Old 12-10-2007, 04:49 PM   #1
thepedalman
Human being with feelings

Default Help choosing a vocal mic - Ahhh....!!!!

Hey all,
Just spent 2 hours in 2 big recording gear shops trying to buy a reasonable mic for vocals. I have a ADK-51 which I picked up cheap for AUS $95 and I've been using that for a couple of months. But it seems to distort on certain frequencies. Especially with singer who have some power in the voice. So I thought, no problem, I'll just go out and buy a better mic. Wrong. It's much harder than I thought. Some mics were incredibly bright (Rodes). Most of the tube mics seemed dull in comparsion and the whole process left me confused. Here's a short list of what I've tried so far:

Rodes NT-2 (very bright - lots of problems with the word "is" etc sounds like bees attacking lol)
Shure KSM32 (sounded dull in comprarison)
AKG 3000B (very midrangy)
Heil RE40 (very bassy - no tops)
MD421 (dynamic - good but lacking tops)

and about another 10 others (including a few very expensive tube mics that sounded quite good but were huge) that I can't remember the model number of. They either sounded too bright or too dull, there seemed nothing in between. Now I'm pretty much a complete newbe when it comes to mics, so I have no idea as to what I'm doing. I have enough money for one mid range priced (AUS $500-$750) that will be used mainly for male vocals and perhaps micing up my guitar amps at low volume. As I could not take them home I have no idea how they will set in the mix so any suggestions are most welcome as I'm very confused to have tried so many mics and not found a single one that I liked or could afford.

Last edited by thepedalman; 12-10-2007 at 04:51 PM.
thepedalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:12 PM   #2
Alistair S

I don't think there is a short cut other than trying them.