Old 02-13-2018, 07:49 AM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,704
Default Midi routing [I/O] button

I am just writing a Midi Routing chapter for the LiveConfigs User Guide I maintain. Maybe some of such text might be worth inluding in the Reaper User Guide, later.

No with my multiple tests I found that in the “plug-in pin connector” window, the [I/O] button not always is present.

I can see it e.g. with ReaEQ (which does not do any midi stuff whatsoever). But I don't see it with ReaControlMidi and JSFXes (even if they are created as Midi filters).

ReaControlMidi astonishingly provieds a dedicated [Midi] button instead of the usual [x in y out] button on the "plugin frame" Reaper provides, so no [I/O] button here.

Now, when pressing the [I/O] button (if present), I get a menu:

VST I/O Routing:
Audio Input->
Audio Output ->
Midi Input ->
Midi Output ->
PCD ->

All these setting would apply to JSFX, as well, in exactly the same manner.

Is this a bug or a misconception ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 02:50 PM   #2
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 853
Default

I've always wondered the same thing.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 10:26 AM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,704
Default

So we need help from the devs ....

PLEASE !

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:02 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,704
Default

In the JSFX programming guide I found:

REAPER supports multiple MIDI buses, JSFX plug-ins can (but do not by default) access all 16 buses.
ext_midi_bus - Set to 1.0 in @init to enable support for MIDI buses (by default buses other than bus 0 will be passed through).
midi_bus - If ext_midi_bus is set, this will be set by midirecv() to the MIDI bus of the event, and will be used by midisend() et al to route the MIDI event accordingly. Valid values are 0..15.


By this the JSFX can detect on which bus a Midi message comes in, and determine on which bus is it will to go out.

(In fact I understand that the 4 Bus bits are just an extension to the 4 channel bits and bus routing is not handeled especially.)

Of course a JSFX can internally provide all options selectable in the midi I/O settings for a pluigin. Hence the appropriate menus are not provided. while the Midi routing options for a dedicated VST allow for handling the 4 bus bits, without the VST knowing about.

Nonetheless for sake of compatibility, it would be nice if the menue were in place for a JSFX, as well, handling the bis bits externally, while the JSFX only sees bus 0 (aka 1).

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 02-17-2018 at 12:10 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.