Old 01-13-2018, 08:38 PM   #1
PNorth70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Default Simple task: changing track colors

Life is short. I've spent a bunch of it trying to figure out how to do something simple, which is changing the colors of media items in tracks. (I don't mean the track backgrounds, which I have found, though not easily.)

This does not work the way the instructional video works (it's using Reaper 4), and the exact theme used in the video also doesn't appear the same (and actually seems to not work). Not sure why something as marginal as this would get more complicated from one version to the next!
PNorth70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:00 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNorth70 View Post
Life is short. I've spent a bunch of it trying to figure out how to do something simple, which is changing the colors of media items in tracks. (I don't mean the track backgrounds, which I have found, though not easily.)

This does not work the way the instructional video works (it's using Reaper 4), and the exact theme used in the video also doesn't appear the same (and actually seems to not work). Not sure why something as marginal as this would get more complicated from one version to the next!
In Reaper's Action List you have this Action:
Item: Set to custom color...

- Select one or more Items
- Execute this Action
- Choose color from the Color Chooser window that pops up.

Outcome:
All selected Item(s) will be given that color.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 05:15 AM   #3
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 411
Default

You might be looking for how to make items get the same color of whatever track they're on?

Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 05:59 AM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNorth70 View Post
This does not work the way the instructional video works (it's using Reaper 4), and the exact theme used in the video also doesn't appear the same (and actually seems to not work).
All of Kenny Gioia's instruction videos linked above the forums ("Videos") are for the v5. Setting Up Shop: Colors
https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#2FtR8-H3u-A

If you are using some older or custom themes, the possible settings depend on each given theme. As for why the changes to theming, read the sticky: 1. How to use a REAPER theme
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=172074

Shortly, it is to give themers more control over the appearance of their themes:
Quote:
When you custom colour a track, the appearance of that colour on track panels, mixer panels and track items may have been defined by the theme maker, who has (from V5 of REAPER onwards) full control over where, and how strongly, the custom colour is applied.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 09:56 AM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,553
Default

my theme IS a mod of a V4 theme [CIRCUS is my version]
and it works just fine for both track and item custom colors

It can take a little work to set it up to make all that very easy

One step is to have the SWS extensions loaded and then create a set of custom colors for the SWS colors... [TIP: you can create and save as diff names several of those if you like and easily load each one as desired]

and\or just use the color wheel to pick your colors...

you can then create a floating toolbar that is dedicated to setting colors...
Mine has track colors on the left side, using each of my 16 SWS colors plus black and white ..and.. also the main color wheel...

on the right side of that tool bar is the same thing but only for items

then also there are some script actions that let you copy the color of any item and past it to any other selected items...

here is what mine looks like:
https://i.imgur.com/MdMZxX1.jpg
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 03:39 PM   #6
PNorth70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Default Changing DEFAULT track colors

Thanks for the responses. I may not have been completely clear in original post. All I'm trying to do is set the default track colors in any new project. I haven't found this in actions. Instructional video and theme that I'd like to use (both from v4) don't help/work in this regard. Still not clear how I can change default colors.
PNorth70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 10:34 PM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,553
Default

there really is no such thing as 'default' colors

if you are using the default theme, any new track will not really have a color setting... but as already posted, you can set the color for each track and\or for all selected tracks...

then if you want to you can save a bunch of those loaded and colored tracks as a project template and you can make that the default project that reaper will start up with
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 05:08 PM   #8
PNorth70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Default Colors

Thanks - much appreciated.
PNorth70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 01:50 PM   #9
Hardmuncle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Default Trying to match track colour onto items

Hi I am trying to make the media item colour match my track colour. I have found the line in the options that is posted above however its dulled out and I am unable to change the settings. I looked for theme as i read that might overide it but cannot find it in the plethora of options lol.

Any help appreciated.
Hardmuncle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 11:13 PM   #10
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,560
Default

Do you have the free SWS extensions installed ?
(http://www.sws-extension.org/)

Cause when you have, there is a SWS Action available in Reaper Action List:

SWS: Set selected item(s) to respective track color
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.