COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 04-06-2009, 12:05 PM   #1
HatHead
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default Getting Disconnected/Can't Connect

Hello,

Firstly, thank you all for your patience and support during my earlier attempts to get ninjam up and going on my shared unix host. The next step recommended was to install the ninjam client software to do local testing so I have opted to perform the local testing on Windows here at home.

I am using the example.cfg and have only changed the DefaultBPM and DefaultBPI to verify that I am picking up the right cfg file. Ninjam server starts correctly with the new DefaultBPM & DefaultBPI.

I have enabled application support on my router and updated the settings to forward the port (2049) to the correct machine on the network.

When I connect to the Ninjam server from another machine on my network, it accepts the connection but then disconnects the user immediately (code=-3 on the ninjam server console).

I really want a ninjam server - I have installed lots of software in my time and this looks dead easy but I cannot seem to get it to work no matter how hard I bang my forehead. I would love to know what stupid mistake I am making.

Many thanks for any help!
HatHead
HatHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:52 PM   #2
videobuff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default help with server

Hi
First of all, i have a similar setup. One machine runs Linux Ubuntu desktop with the ninjam server, the second is a windows machine on which i run reaper (it's actually easier later on). all are on a local network, which get's it's ip numbers from de dhcp server in my ISP router.
I can connect from the windows directly to the server using the local network ip number of the Linux machine with port 2049. You should be able to do so also, and no router setting is necessary, unless your Linux machine is behind the router, as seen from the windows machine.
The router settings in my situation are needed when i contact through the internet. Get yourself an ip referrer from http://www.dyndns.com, it's free by the way.

Have you set the following part correctly ?

#ACL list lets you specify in order a list, first match is used
ACL 10.0.0.0/8 deny
ACL 192.168.0.0/16 reserve # reserve slots for local
ACL 0.0.0.0/0 allow # allow all

the third line in my case has to be set to:
ACL 192.168.1.0/256 allow # reserve slots for local
to allow for my local network (it's 192.168.1.xxx range

for the users i use
AnonymousUsers Multi
I have attached a small diagram with my situation.

You test it by using hoba-band.dyndns.org:2049 in the client or in reaper.

erik
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ninjam situation.jpg (76.5 KB, 310 views)

Last edited by videobuff; 04-06-2009 at 02:29 PM.
videobuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 10:23 AM   #3
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatHead View Post
(code=-3 on the ninjam server console).
The only place in the server source I can see a -3 is if the config file contains an invalid line.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 01:32 PM   #4
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Actually you reminded me there Eric, int eh server setup pack on Ninjamers I didn't think about the subnet of 1.
Many routers set to 192.168.1.x instead of 192.168.0.x
I'll add in the 192.168.1.x and reupload.

Was gonna ask you if the server can be used by people arranging events?

I will add a new item in the list specifying if people can use a server for events or not.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:00 PM   #5
videobuff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Ninjam Server

I haven't thought about the situation for people arranging an event, but i guess if they let me know, i can arrange that during a certain period, it is available for them only. So far, it's open for everyone.
Hope you got it working now.
Erik
videobuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 06:38 PM   #6
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

VATSIM server?

Also check your firewall, if your using ReaNINJAM in REAPER then server list show show. Sometimes it can be down but you can find more servers at the following.

http://www.ninjam.com/jamfarm/index.php
http://ninjam.dyndns.org
http://ninbot.com
http://nijamers.ning.com

You connect using test.ninjam.com:2049 then make sure anonymous is ticked.
If ya have any more hassles catch me on Ninjamers and I'll help u sort it.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.