Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 10:19 AM   #1
LitaAlto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Default Cursor no longer moves & no audio when clicking Play

Hi, I'm a new user of Reaper. Right now I'm only using it for rudimentary mixing and am not using any instruments. I've successfully made a couple of mixes and I'm very happy with Reaper in general.

However, after a few days of using Reaper, I encountered a crash while loading a project. I relaunched Reaper, but the play button stopped working entirely. The cursor remains stuck wherever I put it.

Uninstalling and re-installing Reaper doesn't help.

I emailed Reaper support and they advised I post here:

"Please don't forget to include information about your operating system,
your exact audio interface model and driver version and your REAPER
version (64 or 32 bit?) in your post. Please be as specific as possible
when you describe the problem and what you've tried so far."

I have no idea what they mean by "audio interface model and driver version". Again, I'm using Reaper for rudimentary mixing.

I'm running Reaper v5.99/x64 on Windows 10 Pro, Version 1093, OS build 18362.476.

As a side-note, I'm a bit frustrated that Reaper doesn't log the info it needs for support requests. It would be a lot easier if I could provide a log that presents all the information needed for support. Heck, it would make it a lot easier for me to troubleshoot Reaper issues if I could review the log. I'll probably make a post for a feature request later on.

Does anyone have suggestions? Or better still, are there any extra details I need to know about to help figure out this issue?

Thanks.
LitaAlto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:33 AM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,950
Default

what audio device & driver are you using? (click the text in the top right corner of Reaper)
My guess is you are using an onboard soundcard which is also your windows default sound device - this can cause problems if your sample rate in Reaper is different to your windows sample rate.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:33 AM   #3
LitaAlto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Default RESOLVED!

I finally went into the Preferences and found the audio device settings (guessing that this is what Reaper support meant by audio interface model?). I switched from WaveOut to WASAPI in Exclusive mode, hit OK, returned to the settings, switched back to WaveOut... and now I get playback as expected.

I'm still not sure why that would fix the issue, and would appreciate any insight into the issue if anyone has something to share.

Thanks.
LitaAlto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:37 AM   #4
LitaAlto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
what audio device & driver are you using? (click the text in the top right corner of Reaper)
My guess is you are using an onboard soundcard which is also your windows default sound device - this can cause problems if your sample rate in Reaper is different to your windows sample rate.
Thanks. I was able to resolve this by switching from WaveOut to WASAPI in Exclusive mode, and switching back again.

I'm not sure what you mean by "if your sample rate in Reaper is different to your windows sample rate" but I presume it's related to Exclusive mode, since when I tried Shared mode I got the below error. It's still confusing to me and I'd appreciate an explanation if you're willing.

"There was an error opening the audio hardware:

"WASAPI shared mode device error: input device samplerate does not match output device samplerate!

"You should change the device samplerates in the control panel to match, or use exclusive mode."
LitaAlto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:48 AM   #5
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,950
Default

if you are using your onboard soundcard, a situation can arise where two applications are trying to control it at the same time -
ie -if it is set as your default sound device in windows, then Windows is controlling it and it has a setting where you tell it to operate at a particular sample rate - 48000hz or whatever.
If you tell Reaper to start controlling it and requests it to work at 44100hz, for example, bad things may happen, as you discovered, as the audio device cannot work at different sample rates at the same time and windows will probably take priority.
So the 3 solution options are -
use separate different sound devices (interfaces, cards etc.) for Windows & Reaper.
use an exclusive driver so that only one application has control of the device.
make sure they are requesting to work at the same settings so that they can share the device
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 11:17 AM   #6
LitaAlto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you very much, domzy! That makes sense and I'll bear that in mind moving forward.
LitaAlto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:08 PM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,950
Default

no problem. Another thing to maybe bear in mind, after your initial post, is that Reaper is made by a small team, with an outrageously good feature set for the money, compared to other DAWs. But a downside to this can be that you may need to rely on the forum & learn a little bit more about how stuff works, compared to other easier / less capable / more expensive software.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.