Old 12-27-2019, 01:41 AM   #1
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 429
Default Reaper crashing on loading (Kontakt?)

I'm having a problem with Reaper crashing when loading any project that contains Kontakt. But if I do a 'clear cache and re-scan' on my vst folder, everything loads fine.

It says 'Reaper has stopped working, windows is looking for a solution',etc.

Is there a crash log I could look at? Any other ideas how to track this down?
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 02:37 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,502
Default

You might as well try using Native Access to download and install the very latest version, just in case.


P.S. Intrigued by the ideas behind gogolab!
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 09:36 PM   #3
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 429
Default

this turned out to be the tip of a very large iceburg. Native Access wouldn't open, and I did a full uninstall/reinstall of everything, only to be right back where I started after a couple of reboots.

Problem was I migrated the system from an old computer, I think that messed the NI copy protection stuff up.

I think I'll have to clear everything NI out of the registry, and try to start with a completely blank slate.
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 01:56 AM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,502
Default

Odd... I have elderly stuff like the ancient Hammond organ B4II on my box & use both full Kontakt 5 AND Kontakt 6 player with no problems.
As far as I know Native Access is designed to sort out any such issues for you, but who knows? Evil Dragon is probably the most experienced N.I. user on here & hopefully he will drop by with a solution.
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.