Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 04:06 PM   #1
Musicianaire
Human being with feelings
 
Musicianaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 93
Default What is the maxumum length of time I can record at once?

If I want to hit the Record button and start playing random, improvised stuff on my guitar until I get tired, what's the maximum length I can do that in Reaper?

Disclaimer: I Googled and I searched these forums for an answer but couldn't find anything.
__________________
Make today make a difference!
Musicianaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:12 PM   #2
jinotsuh
Human being with feelings
 
jinotsuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 78
Default

I would say it depends on how much free space you have on the hard drive that is being recorded to. That would be the limiting factor, I could be wrong though.

I have often thought about what you are wanting to do, interesting to know.
jinotsuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:14 PM   #3
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 613
Default

i think this depends on how much free hard drive space you have and the bit depth, sample rate and format of the audio.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:35 PM   #4
Mikethebass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Oxford, England
Posts: 13
Default Maximum File Size

I may be wrong but I think that the maximum possible recording length is limited to the maximum size that your file can be. This depends on what format you are recording in.

I think that the maximum size for a WAV file is about 3Gb Apples CAF can be bigger.
Mikethebass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:36 PM   #5
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
i think this depends on how much free hard drive space you have and the bit depth, sample rate and format of the audio.
I believe that this is the correct answer. Wave files have a 2GB limit, but REAPER is smart enough to automatically switch to Wave64 if you exceed the 2GB limit of 32 bit wave files.
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 05:02 PM   #6
Musicianaire
Human being with feelings
 
Musicianaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikethebass View Post
I may be wrong but I think that the maximum possible recording length is limited to the maximum size that your file can be. This depends on what format you are recording in.

I think that the maximum size for a WAV file is about 3Gb Apples CAF can be bigger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
I believe that this is the correct answer. Wave files have a 2GB limit, but REAPER is smart enough to automatically switch to Wave64 if you exceed the 2GB limit of 32 bit wave files.
Thanks guys, that sounds logical.
__________________
Make today make a difference!
Musicianaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:48 AM   #7
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Hi Joel,

Thanks for asking the question and thanks for the answers regarding a 2gb WAV limit... I never knew that, now I do

cheers

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:10 AM   #8
siehorst
Human being with feelings
 
siehorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Musicianaire View Post
what's the maximum length I can do that in Reaper?
Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
... a 2gb WAV limit...
But that is no limit. Reaper ist starting a new file if it comes to the 2Gb end.
I have recorded the live gigs with my band regularly, no problems, no gap between.
So the anwser will be: the limitation is the free space of your disk / SSD. Never have reached that :-) .
horst

Last edited by siehorst; Yesterday at 01:16 AM.
siehorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:59 AM   #9
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siehorst View Post
But that is no limit. Reaper ist starting a new file if it comes to the 2Gb end.
I have recorded the live gigs with my band regularly, no problems, no gap between.
So the anwser will be: the limitation is the free space of your disk / SSD. Never have reached that :-) .
horst
Ah, I think I understand... So you simply stitch them together. Or, I suppose if you were bringing them into REAPER that you can leave them as separate WAVS?
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:07 AM   #10
siehorst
Human being with feelings
 
siehorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
... you simply stitch them together.
No :-) : reaper is doing that. ok, there are two files but fitting perfectly together.

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
... if you were bringing them into REAPER
As you want to record with reaper, y o u don't bring them into reaper, they are already there. But reaper will create seperate files.
Or do I misunderstand you?
Suggestion: just do it and you will see.
siehorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:16 AM   #11
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siehorst View Post
No :-) : reaper is doing that. ok, there are two files but fitting perfectly together.


As you want to record with reaper, y o u don't bring them into reaper, they are already there. But reaper will create seperate files.
Or do I misunderstand you?
Suggestion: just do it and you will see.
Okay, I've got it now, thanks
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:42 AM   #12
Musicianaire
Human being with feelings
 
Musicianaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siehorst View Post
But that is no limit. Reaper ist starting a new file if it comes to the 2Gb end.
I have recorded the live gigs with my band regularly, no problems, no gap between.
So the anwser will be: the limitation is the free space of your disk / SSD. Never have reached that :-) .
horst

Very good to know! Cool!
__________________
Make today make a difference!
Musicianaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:36 AM   #13
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,318
Default

Yeah, there's been a couple times when I've forgotten to hit stop and ended up recording over 12 hours of guitar buzz and room noise.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:57 AM   #14
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,385
Default

The 2GB or 4GB limit was with old disk formats (eg NTFS, FAT32). The original wav format before the w64 extension was limited to 4GB by its header. (Fun fact: Reaper will read all the audio from an improperly made w64 file using the old format whereas other audio apps read the header and truncate the audio. I like Reaper. )

Obviously the answer is the limit is your hard drive size. You can use the feature to split to new files every xGB as well.

Hmmm... What's the max size of a w64 wav file?
Probably a moot point right? You could make a file so big you'd never be able to deliver it anywhere without network errors?

Tip for anyone recording long stretches where there might be some dead space: Use FLAC. FLAC compression makes areas of audio data where there is no level zero data and areas of very low levels (eg. background noise) nearly zero data. Saves you from having to clean up after to cut down on extraneous data.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.