttrack for MCP.
Having those I could've successfully scroll to the control surface's banks of tracks.
fundorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 11:00 AM   #264
Chain
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 19
Default OSC automap

i have a wish
is it possible to write a script that enables to automap OSC values?
for example (using touchosc)
i am using an eq from GRM tools...
it has 31 bands for each channel....
on my osc interface i have 31 sliders....
they send the values /2/multifader3/1 for example....
the value of the fader is the last one /2/multifader3/(X)...
is there a way to select multiple faders or to enable a automap function where i put
the OSC message /2/multifader3/ and then the values from 1 to 31 an assign them to the corresponding bands on the eq?
that would be interesting to map those values fast and not only for this tool...
it would enable maybe also for live performances and live mixing?
it would be a present of the heaven.... because not only that the vst is in stereo (that means 31*2 faders)

in case if there is already something like that i hope you can tell me where to find it... i was tryng to find it but in the actions list i couldnt find something like that...
__________________
Instrested in everything!! Hit me up!!
Chain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 11:13 AM   #265
Claudiohbsantos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 135
Default

I have two requests that I have wished for in a couple scripts now:

1.
reaper.getActionList() - An action to retrieve the entire action list (native+customs+scripts) with their names and command id's. It would be awesome if it returned a table but that's just me being lazy, we can parse it ourselves hhahaha

2.
Modify reaper.TrackCtl_SetToolTip(string fmt, integer xpos, integer ypos, boolean topmost) so we can display more than a single tooltip simultaneously.
__________________
My Reapack Repo - Reapack Extension
Claudiohbsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 04:41 PM   #266
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 4,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claudiohbsantos View Post
reaper.getActionList() - An action to retrieve the entire action list (native+customs+scripts) with their names and command id's. It would be awesome if it returned a table but that's just me being lazy, we can parse it ourselves hhahaha
There are kbd_enumerateActions and related API functions but they are only available to extensions.

Last edited by cfillion; 03-07-2018 at 04:51 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 07:57 PM   #267
Claudiohbsantos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
There are kbd_enumerateActions and related API functions but they are only available to extensions.
Really? Oh... I've been postponing learning how to work with the extensions for a long while, maybe I'll have to just bite the bullet and finally jump on it.

I have one question about the extensions in general: is it relatively easy for me to create an extension to expose these functions for the scripting API? I see SWS creates quite a few script API functions.
__________________
My Reapack Repo - Reapack Extension
Claudiohbsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 08:11 PM   #268
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 4,937
Default

Yes it's relatively easy (but there is not much documentation). I think it would be a good idea to expose these functions in SWS (I'm interested in kbd_getTextFromCmd, I'll look into doing that later).

Minimal example for adding a custom API function and exposing it to ReaScript:
Code:
static const char *definition = "double\0char*,int\0str,flag\0help text for myfunction";

static double cImpl(char *str, int flag)
{
  return 0;
}

static void *reascriptImpl(void **argv, int argc)
{
  // argument count check is already done by reaper
  return (void *)(intptr_t)cImpl((char *)argv[0], (int)(intptr_t)argv[1]);
}

void registerAPI()
{
  // call when initializing the extension
  plugin_register("API_functionName", (void *)&cImpl);
  plugin_register("APIvararg_functionName", (void *)&reascriptImpl);
  plugin_register("APIdef_functionName", (void *)definition);
}

void removeAPI()
{
  // call when unloading the extension
  plugin_register("-API_functionName", (void *)&cImpl);
  plugin_register("-APIvararg_functionName", (void *)&reascriptImpl);
  plugin_register("-APIdef_functionName", (void *)definition);
}
(This gets repetitive when adding many functions so I made helper functions and macros to clean this up and have the compiler generate the ugly reascript implementations automatically: https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/...api_helper.hpp. SWS uses a PHP script to generate them.)

Last edited by cfillion; 03-07-2018 at 08:37 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 11:33 AM   #269
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Hi,

It ha sbeen several time someone ask me for being able to script something based arround what regions are selected in the Markers and Regions window.

It would be nice to be able to see that !

A simple function like boolean = IsRegionSelectedInMarkerManager( idx ) would works perfectly.

Thanks for listening !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 12:55 PM   #270
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

Two functions that would be nice to have:
  1. reaper.atprojectexit(ReaProject proj, function)
    • Similar to reaper.atexit(function), but "function" would be run when the project is closing
  2. reaper.SetProjExtState(string projectfilename, string extname, string key, string value)
    • SetProjExtState for offline project files
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:06 AM   #271
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

Sysex support for reaper.StuffMIDIMessage...and some way to receive sysex data.

