Old 01-17-2020, 06:13 AM   #1
DONNY
Human being with feelings

Default Would reamote work for my use?

I've been pretty intrested In using universal audio's plug INS live while monitoring the input signal. I've also been experimentin with software monitoring using Native Plug INS. Not surprised to get latency.Im achieving 3 mseconds of latency at higher sampling rates Using my interfaces own driver whereas with Asio4all I can get down to about 0.7 somewhat reliably. This is fairly low But still enough to notice it when monitoring in real time. One of the insert effects that I'm using is a waves plugin that introduces 64 ms, the other is a zero latency plugin.

I've been entertaining the idea of using my spare computer to offload VST effects as wellas routing the signal back into the master computer. Would I get additional latency by doing it this way monitering live? I'm interested in using reamote to accomplish this but I've never used it before.

I'm using an apollo twin on Windows 10.

Last edited by DONNY; 01-17-2020 at 06:19 AM.
DONNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 11:51 AM   #2
EpicSounds

reamote will add even more delay
Old 01-17-2020, 12:14 PM   #3
DONNY

I kinda figured that. Is that just the nature of the technology or is just a reamote thing? I've been looking at vienna ensemble pro for this as well
Old 01-17-2020, 12:56 PM   #4
domzy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DONNY View Post
Im achieving 3 mseconds of latency at higher sampling rates Using my interfaces own driver whereas with Asio4all I can get down to about 0.7 somewhat reliably. This is fairly low But still enough to notice it when monitoring in real time.
these numbers must be wrong - 3ms latency is pretty much as low as you can get - 0.7 is pretty much impossible, especially with ASIO4all.

and i assume you mean 64 samples latency for the plugin?
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 01:00 PM   #5
domzy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DONNY View Post