Old 02-18-2018, 03:32 PM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,204
Default preventing plugins from loading

In my Live setup I have some 20 tracks with lots of VST instancess, including some 5 Kontakt instances with instrument banks that include several sample libraries.

This results in Reaper talking more than two minutes to start up, even though I use an i7 CPU with 16 Gig Ram (filled about 1/2 after loading) and an SSD.

Now in most cases only need about half of all this stuff to be actually in place.

I understand that just muting a track and disabling the VST does not prevent the VSWT from being loaded at starting time but just does not activate it in running time.

Is there a way to prevent VST from being loaded without loosing their configuration, so that they can easily be loaded when needed ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 01:43 AM   #2
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
In my Live setup I have some 20 tracks with lots of VST instancess, including some 5 Kontakt instances with instrument banks that include several sample libraries.

This results in Reaper talking more than two minutes to start up, even though I use an i7 CPU with 16 Gig Ram (filled about 1/2 after loading) and an SSD.

Now in most cases only need about half of all this stuff to be actually in place.

I understand that just muting a track and disabling the VST does not prevent the VSWT from being loaded at starting time but just does not activate it in running time.

Is there a way to prevent VST from being loaded without loosing their configuration, so that they can easily be loaded when needed ?

-Michael
Hey Michael,

for me it works great if I just make these plugins offline as they are. (A nice shortcut comes handy, too.) and then save the project with all (not directly wanted) plugins in offline status. When the project is loaded I can easily make the desired plugin online and all the settings are still there.
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:52 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,884
Default

May depend on Preferences -> VST -> "Allow complete unload of VST plugins".
nofish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 01:14 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
May depend on Preferences -> VST -> "Allow complete unload of VST plugins".
This does not seem to work. In fact I don't see any effect whatseever with this setting.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 01:15 PM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skippertag View Post
for me it works great if I just make these plugins offline as they are.
What exactly do you mean by "offline" ?

Edit: Found it ... Trying...

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 01:39 PM   #6
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,352
Default

Offline is the thing here. Actions to bring FX on or offline add options
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 02:38 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Found it ... Trying...
Works !

Thanks a lot!
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.