I would like to store Kemper Profiling Amp rigs (sysex data) to tracks by using reaper.SetProjExtState.
(and later, when needed, send the data back to Kemper)


Ctrlr can send/receive sysex messages
Github: https://github.com/RomanKubiak/ctrlr...c7/Source/Core

Ctrlr example - this code reads a "kipr" -file (Kemper rig) and sends it to MIDI out -> to Kemper MIDI in
Code:
readFileAsData = function(mod, value)
	if panel:getBootstrapState() then
		return
	end

	fileToRead = utils.openFileWindow(
		"Open file to read as data",
		File.getSpecialLocation(File.userHomeDirectory),
		"*.kipr",
		true
	)

	if fileToRead:existsAsFile() then

		-- Update the file path
		panel:getLabelComponent("lastFileReadPathL"):setText ("> "..fileToRead:getFullPathName())

		if fileToRead:getSize() > 8192 then
				utils.warnWindow(
					"File too big", 
					"Labels are not designed to show too much data, please choose a file that's smaller then 8kb.\
The file you chose is "..fileToRead:getSize().." bytes"
				)
			return
		end

		-- We need a memory block to load our file into, this can be created at some other point in time
		-- if we expect the files to be big and the amount of memory we need is higher, it will pre-allocate
		-- that memory at the moment that MemoryBlock() is called
		-- here we will allocate the amount of memory that is equalt to the size of the file

		fileData = MemoryBlock(fileToRead:getSize())

		-- This method does not return a new memory block, it operates on the one provided by us

		fileToRead:loadFileAsData (fileData)

		--panel:getLabelComponent("dataContentL"):setText(
			--fileData:toHexString(1)
	--	)
		size = fileToRead:getSize()-0x17
		-- skip header part
		datablock = MemoryBlock(fileToRead:getSize()-0x17)
		datablock = fileData:getRange(0x17,size)
		sysexdata= MemoryBlock()

	
		for i=0,size,1 do
		
			if (datablock:getByte(i)== 240) then
				--console(datablock:getByte(i):toHexString(1))
				sysexdata:append(datablock:getRange(i,1))

				local m= datablock:getByte(i+1)
				sysexdata:append(datablock:getRange(i+2,m))
				console(sysexdata:toHexString(1))
				local midimessage = CtrlrMidiMessage(sysexdata:toHexString(1))
	    		--panel:sendMidiMessageNow(midimessage)
				sysexdata= MemoryBlock()
			end
		end
	end
end
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 04:06 PM   #272
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 406
Default

Did anyone get ctrl + or alt + keystrokes working in lua? If not I'd like to request that.
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:45 AM   #273
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixon View Post
Did anyone get ctrl + or alt + keystrokes working in lua? If not I'd like to request that.
Do you mean with gfx-windows?
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 10:19 AM   #274
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixon View Post
Did anyone get ctrl + or alt + keystrokes working in lua? If not I'd like to request that.
There are a few specific key combinations that won't work, and some foreign keys that aren't read properly, but other than that they've always worked just fine.

Code:
-- Ctrl + Z
if gfx.mouse_cap & 4 == 4 and gfx.getchar(27) > 0 then
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 08:33 AM   #275
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,812
Default

i would like to be able to apply in script the same time stretch on an audio item already in project as applied by media browser when "match tempo" is ON. Not sure if this should be an APi wish or an action.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 12:38 PM   #276
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 406
Default

I'm asking regarding this post https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=69
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:00 AM   #277
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

  • Being able to change the CSV of retval_csv separator from GetUseInput would be very welcome (imagine you have several lines, and in each of this lines, the user can enter text with commas or csv with comma too. Sure we can tell him to add quotes as prefix and suffix, but this extra info is not very user fiendly, it is easy for the user to mess with a comma, and then all the fields will be shift and it can have very bad consequences on destrcutive processing (like injecting metadata).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:43 PM   #278
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
  • Being able to change the CSV of retval_csv separator from GetUseInput would be very welcome (imagine you have several lines, and in each of this lines, the user can enter text with commas or csv with comma too. Sure we can tell him to add quotes as prefix and suffix, but this extra info is not very user fiendly, it is easy for the user to mess with a comma, and then all the fields will be shift and it can have very bad consequences on destrcutive processing (like injecting metadata).
I already wrote a FR on this one long ago, but to no luck, yet...

I would prefer to get an array(maybe reaper-array?), in which every entry is it's own returned user-input-value, or, at least that GetUserInputs escapes commas as input by the user, so I could separate , from GetUserInputs from \, from actual user input .
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 04:17 PM   #279
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mespotine
Oh yes arrays would be nicer, but Im prettty confident that adding an extra parameter for characters would need less rework :P


A comma is a way too many often used character, it should have been default to a | or even more esoteric character.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 04:05 PM   #280
ThomasE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mespotine View Post
I already wrote a FR on this one long ago, but to no luck, yet...

I would prefer to get an array(maybe reaper-array?), in which every entry is it's own returned user-input-value, or, at least that GetUserInputs escapes commas as input by the user, so I could separate , from GetUserInputs from \, from actual user input .
Yes, please... Escaped commas for the user input, or selectable delimiter would be a great improvement.
ThomasE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.