Old 09-04-2018, 11:04 AM   #1
aleksi1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default Recording MIDI output & overdub?

Hi!

Is it somehow possible to record MIDI output while also having it in the overdub mode? The overdub is essential to my workflow, but I'd also need to be able to control the velocity response of my secondary (mobile) keyboard, that has a very different velocity response than my primary one. I've been using the JS MIDI tool v2 for the velocity control, but it doesn't actually affect the "raw" velocities unless I record the MIDI output. I'd like to specifically control the raw velocities, to be able to easily swap the keyboard I'm working with.

If that's impossible, I'd also be happy if there's a way to automatically "scale" the selected velocities in the piano roll by a desired amount (I know I could just drag them down with the mouse, but it's just offsetting, not scaling). Or to somehow "print" the Midi Tool v2 values to the original velocities.

Any tips? I'm quite stuck with this...
aleksi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 12:25 PM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,909
Default

Have you tried to set up two midi tracks, one with "Overdub" and the other to "record the output midi".

For example Track-1 is setup to record midi "overdub". Track-2 is setup to record the output midi. Track-1 has a midi send to track-2. Put them both in record and they should both record at the same time.

I doubt that's what you want, you probably want to record straight to one track with both "overdub" and "record output", but I don't think it can be done.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 05:36 AM   #3
aleksi1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the idea, Tod! Yeah, that's not optimal for me, I really want to be able to just record stuff directly to one midi item on one track. Pity if it can't be done with the MIDI output

Seems like it wouldn't be too complicated of a feature to add, though. Ah, one can hope...
aleksi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 06:12 AM   #4
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 204
Default

Watch this video from Kenny called Free Item Positioning.

Near the end he shows a technique that allows you to record a Midi item, then overdub onto it in the same track. And you will have both your overdub and the original available for further editing/processing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zy12cfTWBPE
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 06:58 PM   #5
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 861
Default

Ho,
Or maybe use the velocity control as an input fx?
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 08:39 AM   #6
aleksi1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Wow, the input fx works! Thank you very much for the idea, LugNut! That works like a charm I already gave up hope, but now that'll make my life a lot easier.

Thanks to Michael also! I didn't know about the free item positioning option and it'll come handy in other cases.
aleksi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.