Old 02-09-2020, 05:36 AM   #1
Tiggerdyret
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 339
Default Anyway to fix the wide tracks?

Hi, so I've been trying to get into the Reaper 6 theme, but I can't get over how wide the tracks are compared to the 5 theme. Is there anyway to change the minimum track height/wideness so I can have as many track on the screen as in V5?
Tiggerdyret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 12:13 PM   #2
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 763
Default

Yep, but you need to edit the rtconfig. It might be a lot of work, since elements will be placed outside the track if you edit the size.

Maybe there is a way in the theme adjuster? Not sure.
__________________
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 04:23 PM   #3
lerian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Maybe there is a way in the theme adjuster? Not sure.
Yes it is, its called "narrow form"
lerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 09:07 PM   #4
michaeltonight
Human being with feelings
 
michaeltonight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 301
Default

I was bummed about the size changes in the V6 theme, and bummed to discover that the narrow form MCP track panel only has a knob rather than a fader. Buuuuut without switching to narrow form, go to "view -> screensets/layouts -> layouts and set everything to "50%" or "75%" (doesn't make a difference on my monitor, not sure why) and suddenly it's much more manageable (for me).
michaeltonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 10:43 AM   #5
Tiggerdyret
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 339
Default

Thanks, but there doesn't seem to be a narrow option for the track panel though...
Tiggerdyret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 11:07 AM   #6
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 727
Default

Agreed, seems like a step backwards honestly and I'm surprised it got through so many months of debate.

Smooth v6 with the same (or smaller!) track footprint as Default V5 would be heaven honestly. Shouldn't we want more tracks on screen, not less?
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 04:07 PM   #7
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltonight View Post
I was bummed about the size changes in the V6 theme, and bummed to discover that the narrow form MCP track panel only has a knob rather than a fader.
Yeah, that's a bummer. And I can't find a solution to that.
I need narrow mixer panels AND a fader. This was possible to
have in V5.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 06:18 AM   #8
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Yeah, that's a bummer. And I can't find a solution to that.
I need narrow mixer panels AND a fader. This was possible to
have in V5.
You can run V6 but use the V5 theme, that may be your best bet to get the visual you want.

The 1080P version of Smooth should be released this week, if you can hold off a bit longer. I think that'll get you the best of both worlds.
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 06:45 AM   #9
Tiggerdyret
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykrobinson View Post
You can run V6 but use the V5 theme, that may be your best bet to get the visual you want.

The 1080P version of Smooth should be released this week, if you can hold off a bit longer. I think that'll get you the best of both worlds.
Yeah, I already use a V5 theme now, but I will check out if Smooth has more narrow tracks.
Tiggerdyret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 09:07 AM   #10
michaeltonight
Human being with feelings
 
michaeltonight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykrobinson View Post
The 1080P version of Smooth should be released this week, if you can hold off a bit longer. I think that'll get you the best of both worlds.
Just checked out the screenshots of Smooth. Looks good!
michaeltonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 10:44 AM   #11
Intrastellar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Default Wide mcp issue

Well, this is my first post, but I saw this question and had to sign up because this problem bothered me as well.

This works for me with the default 6 theme.

1) In theme zip or theme folder, find rtconfig.txt
and search for:


set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [86 371] \

2) changing it to:

set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [77 371] \




3) Reload theme or re-zip and reload theme.

You can change the number 86 to other values, but 77 is as low as I can go before it looks strange.

I think it's kind of a hack but it works well for me.
Intrastellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 11:31 AM   #12
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,256
Default

screenshot of the results?
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 12:30 PM   #13
Intrastellar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Default Screenshot

Bad screenshot attached. For look of sizes only.

Hope that helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Before and After.JPG (59.8 KB, 116 views)
Intrastellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 02:23 PM   #14
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intrastellar View Post
Bad screenshot attached. For look of sizes only.

Hope that helps.
Fantastic! That really helps, thank you!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 02:49 PM   #15
Intrastellar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Default In reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Fantastic! That really helps, thank you!
You're welcome. I'm glad it did!
Intrastellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 05:37 PM   #16
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intrastellar View Post
Well, this is my first post, but I saw this question and had to sign up because this problem bothered me as well.

This works for me with the default 6 theme.

1) In theme zip or theme folder, find rtconfig.txt
and search for:


set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [86 371] \

2) changing it to:

set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [77 371] \




3) Reload theme or re-zip and reload theme.

You can change the number 86 to other values, but 77 is as low as I can go before it looks strange.

I think it's kind of a hack but it works well for me.
thanks, that's actually not bad! Looks like 25 tracks onscreen vs 18? That could work....
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 04:26 AM   #17
Intrastellar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Default In reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by poetnprophet View Post
thanks, that's actually not bad! Looks like 25 tracks onscreen vs 18? That could work....
I found this information on the forums (or google - I can't remember which). I can't seem to relocate the original information, or I would give credit to where credit is due.
Intrastellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:22 AM   #18
michaeltonight
Human being with feelings
 
michaeltonight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 301
Default

Heck yeah! This is great because I like a lot about the V6 theme.
michaeltonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 11:47 AM   #19
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intrastellar View Post
Well, this is my first post, but I saw this question and had to sign up because this problem bothered me as well.

This works for me with the default 6 theme.

1) In theme zip or theme folder, find rtconfig.txt
and search for:


set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [86 371] \

2) changing it to:

set mcp.size + + \

+ ?narrowMode{0} \

* scale [54 371] \

* scale [77 371] \




3) Reload theme or re-zip and reload theme.

You can change the number 86 to other values, but 77 is as low as I can go before it looks strange.

I think it's kind of a hack but it works well for me.
Brilliant!!! Thanks for sharing this gem of a tweak!!
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 11:50 AM   #20
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 590
Default

For some examples of different width-settings look here!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 12:00 PM   #21
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
For some examples of different width-settings look here!
Hi enro,

Thanks for sharing those screen shots. On the 55 setting, I'm guessing the routing icon is all together lost? How would you route things? Only via the TCP?
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 12:13 PM   #22
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
Hi enro,

Thanks for sharing those screen shots. On the 55 setting, I'm guessing the routing icon is all together lost? How would you route things? Only via the TCP?
Yes, but that's no problem: I set the mixer height bei the keys "1", "2" and "3".
If in the mixer height you see the "sends" you just need to click on
the "send"-area - and voilà: The routing windows opens!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 01:40 PM   #23
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Yes, but that's no problem: I set the mixer height bei the keys "1", "2" and "3".
If in the mixer height you see the "sends" you just need to click on
the "send"-area - and voilà: The routing windows opens!
what about the Mute, Solo and Recarm buttons?
those often need to be scanned just like the fader.

::
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 04:16 PM   #24
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas_LCS View Post
what about the Mute, Solo and Recarm buttons?
those often need to be scanned just like the fader.
The Mute, Solo and Recarm-Buttons are prioritized by the
new theme-6 in the TCP. So you can easily activate them
in the track lanes, even if the track-area in TCP is small.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.